We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Coatesville, Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was not impressed”
Reviewed October 24, 2005

We were part of a Celtic tour group and everything was prepaid. I say this because I do not know what the breakdown of the hotel cost was, so maybe we were getting what we paid for, but it should not have been costly. Our room was next to the leisure facility which has a pool making our room very humid, and the hotel has no air conditioning. We had a window that opened out, onto the main street, where passersby could just walk up to the window and you could hear all traffic noise, there was no screen on the window either. The room itself was ok- bedspreads had numerous burn holes and the carpet throughout the hotel was filthy, the bathroom was dated and in need of paint and repair. The food was very good and the service was nice, and the town itself was great. If you checkin and think you are going to get a deluxe place to stay this is not the case.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ylegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    391
    106
    37
    16
See reviews for
466
461
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 21, 2005

We recently had a family wedding at the Station House and I have to say the staff were superb.

We actually stayed in a beautiful 3-bedroom apartment located in the Courtyard of the hotel. I would highly recommend taking one of these apartments if you are staying there for more than 3 nights. They are excellent value, beautifully decorated and had everything we could need.

The food in the hotel was excellent. The courtyard around the hotel has fantastic facilities such as a hairdresser, Beauty Salon and some really fab shops. It was great to have everything so close on the morning of the wedding.

The night after the wedding we all went for a meal in the town in a restaurant called Mitchell's which I can also highly recommend.

I would definitely like to go back there for a week and tour around the area when we have more time.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 15, 2005

Having stayed here before I can see that the new management in the hotel have meant strives in the service and standards and all the staff were incredibly friendly
First class hotel

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enniskillen,Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2004

Highly recommended. Even thought the place was absolutely packed with families and loads of kids during a term break it remained quiet and peaceful in the bedrooms. The dining room was as efficient as I have experienced in any hotel and the food was excellent, the service superb.

Helpful?
6 Thank Testedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 1, 2003

NIce and bright and airy. Friendly Staff. The town is old and most other premises look old fashioned. The Stationhouse has all the amenities for the modern traveller who like comfort, cleanliness and fitness - while nesstled in the heart of old Ireland.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alltech@elivefree.net
Level Contributor
193 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2003

My Husband, 2 children (under 5) and I stayed there for 3 nights last week. The hotel is spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. The ameneties surrounding the hotel are excellent: Station House Bar - great buzz and live music on Monday night, Hair salon, antique shop, two brilliant boutiques with some good quality bargains, a huge courtyard which in fine weather allows for clients to eat/drink outside. The bedroom was more than adequate I've stayed in more expensive hotels with smaller rooms. The cleaning staff were very friendly esp. with the children. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. We only dined one night (we like to vary our dining establishments) the food was good quality albeit slightly limited. The bar in the hotel itself is small and didn't appear to be staffed until late in the evening, however I'm sure that will change when the season picks up. Nevertheless it has a nice relaxing atmosphere and is more a residents lounge than a bar therefore it is very easy to fall into conversation with fellow guests. Children are treated with great patience and during holiday times activities are arranged for them. there is also a playroom in the leisure centre area but this is unsupervised so a parent/adult has to be there all times. The lesiure centre was fine, the only annoyance was that the jacuzzi is only on for 6 minutes then cuts off for 6 minutes (auto. cleaning apparently). Still it stops the same people hogging it all the time which I've experienced many times in other centres. For a medium priced 3 star hotel I would certainly recommend it especially for those with families.

Helpful?
10 Thank iseult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 29, 2001

I stayed at this location in Nov 2001 with my two brothers, three sisters and my mother along with a tour group of 32 people. The hotel was very clean and the room for the three of us was about average as far as room size. The bathroom was very clean and nicely updated. The meal selections for the group were limited, but were good. The personnel at the front desk were very helpful. My sister found the exercise room to be very adequate. The bar/pub did not have any atmosphere, so we went into town.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Property: Clifden Station House
Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing