We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gorgeous place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin Beach House
Ranked #10 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A gorgeous place to stay”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here on a road trip around Ireland and this was one of the highlights of the trip. Getting here added quite a bit to our journey but it was more than worth it to stay in such a gorgeous place. The views from here are stunning, as is the place itself. Dolphin Beach House is beautifully decorated and full of interesting features from the moment you enter the door. We loved the vintage record player in the hallway. Our room was absolutely beautiful and had a lovely sea view. The bed was really comfortable too. In the morning, we enjoyed a lovely breakfast with panoramic views of the sea. You couldn't be in a nicer place. Clodagh was a great cook and a wonderful hostess, really friendly and interested in what we were doing. Clifden itself is a lovely place to visit and Clodagh recommended a great restaurant where we were treated to fantastic live music. Just fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snaphappylol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    21
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
118
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after escaping Dublin in July 2013.
Completely agree with previous reviews in saying this a great spot to explore the Connemarra region from.
It was with a little trepidation on negotiating the single lane Lower Sky Road (with 2 way traffic!!) that we arrived to find a sensational view and a really nice comfortable room.
Clodagh is a lovely, friendly and laid back hostess. The breakfasts are hearty and we also ate dinner on 2 nights which was simple but tasty.
Clifden is a nice little town with lots of pubs featuring good food and lively Irish music.
Strongly recommend both Dolphin Beach House and the region generally.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuitarmanBowral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We found this lovely spot online while researching Ireland. Our family does not usually stay at B&B's but we were pleasantly surprised with The Dolphin Beach House. We arrived late one night after getting lost and they held dinner for us ( the other half of our group had already arrived) and stayed after to make sure everything was just right. Clodagh was fantastic wealth of knowledge and very helpful from the very beginning booking through to when we said our goodbyes.

The meals were wonderful, tea service in the afternoons perfect to come back after being out and about to rest with a good book. The water was close enough that the kids could explore in the tidal pools and find treasures.

The rooms were large and just right for our group of three families.

We really didn't want to leave, so I guess we'll just have to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Five years ago on our 40th wedding anniversary we stayed at the beautiful Dolphin Beach House B&B and loved it. It was our first time staying in Clifden, a town where my mother had lived for part of her childhood, and which we enjoyed. This time we didn't hesitate to return and were surprised and delighted to be given an upgrade to the room we'd had last time, the Peacock Room, for our three night stay in May 2013. Clodagh greeted us and offered us tea right away, which was greatly appreciated after a long drive. She was friendly, down to earth, and extremely accommodating, while also providing excellent meals. The large pancake, really a crepe, was a welcome change from so many days of eggs, which were also offered. Dinner was excellent and geared to our tastes.

The drive into Clifden is narrow and high but my husband got used to it quickly. This time we took the opportunity to drive beyond the hotel on the way back and the views are even more spectacular especially at sunset. The B&B is very clean and well decorated with some light wood furniture (some made by the family) and white bed linens, always a plus in my opinion, while also being very warm.

We were sad to leave and then, when we returned to the US, we discovered that our camera case with memory card showing photos of our visits with my relatives, etc. was missing. At first the car rental company thought they had it. When I followed up, it turned up that they had been mistaken. Then I emailed every place we'd stayed where it could have been and, thank God, Clodagh emailed back that someone had turned it in and, of course, they didn't know who it belonged to. I immediately knew that she would handle the situation efficiently, which she did, and in the end sent the case without charging me the 4 euros it cost for postage.

We normally don't write reviews but Dolphin Beach House is a B&B that we hope to return to as long as we take trips to Ireland - and hope that Clodagh is there to take care of us once more.

Mary

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is one of those hotel 'finds' that are so exceptional you think hard before sharing. The charm of Dolphin Beach House unfolds slowly but surely. The location is superb, on the coast of the evocatively-named Lower Sky Road, ten minutes' drive from Clifden. The house itself consists of an old stone cottage cleverly extended to incorporate nine (I think) guest rooms, all but one of which has a sea view. Five open directly onto a terrace and have their own distinctive chunky wood furniture outside for sitting, gazing and thinking about nothing much. If you come from London, you'd describe Dolphin Beach House it as a 'chic boutique B&B' and expect to pay three times as much as the published room rate. The rooms are large and attractively stylish, all wood and light-coloured fabrics, sparklingly clean, and flooded with Connemara light which can be blue-dazzling with sunshine or dulled with sea mist: both are beautiful. This is the West of Europe, after all, and the mist rolls in from the Atlantic -- but can lift as fast it came if you are lucky. The rooms have elegant wood floors and comfortable hand-crafted beds with exquisite linen, carefully-chosen random but interesting pieces of furniture including in our room a chaise longue, two soft easy chairs and a coffee table, a vintage screen, two antique chests, lots of lovely lamps and fascinating prints, paintings and books. Our bathroom was large with both bath and walk-in shower. The highlight of Dolphin Beach House, however, is the 'vibe' created by the Foyle family, and in particular by Clodagh, who combines relaxed friendliness with extreme professionalism and a brisk efficiency. Clodagh has been described by another reviewer as slightly eccentric: my Irish husband would say she was simply the best of Irish, while I would describe her as the ideal hostess - highly intelligent and knowledgeable, thoughtful and amusing. She and her smiling colleagues prepare a wonderful breakfast, cook a mean dinner of fresh produce most evenings, light you a fire if there's a chill in the air, are always on hand with trays of coffee or tea, and somehow manage to clean the place from top to bottom each day without ever disturbing anyone. But what we would return for, above all, are the magnificent views and walks from the house. From every room, including the dining room and sitting room, you can see the tiny sandy cove (where the brave can bathe), the sweep of the bay and on to the wide Atlantic. The exhilarating walk along the cliffs from the house provides some of the most spectacular cliff scenery in Europe, with colourful rocks, caves and tunnels, and seas that range from gentle to tumultuous. This is a wonderful, special place, with people to match -- and very good craic in Clifden's many pubs if you want further evidence. It is not the place for those seeking entertainment, noise and bustle, (no TVs in bedrooms, for example) but if you want beauty, peace, comfort, warmth and kindness, make the journey to Clifden and then on to Dolphin Beach House. If its magic affects you as it did us, you may start to believe that perhaps heaven DOES exist, and that you have found it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanSturrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights: The house is in a very cute location, with its own small pebbly beach. The house itself is spotlessly clean. The hosts, in particular Clodagh, are very friendly and welcoming, we felt like we were sincerely welcome and she was exceptionally kind and helpful. The breakfasts are absolutely super! I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thzurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This B & B was our first stop on our first visit to Ireland. Our hostess was welcoming and allowed us to check in early. The rooms were wonderful and the views, especially from the dining area, were even better. Location was easy to find, but one lane road made us wish it was closer to town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggimcc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
3.8 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
277 reviews
2.7 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
3.0 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
308 reviews
3.0 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach House

Property: Dolphin Beach House
Address: Lower Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach House Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing