We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute must do in Ireland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolute must do in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

If you want to experience some wonderful Irish hospitality in a beautiful Irish castle this the place. The staff are both hospitable and knowledgeable about the history of the castle and the region.
The dinner was spectacular (seafood chowder and lobster Thermidor E$35) and amazingly priced. The breakfast fresh and delightful.
The accommodation was brilliant the rooms so comfortable and the castle just spectacular.
The castle is one hour from Galway and a beautiful drive through some glorious hamlets.
thank you you created a wonderful experience for our family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    245
    108
    52
    42
See reviews for
216
593
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is a really lovely hotel for the following reasons.
The staff are knowledgeable, helpful, professional, friendly and really nice.
The accommodation was more than we expected, with warm carpets, comfortable bedding and basically what most good hotels were like 15 years ago before the character was removed.
The food is really good.
The atmosphere in the hotel is an experience.
We had a really great time at this hotel and will be going back.

Room Tip: Our room as on the ground floor and we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishFamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I renewed our wedding vows last week and from the day I started emailing the castle making the plans, the service was remarkable. From flowers to food, the support was top notch. Bryan and Paul, are the most delightful gentlemen. Bryan has a great personality and adds so much fun to your stay by being personally involved with the guests. We never wanted for a single thing. The castle has quaint décor in the rooms and obviously is old. It's a castle. But this only adds to the charm and ambiance. Roger in the bar was funny and so endearing. All the wait staff smiled and were so engaging during dinner. We added the five course dinner to our stay and were not disappointed. I had the lobster one night for an extra 15 Euro, and enjoyed it tremendously.
We will be back next year to see Bryan, Paul and the crew. Cheers to you all! Thanks a million!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLFCHK228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

The abbey glen is centrally located to the town of Clifden. The food was excellent and the welcome by the owner was superb. An added treat was that they have a talking parrot in the lobby. The hotel is set in a quiet location ensuring a good nights sleep. The room that I had was on the back so no good view to look at.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the front as the hotel is on a hill and overlooking Clifden. The wi fi does not re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquinasduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were booked at Abbeyglen for 2 nights. There was a bit of confusion with our reservation but they quickly clarified it and upgraded us to compensate for the error. We had a lovely room. The breakfast has a lot of good variety. The dinner was delicious. The stay includes breakfast and afternoon tea. There was one night champagne and appetizers were being served at cocktail hour. The hotel is well located and just a short walk to the center of town. It is more of a HOTEL than a castle but the staff work hard to make it a warm, happy and an engaging environment. When in Ireland it is important that you can walk home from the pub. You can not go to Ireland without experiencing the pub culture especially the music. It is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The staff was incredibly accommodating and made every effort possible to get us the room we desired (and we did!). Thank you again, Aiden! The decor is beautiful, if a tad bit shabby and in need of cleaning. The grounds and view is gorgeous, however, and the walk into Clifden was an easy little trek. Yes, there was a smell of bird poop in the one hallway, but it's not the worst thing ever and the bird was very sweet and friendly.

Our rooms could have used a good cleaning, but it wasn't what I would call filthy. View was gorgeous and bed was large and comfortable.

The champagne hour was a nice touch and included some nice hors d'oeuvres. John at the bar was ever so nice and happily even tried to recreate an american shot for one of my friends. Some of the guests couldn't exactly handle their liquor and I'm sure they annoyed some other guests trying to sleep, but we mostly found them to be amusing while we sat by the peat fire place and drank our cocktails. It was also very convenient for driving on Sky Road and Beach Road.

Was it my favorite place that we stayed at? No. Could it use a bit of updating/cleaning/polishing? Yes. But, we did enjoy our time there and I can find nothing seriously egregious to complain about so I suggest that you book your stay with appropriate expectations and you'll surely enjoy yourself!

Room Tip: Try for a room at the front of the castle for the best view, but those rooms are in high demand so d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We recently spent 3 days at the Abbeyglen Castle Hotel at the end of May and really enjoyed ourselves! The owner welcomes guests with a champagne toast and h'ordeuvres in the early evening, which quickly spills over into live piano music in the upstairs restaurant, with good food, good drink, and wonderful service. The owner puts miniature flags at tables to indicate the home country of the diners--quite a variety for this relatively out of the way place. I love that the whole dining room is serviced by the entire staff and that potatoes, carrots, and broccoli, etc. are offered from person to person as if you were at home at the family dinner table. Desserts of all kinds are offered on buffet tables so that many items can be tasted and enjoyed. Then this spills over to drinks and more music and even singing in the pub back downstairs--what more could you ask for? Breakfast the next day and a bird named Gilbert who loves to be petted and who talks to guests, that's what...and a cous cous ratatouille for dinner that was just delicious. The first night we were entertained by a piano player that was somehow able to get my husband to sing--I've known him for 26 years and I have never heard him sing in front of other people! Each night there was different entertainment--all excellent--everyone was so warm and friendly, exactly what we needed on vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isgirl_in_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyglen Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Property: Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Abbeyglen Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Castle Clifden
Hotel Abbeyglen Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing