We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clifden Station House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“an excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

i stayed in the cliften station house hotel with my family in july and i must admit it is a fantastic hotel. the staff are very welcoming the hotel is clean and the facilities are first class. the restaurant and the pub across from it were beautiful.the breakfast in the morning was also exceptionally delicious with a wide choice of foods . overall it was a great hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaranminogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    378
    105
    37
    16
See reviews for
442
453
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

Connemara in the west of Ireland is one of the most beautiful places in Ireland. And Clifton town is a good base from which to explore the countryside.
We stayed in the Clifton Station House hotel and we were pleasantly surprised with the hospitality. The staff were excellent and looked after all our needs especially our 18 month old granddaughter. The food was excellent with a great variety for breakfast including everything for the full Irish. And the evening dinner menu changed every night. The bar in the old ‘waiting room’ across the way was a very relaxing place to enjoy a drink.
We all agreed that our stay was excellent value for the money and will definitely return again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

Just back after spending a week in the 3 bedroomed apartments at the Station House Hotel, Clifden. With the exception of the weather, everything else was 100%. Apartment was lovely and serviced on a Wednesday, fresh towels, bed linen etc. E.S.B. in included in price also. Staff all seemed very friendly. Only ate once in the Station House bar which was o.k.! My kids aged 6 and 9 really enjoyed the swimming pool (lovely size kids pool in it) and my 6 year old really enjoyed the kids club which was on from 2pm until 9pm daily free, which I thought was an excellent service. Theatre which is right next to apartment has a great summer line up and has kids movies daily also. Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StraightTalker_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

station house was by far the most welcoming hotel i have had the pleasure of staying in. We were waited on hand & foot anything we wanted was done for us. The food is lovely in the hotel and they will alter anything to suit how you like it! The buffet breakfast in the morning is yummy & has everything you need to start the day fruit, cereals, but best of all freshly made pancakes. The staff made the holiday though especially the staff in the restaurant who went out of there way to look after us kathleen, maeve, michael to name a few thanks for all making our holiday a great one will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mangancob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

Just back from a weekend spent in this hotel - great location, very friendly and knowledgeable staff who went out of their way to accommodate and welcome, very comfy bed - beautiful meal, great leisure centre- all in all a great way to spend the weekend in a beautiful part of Ireland - thoroughly recommend this hotel

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank siobhy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

Staff friendly and helpfull, food in the pub was great and also a great breakfast every morning. The rooms for family I found to be far too small.
Leisure centre was ideal for families and the staff very friendly in leisure centre. Over all a lovely hotel, well located , just found family rooms too small.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophieTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

I stayed here last night as we were going for a family wedding. Everything is really top notch from the moment you check in; Áine at the desk was so welcoming and personable. Our evening meal was served with such kind service. The room was so restful. It would be bothersome alright, as per the comment below, if you needed a wi-fi service in yout room, but, heck, it's in the foyer and I was there to
relax. In summation, I want to go back for more than one night!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seasidedg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Property: Clifden Station House
Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing