We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodation, service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here recently as part of a large group of girls. The service was outstanding, very friendly and the staff did everything to accommodate us all and more. The location is very central, the rooms were very spacious and tidy. Any questions before our stay about activities and the local area were quickly answered. Breakfast was fantastic! Would definitely recommend it to all and will be staying here again in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoraineK1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

910 - 916 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

I'd rate this 3.5 = good - ie better than Average, but not Very Good. It's a modern hotel, but strangely no free wifi in the room - just a pay-for LAN connection.
We were with a large group. They struggled to cope with so many of us at our dinner the first evening, but the food was good - a nice fresh hake and properly cooked vegetables. We were hungry and so asked for more bread rolls for the soup.
Unintentional amusement was afforded by the wine list which described one as "A Pandora's box of flavours". The writer obviously did not know that in Greek myth the box contained all the evils of the world. The waiter knew what it meant, though, when I asked. My first and second choice of wine bottles were not available so when he offered a bottle of house white (Kawin, a decent enough Sauvignon Blanc from Chile) it was obvious the selection was very small indeed. When the main course was cleared away for dessert, the bread rolls arrived; some more harmless amusement, fortunately the food was good enough, even for a large crowd, to avoid any Fawlty Towers references.
The king size bed was comfortable and the room quiet - so quiet we could hear the people next door through the dividing door.
The breakfast was OK - standard full Irish plus a cereal offering. There was no All-Bran so I asked for porridge and got a watery gruel with a burnt taste. The scrambled eggs looked unattractively runny. Next day, I stuck to the fruit, prunes, cereal, and smoked salmon, which was much better.
On checkout we were able to leave our cases in the room until final departure at 4pm, which was very nice. We did not have time to try the spa / leisure centre.
In summary, OK, as long as you know what to avoid at breakfast and to ask for a properly sound-insulated room.

Room Tip: Ask for one without a linking door to the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GYWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I just stayed at the Clifden Station House with a group and for the most part we all felt that we were barely tolerated by the management (the general staff was pleasant enough). They were no help at all when we had a problem and when the evening manager filled in as bartender he poured the most meagre drinks I have ever experienced. (I have never complained about that type of thing before but this was really obvious). These problems sound unrelated but indicate the general approach of the hotel.The rooms were average, relatively clean but nothing special...no great view. Breakfast was the same, not bad but nothing special. I would never return to a hotel where I felt unwanted.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katharinep3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Lovely hotel right in town in Clifden. Very nice room and good pool and gym. The food was excellent and staff very helpful. It is right in town and within walking distance of the very lively ( in the tourist season ) town centre. Recommend for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Padraig47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went to clifden for a long weekend and stay here.its was lovely.we were welcome by wonderful reception staff so friendly and helpful.we had a family room it was so big and everything shining good job to the housekeepers.we had a 2 and a 3 & half year old with us.we were swimming every morning with there great leisure facilities.there is lots to do around walking,shopping,beaches,play grounds..we ate there in there restaurants everynite the food was just so good WOW.At nite there was music in d bar great bands and waitresses/bartenders were so friendly...we have it booked again for 5days just before xmas great deals cant wait to get there:):):)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diana966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

As part of a small group, we stayed at the Clifden Station House from Sept 6-8th. Check-in was easy and we soon found ourselves in our room. Room was spacious and relaxing. We were there mostly at night. The staff did a great job cleaning our room, and we were more than comfortable. The hotel restaurant was perfect for breakfast; the only meal that we enjoyed there.

Great choice for Clifden!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EMSCHO23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I'm not sure where some of these people stayed, but I and many others thought the Hotel was very good. Restaurant service was excellent and the food was very good, plentiful and imaginative. Toiletries and towels were changed every day. Excellent position for the little town of Clifden, and we were lucky with the weather!

Room Tip: We did have a room facing the main road. Ask for room away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank felanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
292 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: $91 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing