We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal in a really good family friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Just back yesterday from a 4 night family break with 2 adults , 3 kids on mid-term break special. Really good deal - euro 398.00 in total for 4 B&B with 3 dinners. Food was good quality overall with staff excellent - only gripe here was the limited choice on evening meal - pretty much the same menu for the 4 nights. We stayed in a family room which had 2 doubles and a camp bed . The room was on the 'compact' side and didn't really work for us- we will stay in the hotel apartments next time . Hotel had kids club included in price which was really good and again the staff were helpful and enthusiastic . Swimming pool , changing etc were clean and well maintained and staff were friendly and watchful in the pool area . We felt a bit let down in the evening time as there was not much entertainment and it was early to bed each night. There was some music a couple of nights in the Station pub across the road but this kicked off around 10pm and was a bit late for us . I realise that you cannot please everyone but I felt the hotel could try harder in this respect and perhaps have some music/kids entertainment in the main hotel particularly as this was school holiday time . I would definitely return to the Station House and we enjoyed our stay there and used it as a base for some touring in the area which was truly beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,284 - 1,290 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2010

Stayed for a couple of days ,really nice place. Breakfast excellent and very helpfull staff.
Pub across courtyard with lovely bar meals and good selection, look out for the specials board .
Rooms were clean and quiet with the added comfort of a underneath duvet on matress never had this anywhere else, really comfy, slept like a log.
I would, and in fact am, returning in may, cant wait.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShrewsburyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Arrieved at lunch time. Very fast and friendly check-in. Staff couldn't be nicer. Nothing was a problem. Our stay was DB&B for €60 on a Saturday night! The dinner was a set menu with a choice for everyone. Rooms were very nice. Buffet breakfast was fab! everything so fresh and staff so helpful. Lovely leisure centre. Will defo be back!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwayKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Most of Clifden was closed during January so there wasnt much of an option. Purpose built hotel which on the surface looks clean, modern and stylish. Built on a development with shops, a leisure centre and a great pub (opposite but part of the hotel). Good value for Bed Breakfast and we were recommended to try the inclusive dinner option as the retaurant was 'really good'. Er no the food was almost inedible as was the breakfast in the morning. The paper thin walls didnt help when our neighbours rolled in at 5.45am the worse for wear. We debated about complaining but someone got there before us and the management at least rectified the situation. Not my first choice but this is Clifden where in January there isnt any.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Stayed here with a group tour. Efficient check in, nice clean room in a good location. I would stay again for the rooms but service in the restaurant was poor. Waiters tend to work with heads down. It was hard to get their attention especially for morning coffee. Don't count on them holding your reserved table for dinner if it gets busy. Pony event in town so Pub smelled quite strong. Not sure that there are many other choices for lodging and food around in this small town. Overall not too bad.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Very disappointing. Given a room which reeked of cigarette smoke overlooking a noisy road. The windows were locked and had to be opened by a member of staff. Huge queue for breakfast which resulted in a guests being seated in the foyer area and a member of staff coming out at intervals calling out room numbers as tables became available - throught I was in the tax office! We got breakfast elsewhere and the price of this was deducted from our bill.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tradfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed at The Clifden Station Hotel after seeing an ad in The Irish Times for a 3-night package incl. bed, breakfast and 2 evening meals over August Bank Holiday weekend.

The response on the phone when enquiring was warm and friendly. I initially thought I was booking with a small, family run hotel because the lady was so gracious and courteous - not something I've experienced in the past when booking with larger, chain hotels! When we arrived it was quite different to what we'd initially expected (we did take a quick look at the hotel's website, but didn't really get a feel for the place and still thought it was going to be quite a small hotel!), and although not exactly "family run" the lady on the front desk was very welcoming, personable and friendly. Our room was generically decorated, but very comfortable, clean with tea, coffee and tasty biscuits which were very welcome after a long drive from Dublin!

As previous reviews state, this is an old station which has been re-developed into boutique shops, cafes, spa and hotel. It provides a very stylish area to spend time and with a tourist information office just across the road, provides all the information you need for walks around Clifden and Connemara.

Our breakfast and dinners were served in the large guest restaurant and were of a good standard with lots of choice. As we stayed on bank holiday there were lots of families, but this didn't detract from our enjoyment as a couple without children. The children were well behaved and a treat to see them enjoying themselves with their families.

We didn't get chance to use the spa or swimming pool, but other residents seemed to be making good use of the facilities and I think if we visit again we'll definitely be checking them out on a wet day!

A chance booking led to a lovely, relaxing weekend. Thank you to all the staff who welcomed us and looked after us so well.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkamh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
293 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: $92 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing