We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

Walsh's Bakery and Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Walsh’s Bakery is a 2nd generation family run bakery situated in the heart of Connemara, Clifden. The Walsh Family have been serving freshly baked goods since 1953 and for the past 60 years have been providing customers with the best bakery tastes and wonderfully friendly service. The Cake Shop offers craft breads, donuts, pastries and cakes for all occasions. Not in a rush? Why not sit and enjoy the panoramic views of Clifden Bay with one of the many aromatic gourmet coffees, handcrafted sandwiches, beautiful salads, or one of our unique sweet creations to make your visit to Clifden even more memorable.
KC, MO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stopped by twice, once for a sweet to take away and once to sit and enjoy. All items purchased were delicious.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rpmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    119
    29
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“wonderful home baking at its best”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent one week in roundstone but had several lovely meals in this lovely coffee shop.
the aroma of home baking as you enter the door is lovely. The array of sticky and creamy cakes and buns on display is mouth watering. My hubby sampled several and was completely in heaven. You can get sandwiches, wraps etc to take away and the variety of fillings is amazing. The food is excellant and the staff are so friendly and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eibhlin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always Fresh & Delicious!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

During an extended stay in Clifden this past May & June my family & I often ate and/or shopped at Walsh’s Bakery & Coffee Shop on Market St. in Clifden. The owners Cathal & Joan run a pretty & cheerful establishment with bakery goods that are always fresh and delicious. Joan & her friendly & helpful staff never failed to give us a warm welcome & as time went on & we got to know the staff better we were greeted by name upon entry.

During our stay in Clifden we had many occasions to eat breakfast, lunch & tea in the shop and to purchase items to take away. A favorite breakfast was the mini-breakfast which consists of a fried egg, slice of Irish bacon, 2 sausages & toast. There is a nice selection of sandwiches for lunch and scones, cakes & pastries for tea.

We often purchased the Brack (a sweet bread containing candied fruit) to take home for tea. One of our guests proclaimed Walsh’s scones as the best in the world & we agree although I am partial to their jelly donuts too.

Walsh’s Bakery is celebrating their 60th anniversary this year & it is easy to see why they have been in business this long. Friendly & welcoming staff, fresh & delicious bakery goods all make for a lovely experience in visiting Walsh’s Bakery & Coffee Shop!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stopped off here for a light lunch and from the outside the place look lovely we expected we were goin to get lovely homemade bread as this was displayed on the window. On entering there is a bakery counter on the left this is when I should have turned back as all the bakery stuff is bought in which is fine but this place makes itself out to be all homemade. On getting to the next counter the queue was hardly moving which is fine as I have patience but there were 3 if not 4 staff inside the counter and you could only order sandwich off one staff, soup off another, it was all over the place and the staff were rude not friendly at all. the real reason i am wrting this review is if your going to have a cafe dont use pat the baker bread like in fairness it does not cost much more to get nice bread even from a local baker which I am sure there is one in Clifden. If passing again I wouldnt return

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariekerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice bakery”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Decided on having a snack at this bakery as the cakes looked delicious. We weren't disappointed.
The staff were really pleasant, you don't get this sort of service in the uk, warm welcomes and smiles!
The menu looked extensive and from what I saw on the plates of other customers, very tasty. There were regular customers in as well, so that's always a good sign that a place is good.
The only comment I'll make leaning towards the negative is that the prices are quite high, although that's not just a reflection on Walsh's, that's for everywhere we ate in Ireland. To be expected in the current climate I guess. This is also based on the prices I pay back home for similar food. But like I said we don't get the welcomes and smiles! Would return in the future, thank you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walsh's Bakery and Coffee Shop also viewed

 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Walsh's Bakery and Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing