We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place facing the ocean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin Beach House
Ranked #10 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We spent 3 great days at Dolphin Beach House. One can only relax and enjoy life in such a beautiful environment ! The vue from the breakfast room and from the living room is just amazing, facing the ocean, with the Irish sheeps and green land just behind. Delicious breakfast. Cosy atmosphere, lovely decoration with a lot of attention to details. Very friendly hosts, who make us feel that this beautiful house is nearly ours ! We will come back next time we visit Ireland.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carpediem11-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 230 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

dolphin beach house is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful beaches and scenery of Connemara. the house is small enough to feel warm and friendly. the whole house has been beautifully decorated with careful consideration of the views overlooking the beach and out to sea. breakfast was excellent as was the tray of tea and homemade cake on arrival. the hosts can't do enough for you and you will leave feeling like you have made new friends. rooms are all beautifully appointed with sea views from most rooms. if you want to relax, enjoy wonderful views, good food in a beautiful house that feels like home you will love Dolphin beach house.

we visit Ireland regularly to stay with relatives but will definitely be going back to Dolphin Beach House. Thank you for a truly wonderful 2 days

Room Tip: the sea view rooms are definitely worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My wife and I loved this B&B. Very friendly hosts, great breakfast and stunning views. It was very easy to take a cab into town and getting back at night. Comfortable bed and well appointed rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

What a lovely house, amazing view and such hospitable hosts. They make it feel like your home from home.. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ballybit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I was recommended to this B & B by a family member who had visited 10 years ago. He said it was a pleasant place. In every way I was totally satisfied. The innkeepers Clodagh and Dara were very friendly without being so friendly that I wanted to withdraw. The rooms were charming and comfortable. They opened onto a view of the ocean and the neighboring islands that was magnificent. We were steps away from a walk along the rocky ocean, with beautiful seascapes and pastures of grazing sheep.
The breakfast was wonderful. Everything I could have wanted while again sharing a magnificent view of the ocean from the glass walled dining room. We even had the added spectacle of seeing the dolphins, which gave our lodging it's name, pass by while we were having breakfast.
I can only recommend this place and hope that everyone has as wonderful a time sharing this space.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bennettweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

What a wonderful find. We stayed October 6th and loved it. It was our first stay on a 10 day trip and I wanted to be out on the Coast. It did not disappoint. Our room was large, warm and very comfortable. The living area has wonderful views of the coast and very comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding and the property is just wonderful. You can walk to the ocean and around some beautiful cliffs. I hope to return soon.

Room Tip: I would choose the rooms on the ground floor. There is a very nice courtyard and in warmer weather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCJustMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My American friends and I spent 2 nights at the Dolphin Beach House recently and enjoyed it very much. We loved the peaceful location right by the ocean and the atmosphere of the house. Our rooms were both clean and comfortable with wooden floors and a general feeling of tranquillity. The breakfasts were outstanding and our hosts Clodagh and Darragh were very welcoming and helpful. We would definitely stay there again. A very special place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
2.7 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
318 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 45 in Clifden
379 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
475 reviews
3 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach House

Address: Lower Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: $49 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach House Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing