We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had a lovely time at the station house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

we stayed two nights at the Clifden station house and found it to be a lovely place to relax
when we arrived the staff were Great and all trough our stay the staff were very nice its a place i would go back to for a few days to relax

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Larry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear Larry N,

I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay in Clifden, I will pass your kind comments to my team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Clifden very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Ronan Fahy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

816 - 822 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

We spent a Night at the Station House Hotel last December and despite the rainy weather we had a lovely time at the hotel. Would definitely stay there again. The food in the restaurant was good, the service was ok as well. We enjoyed the craic at the bar across from the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bornbeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear Born Beautiful,

Thank you for your kind review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us in December. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel hopefully in more favorable weather this time !! I'm delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar!

Kind Regards,

Ronan Fahy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We have stayed here on four occasions and always enjoyed it. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The food was very good and we enjoyed the music in the bar. The children had great fun in the leisure centre. We fully intend to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Josephine995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Hi Josephine,

Thank you for your kind review, The station house team are delighted with your positive feedback . I look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future!

Ronan Fahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stay there for a long weekend and thought the hotels offers good value for money (with a jacuzzi and swimming pool...nothing fancy though).
Staff were friendly and polite and the location was good as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RachelKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear Josphine,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review . We are delighted we lived up to you expectations and would love to welcome you all back in the near future. I will pass your kind comments to the team.

Regards,

Ronan Fahy,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I booked a 2-night stay including breakfast and one evening meal package through Groupon for my boyfriend's birthday. We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay there again if back in Clifden. We had our meal on the Friday night but all the tables were full in the Station bar so a member of staff brought us over to main hotel restaurant straight away. The breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice between full Irish, pancakes and croissants. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful. The main highlight for me was the hotel entertainment that weekend, they had the most amazing pianist playing in the hotel lobby on the Friday and Saturday night, he played requests for people and on the Saturday night allowed hotel guests to come up and sing and accompanied them on the piano. There was no need to leave the hotel!

Room Tip: I think we stayed on the third floor, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Elaine,

Thank you for posting such a positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed your first stay at the Clifden Station House Hotel. I personally look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Ronan Fahy,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We booked a 2-night B&B plus 1 evening meal package through Groupon. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome at the Clifden Station House; all the staff were great! We arrived quite late and after inquiring at the front desk were given directions to a lovely pub in the main street where we were able to relax by a turf fire and have a light meal. The next morning Aine, at the front desk, gave us a map of the local area and suggested an itinerary for the day. After a very substantial breakfast, including porridge, made to order, we left for a fantastic day in Connemara. That evening we enjoyed a nice meal (with generous portions!) in the restaurant. During our stay we were aware that another guest was celebrating her 100th birthday! At breakfast, the manager wished her a Happy Birthday and produced a beautiful bouquet of flowers; in the evening a lovely birthday cake appeared. This reflected the customer care that is clearly part of the ethos of the Clifden Station House Hotel. Yes, it is a little inconvenient that Wi-fi is not available in the hotel bedrooms but it is available in the lobby and in the other public areas. We would certainly recommend the Clifden Station House and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: We asked for an upgrade as our first room was fine but a little small. The front desk staff were hap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Vera,

Thank you for your very kind and positive review of the Hotel . I have passed your review onto the team. Our core values are customer care and looking after our guest needs, I'm delighted to hear we achieved and maintained this during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Ronan Fahy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Not a good choice if you like wifi in your rooms, comfortable beds, and anything resembling modern amenities in the bathrooms.

Yes, no wifi in rooms. Wired internet access for an extra fee!
King beds consist of two not-terribly-great double beds pushed together.
Rooms are huge but none of the furniture is comfortable. Bathrooms cramped, terribly lit, and with shower-baths that are difficult to operate.
Location is great - if you're just looking for a place to stay the night, it'll do.

We're pretty easygoing, but we would avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethshanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Bethshanna,

Thank you for posting your review of the Station House Hotel. I would like to apologize that we did not live up to your expectations during your stay. I see your review as constructive and will focus on these areas for future guests to the hotel.
In relation to the WIFI we are currently working on a solution to have WIFI in all guest bedrooms. I would expect to have this in place shortly.

In relation to your stay I can be contacted personally at ronan.fahy@clifdenstationhouse.com to discuss your stay further.

Regards,
Ronan Fahy,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
292 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: $91 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing