We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thousands of Years of Ireland History”

Connemara Heritage and History Centre
Ranked #11 of 28 things to do in Clifden
Attraction details
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Thousands of Years of Ireland History”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our B&B hostess recommended this to us- and I am really pleased that she did. While the majority of tourists were quite a bit older than my family, I was thrilled that the guide included my girls in the discussions and answered their questions.

This is a great place to learn about the history of Western Ireland- from the Iron & Bronze Ages through the famine, you'll find recreations of dwellings and even artifacts.

Most come to hear the story of Dan O'Hara and to visit the small farmhouse where he and his family lived before being evicted during the famine. It's a sad tale, and one that is told in song (the Ballad of Dan O'Hara).

Even if your kids don't enjoy the history lesson, they will be intrigued by the hand-cut turf (peat), the farmyard chickens, Connemara ponies and Spot, the farm dog.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Irishgrl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Pack your walking shoes”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Well run visator center with 3 great walks lovley coffee shop well laid out lovley play area for the little ones well worth a visit on a fine day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Overview of the Area”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Gained significant education about the area. Peat bogs, farming, timber, early settlers and more. the local history is fascinating and provides insight to the hardscrabble existence early residents had.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Irish History and Connemara Ponies!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stopped by after hours and were not able to take a full visit, but the staff was helpful and courteous and spent considerable time providing free local color and discussing Connemara Ponies with my horse crazy spouse!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ras828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip, wish we could have stayed there longer.”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We found this to be a fascinating place. Start in the museum, it's full of interesting information and artifacts. The re-created crannog was especially interesting to see. We were warmly greeted by the owners, and given a personal history lesson in the old farmhouse. There's something here for everyone. Plan to spend some time and bring your walking shoes.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross and Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connemara Heritage and History Centre also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Connemara Heritage and History Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing