We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great staff, lovely atmosphere. We'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great staff, lovely atmosphere. We'll be back!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Excellent hotel, great staff, lovely atmosphere. Room was lovely and dinner in the restaurant was great quality and value. Bar is a very nice and a very enjoyable place to have a drink. Residents bar was also very comfortable and good service. Didn't use the leisure centre, gym or spa, but facilities looked good. The theatre onsite is also a great bonus, showing new release movies. Thanks for the hospitality, we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnlcarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    398
    110
    37
    16
See reviews for
485
472
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in February with a group of friends. The staff at reception were helpful and friendly and were very accommodating to all our needs. We ate in the bar across from the hotel on both nights and couldn't be happier with the food and the service. Great value deals on offer and the bar staff were all very friendly. Andrea behind the bar was excellent, recommending all the best sights and places to go in the area. Our rooms were all well equipped and absolutely spotless.
Breakfast each morning was perfection with a great selection on offer. The hotel has a leisure centre and spa which we didn't make use of but seemed to be nice and busy. All round great experience and I will be recommending to family and friends visiting the area as it is so central to all the amenities Connemara has to offer. Definitely will be returning soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinsarah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff in the hotel were very friendly and extremely helpful! All the food from breakfast to dinner was beautiful! Very clean hotel too and I had a very comfortable weekend! I was made feel more than welcome. They really made my weekend! Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here recently for a weekend and had a marvellous time. The staff are truely outstanding- and seem to go the extra mile to ensure everything is perfect. The food in the restaurant is marvellous - really far above normal hotel restaruant quality. We had dinner on two nights, and the menu was varied and anything we had was excellent. Breakfast is fit for a king- again lovely extra touches- like freshly made pancakes. I ordered poached eggs on the first morning, and on the second day the chef remembered and offered to make them again before I even had to ask- that's service for you.

The main bar is across the courtyard- which in fact made the experience even nicer- felt like a proper pub- not just a hotel bar. Live music made for a great atmosphere and the place was hopping. For a quieter experience there is a library bar just off the main lobby- which would be a great place for a quiet drink.

The rooms were good- small but very clean and have everything you need. Perhaps ask for a room overlooking the courtyard as the ones on to the road might be a little noisier.

The hotel seemed to be completely full- which is not surprising given the value - there were groups of golfers, fishermen and photographers- there is just so much to do in the area. We played Connemara Golf club- which was only superb. Diamond hill (in Connemara National Park)- about 15 minutes drive, is well worth the effort- stunning views from the top. A good hike- need a reasonable level of fitness, but all climbing is done on steps up the hill rather than bare mountain face- which makes it accessible even to non-seasoned climbers. There are also shorter more level walks which would be suitable for the less fit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShivGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here as part of a Groupon Deal and had a wonderful weekend. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was a decent size, nicely kitted out and clean, although very, very warm which made me have a bit of trouble sleeping.

Surrounding area was fantastic to explore and the food was superb. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillni87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here with my fiance for one night in february. The receptionist was lovely and check-in was very quick. We got a triple room at the end of the corridor on the 3rd floor and we found it to be a great sized room. The decor was very dated with an old box tv. The bathroom was not very big but had a bath/shower, sink, toilet and some nice toiletries. Again the decor of the bathroom was a little dated and shabby - all white tiles and dark green accents. It was spotless though but I just love to see a sleek, modern bathroom when I stay in a hotel. Water pressure was so strong it kept popping the plug out of the bath!

The beds were amazingly comfortable. Sheets reminded me of hospital quality but the mattress was padded so very soft. The room was very warm and we could not control the heating. Although the room was facing the road I didn't really notice the noise of traffic. Overall the room was grand but for the price we paid we expected it to have a more luxurious feel.

We went down to the hotels bar called The Library which was a nice plush intimate area with leather couches and chairs. Everyone was in the Signal Bar across the square (which is also part of the hotel) so we had The Library to ourselves which we liked. The barman was extremely polite and friendly.

We availed of the free use of the leisure facilities in the evening so it was quiet. The swimming pool was big and the jacuzzi and steam room were fine. I didn't like that a button on the wall had to be pressed to restart the jacuzzi as my local leisure centre's one just keeps going, but i suppose it is more efficient. The ladies changing room is need of sprucing up and there was a strong smell of urine near the changing cubicles. My fiance said the mens changing room was nice.

I rang reception to get some more towels sent to the room as i was afraid to ring room service because on the brochure it states that all room service orders will be charged at €4 per person. The receptionist told me not to worry and she would send the porter in a few minutes, but the towels never arrived.

The buffet breakfast the next morning was delicious which lots of variety. We both had the full irish and we finished our plates.

The staff at the hotel were first class - very friendly and polite. The location was great with everything you need right on your doorstep. Parking is free and although the hotel says it provides free wi-fi, you cannot get it in the rooms, only the lobby. The hotel is definitely more suited to family breaks than a romantic night away for couples. I don't think the hotel was very good value for money but I do think it is probably the most decent hotel in Clifden. If I was going to Clifden again I would probably choose to stay in one of the many b&b's.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ill-rate-ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We are just back from a lovely quiet trip to Clifden Station House. Everything was perfect from start to finish. Even the very cold weather didn't dampen our break. It must be a fanastic place to be during the summer months. The hotel bar was closed and the bar across the courtyard which belongs to the hotel was open for evening meals and drinks. But the bar staff will bring you drinks across to the hotel bar if you want quietness and thanks to Alan for the drinks with a smile. We didn't get to try the swimming pool and gym but other guests seem to be enjoying themselves. The food was very good too. One little complaint was the charge for the internet in the rooms was outrageous and I had problems connecting in the open area but we were there for a quiet getaway so it really didn't matter at this time. We look forward to going back again soon very soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
276 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
308 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
716 reviews
14.2 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Property: Clifden Station House
Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing