We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope to good back again soon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, NI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hope to good back again soon!”
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Again, absolutely no complaints about The Station House, but don't start me about the weather!

We stayed in an apartment this time. There was everything you needed for a comfortable stay, even some groceries in the fridge on arrival!

The apartment was spacious, airy and quiet (the tv/dvd remotes weren't the best, but you can't have everything!).

As ever the staff were helpful, the leisure centre spot on, and the food very enjoyable.

Would recommend the Station House, but bring your umbrella - even in July!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belfastboy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    391
    106
    37
    16
See reviews for
466
461
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
galway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Arrived on the dot of 5pm and was quickly and efficiently given our tickets and shown to seats. Show started on time at 5pm and from start to finish it was brill. Our 3 yr old daughter
thoroughly enjoyed it, more so the characters (fifi, dora, mickey/minnie mouse, scooby doo and barney!) then the actual magic show. it lasted for 1 hour and 45 mins so it was good value for money at 10 euro per adult/child. Short interval in the middle for refreshments was good. The talking parrot was a big hit with our daughter. Fantastic from start to finish!
It must be noted that the theatre was packed and i think it was because of the value for money-more places should take this initative.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank beechlawnbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Wilson the manager and his staff ensured that our stay was pleasant and relaxing. Certainly it must be one of the best family orientated hotels in the West.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aonghusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I came home yesterday from 4 nights stay with my mum and my two children aged 10 and 4.The minute you walk into this hotel you can feel the relaxed atmosphere .The staff are very kind and helpful and great craic. The food is great from the breakfast to eating in the dining room at night and there is a lovely restaurant across the road owned by the hotel too so there no shortage of high quality food around.The hotel have there own theatre to on the grounds we seen Adrian Knight the hypnotist when we were there and Brendan Grace great entertainment.If you looking to just unnwind there's live piano music in the lounge of hotel at night.Great place for families, couples ,has fantastic kids club swimming,face painting ,arts and crafts, the movies, kids dinner.So if you fancy relaxing for a few hours the kids are entertained .Don't worry about the rain because there's plenty for adults to do in the hotel too.Gymn, sauna,steam room,spa,muesuem ,and lovely grounds. Attention to detail in every aspect.Great staff ,great food ,great atmosphere a place you will always remember and never forget .Looking forward to going again.Joanne

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayoJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We live in Australia, and at the beginning of this year we decided we were going to get married in Clifden, Co. Galway. It was a daunting task organising such a special day from so far away but it ended up being one of the best days of our lives. This was greatly due to the hotel we chose, which was the Clifden Station House. I explained what we wanted for our wedding day and it was done, no fuss, no hassle, and it was better than we could have expected. The day went off without a hitch. All the staff were fantastic, understanding, extremely helpful, exactly what you need when getting married. The menu they created for the day was perfect, a big thanks to John O'Toole, the Chef and the kitchen staff. I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone, as all the staff went over and above our expectations for our special day. Thank you, from the bottoms of our hearts.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

i stayed in the cliften station house hotel with my family in july and i must admit it is a fantastic hotel. the staff are very welcoming the hotel is clean and the facilities are first class. the restaurant and the pub across from it were beautiful.the breakfast in the morning was also exceptionally delicious with a wide choice of foods . overall it was a great hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaranminogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Connemara in the west of Ireland is one of the most beautiful places in Ireland. And Clifton town is a good base from which to explore the countryside.
We stayed in the Clifton Station House hotel and we were pleasantly surprised with the hospitality. The staff were excellent and looked after all our needs especially our 18 month old granddaughter. The food was excellent with a great variety for breakfast including everything for the full Irish. And the evening dinner menu changed every night. The bar in the old ‘waiting room’ across the way was a very relaxing place to enjoy a drink.
We all agreed that our stay was excellent value for the money and will definitely return again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Property: Clifden Station House
Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing