We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only there were more time.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin Beach House
Ranked #10 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Cannot say enough about the Dolphin Beach House's remarkable beauty. Fabulous location. Tremendous service. Only wish we had more time to spend there. Could have been comfortable there for an entire week. Absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 230 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

My family and I just returned from a long weekend at the Dolphin Beach House. We booked for two nights but stayed for three as this place was hard to leave. This is a beautiful house in a fantastic location - great views and near enough to Clifden to enjoy town too.

Clodagh looked after us with great care and also took time to make sure all the children in our group were happy too - Alban our five year old said he missed her after we got home:) - thanks Clodagh!

This was favourite trip of this year, all our family together is a beautiful place - what more could one ask for!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalleryDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The area is beautiful and the house was amazing! A easy drive after our lobster dinner in Roundstone and the perfect distance to enjoy our drive to the sights the next day. Both my husband and I said next time we would want to stay 2 or 3 nights and just enjoy the relaxing cozy atmosphere here. We will try to make it back to Ireland if only stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for the water view suite, awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Julie2269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our sons booked a weekend stay at Dolphin Beach House for our 25th wedding anniversary. We had a wonderful time. We had dinner at the hotel on Friday and watched the sunset over Slyne Head through the panorama of windows in the dining room while enjoying fresh homemade food and the genial company of guests from around the world. After a walk along the rocky coast the next morning we enjoyed a lovely breakfast. The hospitality was just what we like: warmly helpful and attentive but not overbearing. Our room was spacious and full of interesting furniture, as is the whole house. The Sky Road where the hotel sits is narrow and challenging on a first drive out from Clifden, but the views are worth it. We would go again and recommend it to friends, or strangers.

Room Tip: The Crooked Room opens out to the front of the B&B with great sea views. The bed is huge, comfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saralaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I've been to the Dolphin Beach House twice, once with a friend and later booked a group of 13. It's a lovely house and hostess Cloddagh is warm and welcoming as well as exceptionally helpful with directions, details and recommendations. The rooms are truly individual gems, very spacious and with wonderful touches throughout. The location is great too; you wake up to a stunning water view and the grounds offer opportunities for walking/exploring. Little details are wonderful...like magazines in the room for late night browsing. You really feel welcomed.

Room Tip: I love being downstairs with a room that opens directly to the lawn/garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcurtin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I spent 6 nights in Dolphin Beach House and it was a true hidden gem. I immediately felt at home in the gorgeous surroundings, just like home but better. The rooms have a stunning outlook onto the coast and they are roomy and filled with interesting knick knacks. The sitting room looking out onto the sea is airy light and so comfy it was an effort to move each day. I suggest you try the dinners when you stay as the food is so good, all home cooking and its a great opportunity to meet the other guests. Clodagh does everything to ensure that your stay is a memorable one and that you really feel more like part of the family than a guest. She is a total star! This is a hotel which encourages you to switch off and getaway from it all. As a single traveller I felt completely at ease here and met some lovely people. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to everyone looking for a unique Connemara stay although part of me wants to keep it my own little secret!

Room Tip: The crooked room is large, with a double height ceiling with a side view onto the coast and a front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spend two weeks crisscrossing Ireland this summer and this place was the highlight of our trip in many ways. It is a truly family run place - as local as you can get - with the father making incredible, high-end handcrafted furniture, his very charming and smart as a whip daughter running the desk and house and the brother dropping in to check on things and surf.
The rooms are very private, very large and stunningly decorated. Not too fancy just simply beautiful and classy. So much care has been put into it! The large dining room upstairs looks out over the sea - just gorgeous. The TV room is filled with local interest books - be sure to check out the one about the Conammara ponies. The gravel beach is a wonderful cove with magnificent green water and little caves to climb into at low tide. We didn't see the dolphins ourselves as we slept in too late each day but other guests did. There is also a large field adjacent with a beautiful white horse that will eat apples out of your hand if you can be still enough for him to come over. Hiking that field provides increase sea views and a million good photo ops.
It is a very short drive to the town of Clifden which is quite lively and has many restaurants and shops. We loved the whole Connemara area and this B and B was ideal for exploring it. It is also very "green" so those who are eco-conscious will especially appreciate those touches. It is very romantic but also perfect for those traveling with kids. Our 12 year old son loved it as much or more than we did. I

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in the "back" ie not facing the water but off a little private patio a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RockingRobin78704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
4.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
319 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
3.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
475 reviews
3 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach House

Address: Lower Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: $49 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach House Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing