We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Having read the previous review I feel the author must have been there on a bad day. I have just spent an excellent weekend in the hotel. I have no complaints about the cleanliness of the public areas or the bedroom.
The staff were helpful and friendly and service was of a high standard. Breakfast on both mornings was more than adequate and dinner in the resturant was top class.
The location of the hotel provides a good base for touring the surrounding areas and Galway proved to be well worth a visit. The town of Clifden offers the visitor a wide and varied choice of shopping, bars and resturants.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DavyG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,335 - 1,341 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2008

The best thing about the Station house is that you can keep driving into Clifden village and find a decent hotel. The rooms are no better than B&B rooms, they cost four times as much and the hotel will make every attempt possible to rip you off. When we were there, there seemed to be a Spanish bus tour in the place. I normally stay in 4 or 5 star hotels but this is nowhere near 3 stars, it's a guest house. OH and the public areas are filthy, dirty tiled floor at reception (dried in dirt), dirty lifts and dirty corridors, a load of the rooms are at road and footpath level on a busy road for both cars and drunken pedestrian, but no blinds. Just keep driving into the town where you will get cheaper, more honest and better hotels, even the guest houses in Clifden are better and much cheaper. If you want the full unadulterated story of being ripped off, and our experience, contact me.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Just back after a one night stay at the Clifden Station House Hotel. Clifden is a very nice village and a perfect location for exploring the gorgeous Connemara landscape and the Clifden Station House Hotel is an adequate place to stay in this village.

Our room was exceptionally clean and, although a little on the small side, suited us perfectly. The bed was large & comfortable and the furnishings all looked very fresh as did the bathroom.

Only complaints about the room would be that it faced onto a busy road and the walls are thin. Once our "neighbours" came back to their room for the night you could pretty much hear every word of the conversation they had.

We ate at the restaurant that night and the food was good and the service friendly and prompt. Afterward we ducked across to the Station House Bar for a few drinks. The bar is very cosy and comfortable and the live acoustic band were excellent.

Breakfast the next morning was buffet style and while I very much enjoyed my cereal, croissant, fresh fruit and coffee my husband was dissappointed with the cooked breakfast.

Overall it is a good hotel, but as we payed €200 for a 1 night B&B I felt this was overpriced. €120 - €150 would be reasonable for this establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CarolineOHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

stumbled upon this hotel as we drove into town. we were greeted in the parking area by Wilson, the manager. Before we even determined that we would be checking in, he was providing information to us with regard to our planned excursion to Omey Island. Wilson was just the beginning of our pleasant stay at the Clifden Station House. We booked two rooms that overlooked the pub and our bags were whisked away while we were educated on the local entertainment for the evening downtown. We had dinner in the hotel pub and had a very good meal. The weather was just beautiful, so we decided to extend our stay another night and had dinner in the hotel dining room the second evening. The meal was superb, the wait staff very professional. Our rooms were immaculate, the beds very comfortable. We did not use the spa facilities so I can't give you a recommendation on it. This was one of the highlights of our Ireland trip. I would highly recommend the Clifden Station House.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank beatriceboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Nice hotel, nice staff in general. We had a dinner on one evening. I was dissapointed with the meal in the restaurant as we were charged for extras and were not made aware of these charges. Nothing was priced!! The waiter asked, did we want water, i said yes but i thought it would probably be jug of water but it wasn't, it was bottled and we were charged for that. They gave us a small enough portion of patatoes and veg therefore when asked did we want chips, we agreeded but we were not made aware it would cost extra.. i was very diasspointed with their system of billing, it was sly. It was very expensive for what it was!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

We recently had a weekend in The Clifden Station House and we really enjoyed our visit. Firstly,the weather was great so that was a bonus. The room was very comfortable wioth a nice view. We ate in the restaurant one night out of our 2 nights there and the food was excellent, breakfast both mornings was also very good, with a good choice. The leisure centre, the staff explained has just been renovated as was the spa and both complemented the hotel greatly. The rate was great value for money and we look forward to going back again and bringing the kids. Would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to family & friends.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thefattestcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Was in Clifden for the Brian Kennedy Concert which was excellent by the way. Stayed in The Station Hotel and we found the food, staff & bedrooms excellent. You have to be a lover of sea food to enjoy this restaurant excellent scallops & monkfish & my husband had John Dory. Hotel was very busy and a great buzz about the place probably because of Brian Kennedy.

We will definatley be back again for the next concert in Clifden and will definatley be staying in the Station House again had a wonderful time there.

Around the hotel there is some lovely shops one that springs to mind is Millers, very friendly staff. There is a lovely river walk which we did on the Sunday morning, the girl in reception was very friendly and helpful with things to do in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingspan1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
294 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: $90 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing