We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family-orientated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good family-orientated hotel”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at the Clifden Station House over the June bank holiday weekend. The hotel is really part of a complex of old and modern buildings (including shops and a great place for lunch - Steam Cafe) on the edge of town with great views over the surrounding countryside. We were very impressed from the outset with the staff who were exceptionally welcoming and helpful. Our room was in relatively good condition, although there were some signs of wear and tear (we have since learned that there is a process of refurbishment of rooms currently taking place). Connemara in early June can still be cold and we had problems with the heating. A fan heater was brought to our room but this was really inadequate. The following morning the manager, Ronan, moved us to a larger room and offered us vouchers towards our next stay. His professionalism and kindness are a real bonus for this hotel. Breakfast was a pleasant experience and there was a good diversity of foods available. We also dined one evening in the bar area - somewhat reminiscent of an American diner with comfortable booths - and were happy with the standard of cooking. The hotel also has a pool, which is very useful for children on those rainy west-of-Ireland days. Overall, we had a pleasant time at the Clifden Station House and will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    398
    110
    37
    16
See reviews for
485
472
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed in the Cliden Station House on a 4 night DBB package. It was excellent value for money. The breakfast choices were extensive, evening meals in the restaurant were top class. The staff were very helpful. Recommend that you check with reception re large tour groups, to avoid queues in the morning. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 4th floor looking over the courtyard, in this way you get a view of the countr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed at the Station house hotel last week for 3 nights. Great hotel, very reasonable for such a high standard.Staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for you.Food was superb.Would highly recommend it and will certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night last week. Good price for reasonable room, hotel starting to show it's age but pretty reasonable with nice friendly staff.
Without doubt the worst food I have ever been served in the Station House Bar.
Just disgusting muck thrown together by someone who has no self respect if they think that it was acceptable.
Disgraceful, unprofessional and a deplorable advertisement for Irish food.
They should be ashamed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Celticjo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear CelticJoe,

Thank you for your recent review of the Clifden Station House Hotel. I was disappointed to read you had issues with the quality of the bar food during you stay. I have raised your comments with the food and beverage team and we are genuinely disappointed that we let you down in this instance.

I would like the opportunity to personally discuss your stay and maybe welcome you back sometime in the future. As you can see from past comments our food generally gets very positive reviews I assure you we have taken your comments very seriously.

Ronan Fahy
General Manager,
ronan.fahy@clifdenstationhouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at the Station House Hotel Clifden last week on a 3 day "golden years" deal including Dinner. The location is perfect for exploring Connemara. Our room was excellent and the Staff and service was friendly and professional. The food was comparable to any quality Irish Restaurant and the overall value for money is outstanding. I would recommend this well run and comfortable hotel to anyone. Austin (Belfast)

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same quality and generous proportions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

All the staff where very kind and couldn't do enough to help the food in the bar was excellent over all the whole package was brilliant value. We stayed of one night in may with 2 kids can't wait to stay again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C1McTigue2177mayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at the Clifden Station House hotel for 2 nights last week in May. The staff in the hotel were great, so polite and friendly. We had breakfast in the hotel and the choice and quality of food was very good, only one niggle, on the second morning they did not have fresh orange juice it was concentrate and not particularly nice. We did have dinner in the bar across from the hotel but the food was not of the standard I expected, my husband was happy with his meal but I had ordered a burger and it wasn't that good - again niggles. The hotel restaurant looked to be pretty busy on the Sunday so I wish we had ate there during our stay. Overall we loved our stay at the hotel and in Clifden; though it is a very quiet wee town there are loads of wee shops and great galleries there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
276 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
308 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
716 reviews
14.2 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Property: Clifden Station House
Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing