We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Food, and I thoroughly enjoyed the Entertainment in the bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location, Food, and I thoroughly enjoyed the Entertainment in the bar”
Reviewed May 25, 2010

After a tiring but breathtaking journey from Galway A porter was waiting to help me with my bags and had them in my room as I completed the paperwork at the front desk - My room was of a good size (Suite) with a lovely view to the front of the hotel.

The hotel bar has a lovely feel to it as we enjoyed our pre dinner drinks before a fantastic top class meal in the hotel resturant. Hotel restuarant was full and had a great buzz which is important to us.

After our meal we ventured down to the Hotel Bar where one of the owners Brian Hughes played the piano and entertained us well into the night!. This guy is an entertainer and should be on stage!

Our friends and us have promised to return to enjoy another memorable experience in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    261
    114
    54
    43
See reviews for
226
630
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West of Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Exceptional personal service from the moment we arrived at Abbeyglen.
The top class service began with our bags carried from the car directly to our room by a very friendly staff member. We were efficiently checked into a spacious room at the front of the hotel with superb garden and sea views complete with four poster bed, gas fireplace and delightful ensuite with claw foot tub.
Food was excellent and served in a cosy restaurant with helpful and friendly management and staff.
Sing song and dancing in the bar at night was very entertaining.
The staff were delightful, from reception to the dining room to the bar.
I cannot think of any negatives concerning our stay. Overall excellent, relaxing stay. We'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucky121209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We arrived late to Abbbeyglen after traveling from Dublin. Check In consisted of walking to the reception desk and being handed keys. We were not told of dinner, tea and scones the bar or anything that the hotels has to offer to its guest. The girl behind the desk did not welcome us or have us sign registration papers. It seemed as if she just couldn't be bothered with us. I went to the desk later and inquired about food or places in town to get a bite since we had arrived late and she told me to go upstairs and ask the guys if they had anything left from dinner. Her job is to take care of the guest and she should have called upstairs to inquire for us
Our room was a nice size with hardwood floors and a gas insert in the fire place. The grounds were very nice and well kept. The room had a musty, dingy smell and was needed to be dusted. Our room had a Balcony attached to it, which was actually the roof section covering the entry way. The sliding glass door was very difficult to open and would not lock. The room door was also very difficult to lock from the inside and we had to play with the door handle and lock to get it done. The towel warmer provided in the bathroom did not do anything to heat the towels and when we showered the bathroom floor would flood due to a shower door that did not retain the water within the shower.
When trying to get a beer at the bar, we were ignored by the bartender who apparantley did not see us since he moved past us to take care of the patrons who walked in after us. They appeared to be regulars and we were once again made to feel like we were in the way.
The restaurant menu was very pricey and their was a hefty seervice charge added to bill. Even with a discount offer, we felt the menu was way overpriced and decided to dine elsewhere.
The complimentary Irish breakfast that came with the room was delicious and the breakfast waitstaff seemed to be the only staff who cared for their guest.
We inquired at the front desk about using the hot tub and sauna, which were located at the end of an unmarked closet like hallway next to the elevator and were told to help ourselves. The sign on the door of the room said we needed to inquire at the front desk for reservations for the sauna and tub, but once again, the person behind the desk, appeared to be a manager, never bothered to look up from what he was doing and seemed as if we were once again bothering him. The hot tub was not hot and did not get hot and the sauna was not any better.
Checking out was much like checking in. No thank you,no how was your stay...nothing. We just dropped our keys off and left.
The service here was deplorable and the hotel was in much need of repair and some maintenance. Maybe they just don't care for us Americans but Euros or Euros no matter where they vare coming from.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philco214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Abbeyglen Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2010
Many thanks for your review. I am genuinely upset and sorry that you were so dissatisfied with our product and service. Your feedback can only assist us in trying to improve. If you could email me directly at olivebrennan@eircom.net I would really appreciate this so we can look at your experience in more detail.
Many thanks for your positive comments on our breakfast / dining room staff and on our grounds and gardens.
As you can see from many of the previous reviews recently they have been very positive and happy with our overall product and service.
Yours sincerely,
Brian Hughes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We came to the Abbeyglen as a special treat for my wife and I. When we arrived the first thing that struck us was ''a castle? really?'' The foyer was slightly didgy but we thought, oh well, maybe were just being fussy. The room was nice, we were told that we had been upgraded to a superior room which was a bonus, The room was spacious but had a little bit of a funny smell but we didnt mind. Dinner in the restaurrant was good, service was a little slow but the music was lovely. We had a comfy nights stay. Breakfast was a little dissapointing. The cantene style buffet was a little naff and the bacon was a very dodgy colour and uncooked. The coffee was lovely. The check out was very easy and all in all we had a pleasant stay. We were extremely impressed with a young, pretty english girl who was completely charming and very professional both at the entrance of the restaurrant and in reception the next morning.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank gregsonstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

have a few issues with this hotel-main rooms had a musty odor,but our room was fine. Much to my surprise-our room had a bedroom and sitting room with fireplace! We really enjoyed the fireplace. The bathroom was beautiful-big tub with jets! a negative is the bed-two twims to make a king size-the middle crack was uncomfortable.I must compliment the waitstaff-very attentative at breakfast. The front desk clerks need to learn customer service skills-not personable at all. When my husband and I checked out after two day stay-not once did they ask about our visit-just handed us our receipt -never once thanked us for staying. Too bad-nice location-hotel didn't seem to care we were there

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2010

All too short....The welcoming complimentary afternoon tea after our long drive was lovely. Then we were treated to champagne and nibbles in the bar and greeted like old friends. We were in awe of the friendliness pervading this hotel, from the owner Brian to all his staff it was amazing. Great position, dinner was great and the sing song in the bar lots of fun and exactly what you hope Irish hospitality will be like. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raefinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I had the pleasure of organising my best friends hen party and she was adamant that we choose the abbeyglen as she had stayed here previously and had thoroughly enjoyed the unique atmosphere that the Hughes create daily. All of my dealings with the girls in reception were very professional, and they endeavoured to accommodate my changing needs for a large group.
The rooms were individually decorated so no two rooms were similar but all very comfy and cosy. The food was plentiful and of high quality, particularly the special seafood on the saturday night - I have never seen bigger crab claws!
But what sets the Abbeyglen apart is the attitude of the owners to ensure you have a good time! Brian is a fantastic piano player and singer and he loves to include the audience in a good old fashioned singsong! The lively atmosphere made the guests mingle with eachother and there was definitely no choice but to relax and enjoy the craic. And one last thing - the value for money was fantastic - thank you Brian bor helping me make my friend's hen weekend an unforgettable one. Testament to their hospitality, I met so many guests over the course of the weekend who were returning year on year. If you like the west of ireland craic and the odd seisiun, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GodMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
4.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
258 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
8.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyglen Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Property: Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbeyglen Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Castle Clifden
Hotel Abbeyglen Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing