We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clifden needs to awaken to these Attractions” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alcock and Brown Landing Site

Alcock and Brown Landing Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.10*
and up
Self-Guided Wild Atlantic Way Cycling Tour from Clifden
Ranked #7 of 27 things to do in Clifden
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The site where John Alcock and Arthur Brown landed following their historic cross-Atlantic flight in 1919.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clifden needs to awaken to these Attractions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

My father told me when I was a lad, about Alcock and Browns adventure. He got across to me the magnitude of the event at that time. The location of the Landing is a short enough drive from Clifden in the direction of Ballyconeely. We came to a sign pointing to the right towards a lane. We drove up, clambered over the gate, walked perhaps 50 yards towards a bunch of horned sheep who eyed us up and down. But we were in the middle of a rocky field/bog. Saw nothing.
Back in the car and started to head back to Clfden. But immediately on our right (which is on the opposite side of the road) we saw a sign for Alcock and Brown monument. So we drove up say half a mile and there was the sculture of a Tailfin of a plane with a place to park. Incidentally there was a reference to Marconi up this same road but we saw nothing. so, Clifden, wake up. You have a double world class attractions (The Flight and Marconi). Surely if up the road at the Connemara National Park they can build an interpretive centre explaining all about an Irish Bog (!), Clifden can find something to say about such monumental events as Alcock & Brown and Marconi.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGreenNovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    29
    30
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Attempt to visit landing site”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Roadway is very narrow and in soft bogland. We gave up before reaching the site in case the car got stuck

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank benbaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Barren landscape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

There's not much to see here, and it was muddy and windy the day we went, but that's part of the charm, imagining the bumpy culmination of Alcock and Browns amazing acheivment in this remote location. Glad we went

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 64Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanberis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“History in a bog!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

After a long and tortuous journey down a lane gets progressively worse, you arrive at a place where the only connection with Allcock and Brown is a plaque commemorating their historic landing. You can't visit to the actual place of the landing because you would be up to your waist in a bog. Its shares location with the historic Marconi radio station which is only a ruin. I am so surprised that more is not made of this historic site.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank gw1pcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
400 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“For the historians and slightly adventurous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I'm reviewing both this site and the Marconni Station at the same time. The Alcock and Brown landing site and the Marconi Station sites were only a mile or so from our holiday house in Ballyconneely – six miles south of Clifden- where we were staying during our recent visit to Ireland. We drove down a lane, had to open a gate, drive through, and then close the gate, and then drive out to the site.
These sites are located right next to each other and you take the same route to both. Note there is literally no room to pull over if you were to meet a vehicle that was leaving- and you would have to back up. I believe at least part of the road was originally a roadbed for a small railroad- the road is elevated. You could also park your car before the gate mentioned and walk from there- although it would be a good hike.
ALCOCK and BROWN Landing Site:
This site, located right next to the Marconi Station site, includes a large white obelisk monument in the bog, marking the approximate area where Alcock and Brown crashed landed their plane in the flat bog surrounding this site after making the first trans-Atlantic flight. While they could have landed in a better place farther east, they were anxious to land first in Europe, as there were competitors trying to do the same thing- and a 10,000 Sterling Pound prize! They were likely attracted by the Marconi station site and probably realized that the news of their successful landing could be broadcast around the world from this site. Because they essentially crashed landed in the bog, they were unable to fly the plane out and had it trucked out instead. While there is not much else to see here- the view of the area is nice.
Now, there is a corresponding site due west and on the highest point in the area which is also a monument to Alcock and Brown. I think reviewers get confused as to which location they are reviewing but the landing site and Marconi station are physically in the same area while the monument- in the shape of an airplane tail fin- is about a mile away to the west. The view there is great and the tail fin points directly to the actual landing site.
MARCONI STATION
You’re either really going to enjoy this or you’re going to think it’s boring with nothing really there. So, read up on this site before visiting. We picked up Clifden- A Guide which outlines 13 sites in the area to visit and had an informative article about the Marconi Station and a picture of the site when the buildings were still there. We thought this place was pretty neat and enjoyed the historical perspective. After reading about the Marconi Station, you can imagine something like a secret military base, employing 150 or so; electrical sparks flashing at night; small trains bringing out supplies, and more. The station was essentially destroyed during the Civil War in Ireland in 1922 and was not rebuilt, because technology had changed and it was less expensive for Marconi to locate elsewhere.
This is a visit that appeals to a select few and my wife and I are in that group. Visiting a place like this is like an adventure. There is not much out there- a marker, and concrete remains, lots of sheep- and you have to let your imagination take over. There is no fee to get in; there are no “facilities”, and certainly there is no gift shop! We enjoyed it and recommend it to those who are slightly adventurous. I've posted different picture on my review of the Marconi Station.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnieOshkosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alcock and Brown Landing Site also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Alcock and Brown Landing Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing