We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful -”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful -”
Reviewed June 22, 2009

The Abbeyglen was a clean, friendly and warm place to stay. However, if you are expecting a true "Irish Castle", you will be greatly disappointed. It is more a "Disney Castle", so keep that in mind if the castle experience is #1 on your agenda. Dorothy

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msscarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    256
    112
    53
    43
See reviews for
220
617
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

DECOR: My first thought upon arriving at the Abbeyglen was that this was not a true castle. This was confirmed later when I checked Frommer's guide and found the castle facade was added about 20 years ago. Don't expect Dromoland or Ashford here. You will see frequent claims to 4 star status about the hotel, but I would rate it around three stars.

The common areas were quaint, with a fireplace in the lobby and bar. I also enjoyed Gilbert, the talking parrot in the lobby. The rooms were comfortable enough but were decorated in somewhat of a "grand-motherly" way, I'm not one for hanging china on the walls as art. The rooms were clean enough for our needs but I would not go so far as to say they were the cleanest accommodations I have seen in Ireland. The view from the windows was charming, our room was on the front side of the hotel with a view of the grounds and the town of Clifden below.

Unlike other hotels, the skeleton type key will lock you in the room as well as locking others out... in the event of a fire, keep the key in a place that is easy to find!

FOOD: When we first arrived at the hotel, our rooms were not quite ready, we were served tea and scones in the bar and they were delicious, and a nice start to our stay in the hotel.

The breakfast was above average, eggs, rashers (bacon), sausage (delicious), croissants, salmon, toast, tea, coffee (cereal and fruit were also available although not in great variety). We never left hungry. Although proud of our country, we were somewhat appalled to have one of the owners place an American flag in the center-piece of our table and proceed to point out where the other American's were sitting in the dining room. So much for blending in!

We also had dinner at the restaurant one evening. The duck and the salmon were delicious. The dessert options were also very good. The paper doilies and the main courses brought to the table under domes were somewhat less than avant garde. Again, a "grand motherly" feeling.

In your room, be prepared for brownish, "peaty" water which the hotel notice says is safe (I don't doubt that it's safe, but it was a surprise).

STAFF: If anything reached a four star quality at the hotel, it was the staff. In all of our interactions with staff in the lobby, bar, and restaurant we found them all to be friendly and helpful in every way.

QUITE: I am a light sleeper so this is important to me. We found the rooms to be quiet and I had no trouble falling asleep. The clientele of the hotel appear to be somewhat older so there were no kids running around and the other guests were quiet during our stay. There are various dancing, singing, and Irish music events in the bar area; the restaurant is located above the bar so I don’t expect these events would disturb anyone in the guest rooms and the events can be quite fun.

PARKING AND GROUNDS: We found the parking to be plentiful and the grounds were beautiful. There are two helicopter pads on the property and we did see that they were in use. The tennis courts looked well maintained. I also recommend a walk up the hill to the right side of the castle to see the John D'Arcy monument (founder of Clifden) at the top of the hill for spectacular views of Clifden and its environs.

Great trips from this location include the Kylemore Abbey (pick a nice day so you can walk around the walled Victorian garden. Also the Aughnanure castle is worth a visit! Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTMChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathylason
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2009

A friend recommended Abbeyglen to us but i will have to tell him that it wasn't such a great stay. I felt like being in a zombie movie. All the staff from the bar to the restaurant looked wrecked tired and under pressure ! an old man kept at them all evening running behind them and shouting what's missing !!! what a lack of respect towards guests who are suppose to have a nice quiet dinner and not to have to watch an episode of Road Runner & Wile E. Coyote, i believe he was the manager ! I almost felt like going to him and tell him to let his staff work. We had a warm welcome from reception and the afternoon tea was a nice touch . The rooms are OK a bit oldish looking but comfortable. The food is overrated , it's not bad but i had better food in certain pubs . My general feeling is that the management should improve its attitude and that the staff should sleep a bit more .

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathylason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

So even though the hotel might have seen better days Roger who helped take our luggage to our room and then later served us drinks in the bar made our day better and brighter. We had been waiting for some Irish stories and some Irish charm and Roger supplied both.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmeltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We stayed here last weekend as we wanted to get away from the madness of a the Volvo Ocean Race festival in Galway City - and it was recommended by a couple of people. From the moment we arrived, we had a memorable first impression. Roger met us at our car with our bags, and insisted on carrying them to our rooms - saying that "You're our guests now - let us look after you". Such a simple warm thing to say, and so rarely said in any hotel. We were upgraded to a suite, and the room blew us away. It is decorated in old world charm - four poster bed, stand alone bath and double sinks, in a very spacious bathroom, and separate sitting room, with a working fire. We were not expecting such spaciousness. No mini bar - probably a good thing
When we arrived, we were served complimentary Afternoon tea which we took on the marble terrace- the views were fantastic, and the weather was warm and sunny for once. we looked up at the cliff overhead, and a white horse was looking down at us from a distance. Idyllic.
We had booked 2 nights with 1 dinner, but as dinner was to such a high standard, we decided to dine there the second night also. On the first night we had Guinea Fowl - and a really good caeser salad. On the second night, I had one of the best Lobster Thermidor ever. For once, it was cooked to perfection (So many places overcook lobster) and the sauce was so tasty and not too rich. Desert is buffet style, with about 7/8 choices, and also cheese and grapes.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we were keen to book another night, but it was booked out, so we decided to extend our stay in Clifden, and booked into a beautiful B+B for the third night and ate locally.
After dinner there is a music session in the bar. On the first night we didn't join in, as the crowd were of a much older generation! and we were a bit hungover.. but we stayed the second night, and in usual fashion, we were the last to leave! It was good fun.
During our time, the weather was extremely hot - freak summer weather! so we just went to the beach every day. Ballyconeely is lovely - and the club house on the golf course has a good lunch and a fantastic view. There is also a lovely deli in Clifden - the Connemara Hamper, so we stocked up there with a gourmet picnic every day - we also visited a lovely beach called Dog's Bay. Warmer water and v secluded.
There are great drives in this area, and a lot to do. I really recommend this hotel if you want to chill out and experience the beautiful atlantic west coast. The Staff are excellent and very friendly - something becoming increasingly rarer in Irish Hotels.
It is interesting also to look at the pictures of all the well known faces who have stayed here over the years - among many others we noticed Bill Clinton, a Princess or two, and a smattering of musicians.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giltmirrors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Haan, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

In this hotel, owner and manager work alongside the staff. Here you find a perfect combination of luxury without stuffiness, a warm and friendly atmosphere. Even a first visit there, gives you a feeling of coming home, but to luxury.
To name members of staff who are extremely helpful would really be impossible, as I would have to name them all. In reception, Morwenna, Wendy; John and Martina, always ready with advice and a happy smile, and a friendly word. Several langauges are spoken between them too, which is such a help to foreign visitors.
Freda in the bar, again good service with a friendly word.
In the restaurant, Anna, Anne, Sydney and Thomas, Ben and Ratna, again the only comments I could give are good ones.
The food in the restaurant is excellent, they must have top chefs in there, again, always served with a smile from the staff, who are anxious that everything is correct.
During dinner, there is gentle background piano music, which is lovely.
If there is a special occasion, the owner just loves to help the people celebrate and feel really special, he has a wonderful sense of humor too.
The bar also provides plenty of entertainment, piano playing, singing, guests are invited to sing along too. Giving rise to such a happy atmosphere.
Tuesday is Irish night, and so much fun, but to tell you about it would spoil the surpise.
There is also a beauty treatment room, where you are truly pampered.
The hotel is ideally situated for country walks, climbs, fishing and all kinds of outdoor activities. But in fact for anyone wanting a restful holiday, they wouldn't need to leave the grounds of the hotel. Wandering in the grounds, among the palm trees, you could be anywhere. (as long as you got good weather, we were very lucky)
There is a hall of fame with photos of celebreties who have stayed there.
I could really write a whole book about this hotel, but the best thing anyone can do is to go and try it themselves.
A resident parrott who keeps guests entertained, and drives the receptionists crazy each time they answer the phone to find it was the parrott.
I really don't know of another place that has such a combination of luxury, humor, comfort, It is just "simply the best".

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valtango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2009

have stayed here several times. location, relaxation areas and food are wonderful.Your hosts pull out all the stops! This hotel is also the starting point of the amazing Island safari experience.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Menlodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
4.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyglen Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Property: Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Abbeyglen Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Castle Clifden
Hotel Abbeyglen Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing