We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Irish BnB”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin Beach House
Ranked #10 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the Dolphin House and found it to be delightful.
Clodagh welcomes you most warmly and is happy to help with any questions or queries you may have, and to offer you a refreshing cup of tea with biscuits on the deck when you arrive!
The house itself is lovely, with gorgeous views out over the water and fantastic garden grounds. Even though it is by the road, the wonderful gardens shelter and hide the house, which makes it much less exposed and far more charming than most of the other BnBs I saw along the Skye road.
I found the location just out of Clifden to be an advantage. I had no trouble taking a taxi out to the location when I arrived with my luggage (cost about 8-10 euros) but the day was so beautiful that I decided to walk back into the city to enjoy the traditional music at night. It took about 45mins to an hour and was an absolutely lovely walk through stunning landscape and views. On my other day there I chose to walk around the headland from the house and then back along the skye road, which provided a stunning 2-3 hour walk from the dolphin house door and back again.
On the second night I ate dinner at the dolphin house and not only was the food fantastic, but as I was traveling alone it was a great chance to be able to get to know some of the other guests and chat. One of whom was a famous American, but I will protect his identity and not say who! :)
Overall my stay at the dolphin house was everything I was looking for, a lovely home, with welcoming hosts, in a gorgeous location, with fabulous views and beautiful walks, near a charming Irish village. Who could ask for more?

Room Tip: I had a room upstairs and this provided wonderful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 230 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay here for one night. We had three rooms, and they were all unique. Our room was great, and one of the better beds that we have slept on while on vacation. OUr hostess was very welcoming and recommended some great places for dinner in town. If we didnt have kids with us, we would have definetly tried dinner at the house. The grounds are located directly on the water with some amazing views. We were able to walk about the property adn snap some great photos. They were very accomodating in the am as we had to leave early, and we were served our Irish Fry piping hot! If returning, we would make this a stopping point again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lumpy1rhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Wounderful area, fantastic view, individual furnished and Clodagh is very nice and helpful! You can't find a better place!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Absolutely lovely - stunning views, beautiful rooms, friendly hosts and great food using local produce. Upstairs rooms have the best views, and a very comfortable bed! We loved our short stay here and would happily return.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have great views of the sea and comfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sianw2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Everything about our visit was lovely. We had excellent hosts who made everyone staying at the house feel like family. We were always greeted with a smile and a hot drink. The room was lovely with a great view and nice large bathroom. The food for dinner was excellent and there was a lot of laughter as we got to know our hostess and the other guests. Clifden is a lovely ciity with some good resturants, pubs with great traditional music in the bars, and miles of wonderful scenery and hiking.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Dolphin Beach House is about 10 minutes from Clifden down an increasingly narrowing road. Not a problem as there is very little traffic. Once you arrive there is a special treat awaiting - tea and a short walk around teh extensive property. The walk is beautiful and overlooks the water . At sunset the greens of teh fields and blues in the sky pop to make mental images that are lasting. The rooms are very large and well appointed - the House was purpose built to be a guest house/B&B. About every second night or more often when there are sufficient guests wanting dinner, the innkeeper cooks a gourmet meal. This combined with the setting makes one reluctant to ever leave the property.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discriminatimg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We would like to recommend this B&B.
We made the reservation by phone and we got the confirmation by e-mail. This nice house is not far away from Clifden. The place is very quiet and has a beautiful view to the sea. Our room was small but comfortable. Because it was on the last upper floor, it was very warm and we couldn't open the window in the night because of the mosquitoes. They explained us that the mosquitoes just appear sometimes in the year. The breakfast was good and our hostess Clodagh very kind. The only negative point was the price. We paid 1/3 more than other B&B in Ireland with the same quality level.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roxyLOVEStotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
4.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
314 reviews
2.7 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
3.8 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 45 in Clifden
379 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#2 of 45 in Clifden
475 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#9 of 45 in Clifden
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach House

Address: Lower Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: $47 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach House Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing