We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Litte gem - great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Just back from a weekend spent in this hotel - great location, very friendly and knowledgeable staff who went out of their way to accommodate and welcome, very comfy bed - beautiful meal, great leisure centre- all in all a great way to spend the weekend in a beautiful part of Ireland - thoroughly recommend this hotel

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank siobhy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,279 - 1,285 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2010

Staff friendly and helpfull, food in the pub was great and also a great breakfast every morning. The rooms for family I found to be far too small.
Leisure centre was ideal for families and the staff very friendly in leisure centre. Over all a lovely hotel, well located , just found family rooms too small.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophieTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

I stayed here last night as we were going for a family wedding. Everything is really top notch from the moment you check in; Áine at the desk was so welcoming and personable. Our evening meal was served with such kind service. The room was so restful. It would be bothersome alright, as per the comment below, if you needed a wi-fi service in yout room, but, heck, it's in the foyer and I was there to
relax. In summation, I want to go back for more than one night!!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasidedg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I attended a wedding in the Clifden Station House Hotel recently and would have to give the Hotel 10 out of 10 for everything. The hotel leisure centre facilities, kids club, accomodation, staff, all excellent. But the absolute highlight of the weekend was the fantastic wedding meal it was the nicest I've had in a long time and I have been to alot of weddings! I would have to totally disagree with the below comment from shoesdub whos review title said rubbish food, this reviewer obviously doesn't seem to be a very happy traveller by the looks of things!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sastataistealai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This hotel is situated in a quaint irish town on the rugged and beautiful western Irish Galway coast .We booked in for two nights and had a great stay.Nice food comfortable surroundings and enjoyed traditional music in an irish pub .Both the proprietor and the manager made us genuinely welcome in their very keenly priced hotel [it was a steal ] We will most certainly be back .

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We have stayed twice in this hotel in 2010. We have found it an ideal base to visit some very fascinating and beautiful countryside. It is close to the town , which is very lively and has excellent pubs and restaurants. We found the hotel to be comfortable, only small gripe would be that in the morning there was quite a lot of noise in the area in front of the hotel, presumably from delivery trucks. The room was clean and well furnished and in our case included an extra bed for our grandaughter at no extra cost. Breakfast was excellent and the dinner, which was included in part of a great value package was adequate - we ate off the table d'hote menu which was a bit limited and repetitive over the 5 days of our second stay but the a la carte menu looked quite interesting. The weather was good during most of both of our stays but we were able to use the swimming pool and table tennis room in the attached leisure centre when we needed to entertain our grand-daughter and on the couple of times it rained. The staff were very friendly and helpful even though the hotel was busy. My only other recommendation is taht they extend the WIFI coverage; we did have free internet in the foyer but thats not much use when you want to use Skype. It did not reach the third floor where our room was located. There was cable internet access in the rooms but you had to pay to use that and at €4.50 for an hour to connect I consider it to be extensive, particulalry as if you didnt use the full time slot the balance didnt seem to carry over. We thought that the hotel was comfortable, efficient and clean and represented really excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank activegrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

from the point of arrival we felt so welcome the room was amazing had everything one would want :-) we went for dinner and the superivser of the restaurant made us feel so so welcome we got VIP treatement she is worth gold :-) we will def stay there in the future
cya soon guys and thanks for a great time :-)

james and ian :-)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brennanjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
294 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: $91 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing