We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food with a spectacular view.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardagh Restaurant

Ardagh Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 33 Restaurants in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relaxed Family run Restaurant and Hotel with breath taking sunset in the bay over dinner, fine locally sourced seafood(many local meat options also) and home grown vegetables and salad. Cosy open fire places in the restaurant make even the coolest of days enjoyable and a large open turf fire in the Bar is ideal for having pre dinner and after dinner drinks in front of. The sun terrace overlooking the bay is a must for pre dinner drinks on fine days. Taxi service available please enquire when reserving for dinner.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great food with a spectacular view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Please also see my review of the Ardagh Hotel which also includes some comments on the restaurant. My wife and I stayed at the hotel in July of 2012 and as I sit writing this in January 2013, the meal at the restaurant still remains one of my highlights of the year.

Clifden seems to have a number of good options for food but don't miss this one - you will not be dissapointed.

If you have the option, ask to be seated near the window. The views overlooking the sound are to die for. Time your meal if you can (time of year depending of course) for sunset and on a day when the sun has a chance to make an appearance you will be treated to one of natures great shows.

The food matches the surroundings - memorable! Everything about the meal suggests that care and attention has been taken to give you something of high quality.

I've been to some very nice restaurants over the years but this is in my Top 5 for the overall experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Statsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    26
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food - great value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Overall our meal was excellent. The seafood in particular stood out, and the desserts were outstanding. Good service, and a great view of the water. The only change I would make would be to light the room less, as it didn't have a very intimate feel about it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Absolutely stunning sunset over the bay. The view alone would have been enough but we then truly enjoyed a gorgeous red wine over beautifully prepared starters and entrees.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kara o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Restaurant with the best view in Clifden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We are regular visitors to the Ardagh and never disappointed. Stephane and Monique run the restaurant like the hotel, warm friendly and high quality. Local ingredients populate the menu and the fish is especially recommended. Monique's chowder is the best I have tasted anywhere in the world. If you are in Clifden, make sure you visit The Ardagh at least once.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerrymulvaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely meal with a sunset view on the bay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our second visit to this restaurant. Once again, excellent soup, wonderful entrees, and a wonderful wine recommended by Stephane. We had a pre-dinner drink downstairs in the lounge area, and wonderful. The staff was friendly and pleasant. Could not be a better meal. The sun setting on the water was fabulous!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DianeV34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ardagh Restaurant also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Ardagh Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing