We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“well worth the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2007

We were staying at a B&B on Sky Rd and learned that the original owner had left and the home was being sold. After staying the night we decided to move on because one of the reasons we returned to this B&B was the owner.
Since Abbeyglen was very close to the B&B we called to see if they had a vacancy. The front desk said they had two rooms but we had to wait for the current occupants to check out. They suggested we visit and have a cup of tea in the lobby while we waited for the rooms.
After tea my daughter and her husband checked in and returned to rave about their room. My wife and I were upgraded to the turret room which is a replica of a castle turret. The room was huge and had a spectacular view of the town of Clifden.
We walked the grounds and found a path to the scenic waterfront. That evening we dined at the hotel dining room and the food and service was outstanding. A pianist played during dinner and afterwards did a comedy routine.
The whoe experience was magical and the staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — rooms,staff, dining
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed October 2004, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDWYERConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    245
    108
    52
    42
See reviews for
216
593
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2007

I can't say enough about our wonderful stay at this friendly, cozy and fun hotel. We were a party of ten, 4 adults and 6 children ages 9 to 18. There was a lot to do for all of us at the hotel and in the very nice town of Clifden. We stayed for 4 days and 3 nights at Christmas and had 5 rooms all beatifully decorated, comfortable and clean. Most of our meals were included in our package deal and the food and service were impeccable. There were many activities plannned for the stay such as golf and table tennis competitions, champagne reception, tea each day and we thoroughly enjoyed all of them. The other guests, almost all from Ireland were also friendly and fun. The owners and staff were fantastic and you were treated as if you were a guest at an old country estate. Brian( oneof the proprietors) was extremely attentive and talented leading the evenings activities with piano and song in the candlelit pub off the main lobby. Many of the guests also entrtained with songs and recitations and we were completely impressed. Clifden is ideally situated for many day trips to the burren, Mayo, and the beatiful countryside of Connemara. There were hiking trails and town was just a short walk. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank foamine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2006

just returned from the abbeyglen after another amazing trip. The food, entertainment and hospitality was as always top class. This is a location you could not fail to love!

  • Liked — Food and entertainment
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Join in the fun and entertainment every night to make the most of your trip
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2006

In Nov, along with my wife and some friends, I returned for my third visit to Abbeyglen and I am delighted to be able to report that it was as good as our first visit. From the time we walked through the front door, we were made to feel most welcome and 'special'. The food was superb and the service very friendly, but it was the entertainment in the bar that made our short stay so memorable. Brian [oneof the two charismatic brothers who own the hotel] played the piano and entertained his guests in his own inimitable style. The 'craic' was so good that the bar was packed until the early hours.
Abbeyglen is a great place with a unique atmosphere and I look forward to my next visit.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Tips/Secrets — Upgrade to a superior room
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Beanjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebeltoft
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2006

This is the place to go for the night atmosphere, the friendliness and the situation in lovely Clifden, excellently positioned for walks and bike rides in Connamara.

As some reviewers have remarked, the hotel needs a brush up here and there, and if you want modern, light, stylish design this is definitely not the place. And yes, the facade is partly a mock-up. But in spite of all this the Abbeyglen has great charm. And the traditional music in the pub, the very friendly and helpful staff, the welcoming atmosphere of the whole place and the closeness to Clifden itself made it a very pleasant stay. My room was great (one of the superior ones), very clean, good bathroom, and with the sound of running water from a small brook outside lulling me to sleep (after an amount of singing and not a few beers in the pub).

Dinner was just amazing, and the atmosphere in the dining room reflected this. Even people who looked tired when they came in, soon became uplifted and cheerful. No reason for anything else, really. I was not quite as impressed with breakfast. The home made croissants were dry, and the fruit salad was from industrial preserve (the waiter scooped large quantities out of a tin in the dining room, but at least that's honest, I guess). It was still above average.

I would definitely go back for the atmosphere, the charm, the dinner and the situation. However, I would advise an overhaul of at least public areas pretty soon. The difference between quirky old-fashioned charm and being past selling date is a thin line. However, the Abbeyglen is still on the right side of it.

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — A bit dark and run down
  • Tips/Secrets — Take advantage of the walking tours offered. They are well worth it
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank moratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2006

We stayed here on the night before and night after our Walking Tour of Connemara, which is offered through the hotel. Our entire vacation was really wonderful, and we enjoyed the walking tour sooo much, but I must say that in the middle of it we were thinking about how luxurious it would be to get back to the Abbey Glen and soak in a nice tub and sleep in a nice big bed.

I can't say enough good things about the Abbey Glen - the food was really good - we were talking with Brian during the tour about how food in Ireland has been evolving, and I have to say that his restaurant epitomizes this - world quality chefs working with the freshest best local ingredients. The goat cheese appetizer was simply one of the best dishes I've ever had.

We ended up, because of travel agency mixups, showing up from America without a reservation for our tour, but the hotel and the tour fixed the entire problem with barely a visible effort - we tried to check in, our names weren't there, we showed a confirmation, and despite the fact that we still weren't there, we were checked in and welcomed and we got every detail of our reservation without another wrinkle. This hotel really is a first class accommodation in the beautiful Connemara region.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — less than great plumbing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2006

This hotel is an experience. It is best enjoyed if you get one of the better rooms.Then pace your day so that you are up for the action which takes place in the bar most nights from 11p.m onwards.The owner Brian offers exceptional personal service remembering everyone'snames and including all in a great party. quite unique!He also plays piano and sings and his enthusiasm is infectious.It's a place to go if you want fun good food in a relaxed environment.I' recommend it for all ages.

  • Liked — friendliness
  • Disliked — some rooms are poor
  • Tips/Secrets — get a good room
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank raypower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyglen Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Property: Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Abbeyglen Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Castle Clifden
Hotel Abbeyglen Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing