We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea time and daily bread”

Walsh's Bakery and Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Walsh’s Bakery is a 2nd generation family run bakery situated in the heart of Connemara, Clifden. The Walsh Family have been serving freshly baked goods since 1953 and for the past 60 years have been providing customers with the best bakery tastes and wonderfully friendly service. The Cake Shop offers craft breads, donuts, pastries and cakes for all occasions. Not in a rush? Why not sit and enjoy the panoramic views of Clifden Bay with one of the many aromatic gourmet coffees, handcrafted sandwiches, beautiful salads, or one of our unique sweet creations to make your visit to Clifden even more memorable.
Kessel-Lo, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tea time and daily bread”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

During our visit to the nice town of Clifden, we stopped at Walsh's bakery and coffee shop for coffee and tea.
Because it is also a bakery, they offer a wider selection in cakes, pies and pastries than the average coffee shop, so everybody can get his or her choice (especially nice when you are there with the kids). For Cake and gateau you pay 4 EUR, so they are not on the cheap side.
Along with the cake and gateau that we took we drank coffee, tea and hot chocolate. Coffee and tea were fine, but the hot chocolate was not very much appreciated by the kids (coming from Belgium we could be a little biased, but it could be better for such type of coffee shop).
The atmosphere and service was fine, and of course when things get really busy, it might be a little hectic, so on the peak hours not a place for the seekers of peace and quiet places.
A few days later we went for bread rolls, and these were very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMennens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    119
    29
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A must try :)”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stopped here on a wet day out shopping. A decaf tea and a yummy carrot muffin really brightened up my day :) Its a must try!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahHMoran87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again !!!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

What can I say looks good from outside that's about it bought in pastries cheap instant coffee given with breakfast and as for the breakfast over cooked greasy egg and half pieces of puddings not full slice as you would expect also menu said with chips or beans no sign of either when asked about this the woman at the till i presume is owner or manager told me I would have to pay extra . I think this place makes its money ripping off tourists cause it's not for there knowledge of cooking or there customer service skills. My advice is if your used to getting proper food and customer service for your money there are a lot more options in town try them

Helpful?
1 Thank Emmalawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Visited Daily”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Visited Walsh's daily while I stayed in a rental house in Clifden. Perfect place for tea and baked goods or a sandwich for lunch. The view in the back overlooking the road to Ballyconneely and Roundstone is great. All ages, languages, backgrounds, etc. gather here. The staff are friendly and bring the ordered food quickly to your table if it is not provided as you go through the cafe line.
Lovely experience each time!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 185kateb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“nice bakery”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

this was a cute little bakery in town; we had tea and sandwiches and soup for lunch upon arrival in Clifden. Great intro to the town. very clean and modernized; lots of staff. Yummy!! Tables in back have lovely view.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mydayjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walsh's Bakery and Coffee Shop also viewed

 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Walsh's Bakery and Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing