We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay and lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2008

We splurged and stayed at this castle hotel for one night booked through expedia. I would recommend booking directly through the hotel in off season as they were giving discounted rates which we did not recieve.
BUT - This place was lovely - great walking grounds, views from our rooms, nice facilities, ample space in sitting room, bed and bathroom. It looked newish outside and our room had a gas fireplace in the sitting room. We felt welcomed by the staff who were very helpful and provided us with a walking map of the area. The rooms were nice, with enough charm that you didn't feel you were staying in a disneyland castle. The breakfast included was delicious, we couldn't stop talking about it for days afterwards. There were many locals in the bar and at tea time who were staying also staying as guests - which to me, means it must be good! In our mid-30's we were definitely the youngest couple there but this never bothers us.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank Kitty_Kat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,125 - 1,131 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2008

We just returned from our trip to Ireland (October 17 - 27) and our 2-night stay at Abbeyglen Castle. What a disppointment. This is NOT a 4-star hotel. Our room was old and musty; the bedspread and carpet was ripped and old; the towels were small and worn out; several bulbs were missing or not working in the lamps; long, black human hair was all over in our bathroom from the room cleaner. There were no washcloths in the room upon check-in so I asked for two and was told "we don't use them here." What? This is a hotel that is going strictly off "location, location, location" and not paying attention to value, quality, or customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank aspencreekfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2008

Great location and stunning views. Room was good although due to the peat the bath water looked a bit brown in colour! Restaurant was good and the staff were great. Complimentary afternoon tea and cakes when we arrived was unexpected but welcomed. We went for a drink in the bar after dinner to find on a Monday night that a guy came and played the piano and sang old Irish songs soon accompanied by various guests till gone midnight. Great atmosphere but not sure we could stand the pace if that is what happened on a Monday night goodness only knows what happens at the weekend! Also mad parrott by reception welcomes you from sitting on top of his cage when you arrive and wolfwhistles everyone who sings in the bar! Thoroughly recommend for a true Irish fun stay!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LadyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Abbeyglen Castle really reflected the kindness, humour and hospitality of the Irish people. Paul the owner/manager definately has leprechaun blood! Thanks to Paul's particular brand of magic we had a very special, very memorable 2 nights in the castle. Silver service evening meal was included in the price and it was a gastronomic delight. The breakfast was beyond indulgent! At night the lights are switched off in the bar and the place is lit by candles, while musicians entertain. The candles add to the warm atmosphere. There is music every night.........

As far as favourite destinations go - this will always be a favourite, and despite the huge distance involved (I"m from Australia) I will be aiming to return!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Scallywagins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Just returned from two wonderful nights at the Abbeyglen.I Can't believe that no one has reviewed it up to now. This is more than just accommodation - this is an experience. I have stayed here on two previous occasions but each time it was a late arrival and early departure so I never really got to 'enjoy' the hotel. This time we were checked in by a wonderful friendly girl called Martina. We were also welcomed by the resident parrot - I think his name was Gilbert-certainly a unique greeting method here! We had a wonderful room on the second floor, looking out front to the town below and the mountains of Connemara in the distance.I have stayed here before in much more dated rooms so either they have updated all their rooms or else they still have some 'old' rooms I don't know. In any case dinner was truly wonderful with a great wine list.'Piece de Resistance' of this hotel has to be Brian Hughes' entertaing ability. He and his Father, Paul, run this place.He was in the restaurant looking after us for the whole evening then he came down to the bar later where he entertained us on the piano. Other in-house guests are also invited to play along and sing. This made for a wonderful cosy atmosphere. Some locals were there too to add to the 'craic'. Other guests (of all ages) I spoke to said the attraction for them was always the 'sing-song' in the bar after dinner. A work colleague told me that her aunt and uncle went on the 'Connemara Safari' walking tour and stayed here on the first night. They loved it here as well. If the Abbeyglen was all booked out I would have no hesitation in booking into Foyles in the centre of town. Try the Derryclare for lunch or dinner you won't be dissappointed either. I didn't have any time to get any spa treatments at the Abbeyglen but I did walk up Diamond Hill instead-it is in the Nat.Park-only 20 mins from the hotel by car. There is no entry fee to the Connemara National Park and is well worth spening a few hours there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MariahTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Myself and my girlfriend were on one of those last minute "lets go away for the night" drives. we took a drive to Connemara to see if we could find a nice romantic small hotel or B&B. having driven through the 12 Pins and on the way back to the city we drove through Clifden. That's when we saw a sign for Abbeyglen Castle Hotel on Skyroad! That sounded interesting to say the least!

What a class place! honestly we were greeted with a smile, and given the last available room, which was a stunning small suite with a large Jacuzzi bathroom and four poster bed! (the romance begins!) all for €90 PP! and the price included dinner at the restaurant which was simply stunning! 10/10

We finished the night in the piano bar which was hopping out of it with people and great trad music (which im generally not a fan of) and for some reason the mayor of Galway was there havin a few pints.

All in all this was the best hotel experience i have ever had, simple because of the genuine welcoming atmosphere, great service, great location and fun.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DAGATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Do not waste your money on this Hotel!!!! It is never a four star!!! Felt like a cheap B & B. Booked one of the better rooms and was digusted with the state of it so had to ask for a better room. This was okay but not much better. Furnishings and carpet throughout are just dreadful. Towels were tiny and threadbare as were the bathrobes, which we didn't use because of their poor state. The breakfast was something like a Peter Kay sketch!!! It was buffet style with big "keep warm" dishes covered with tinfoil!! Toast was done in a corner by a young man using the cheapest bread around and he had a black bin liner slung over a chair as the bin!!! Stay at a local bed and nreakfast and save yourself some money. The whole place needs knocking down and starting again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarpleDiamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
1.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
4.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
8.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyglen Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: $108 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbeyglen Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Castle Clifden
Hotel Abbeyglen Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing