We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who gave stars out...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Who gave stars out...”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for just one night ( booked out early ) we missed our cup of tea and a scone by arriving 20 minutes too late. After this greeting the lady at the desk issued us with a key to our room. You have no need to worry about losing the key as it comes attached to a dainty little key ring the size of a dinner plate.
So after driving for 4 hours and unable to devour our scone we visited the bar. Unable to buy any food at the bar ( including nuts or crisps ) we sat and stared at the wonky pictures and light fittings and thought what kind of 4 star hotel does not accommodate their guests with food when they wish to eat.
After our drink we retired to our room to dress for dinner, by this time I had eaten 2 guests but was still feeling a little hungry. In our room the fittings were very old. Not antique just old, enamel worn off the bath, toilet Handel broken, water yellow!
The meal was very good but 28.00 for a bottle of house red is a little over priced.
The entertainment was ok and the guests seemed to enjoy it for myself and my wife it was interesting but a million miles off a 4 star hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Scottytoohottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    256
    112
    53
    43
See reviews for
220
616
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed here with my two sisters on Friday night and we just had a ball. Brain on the Piano got Marion up singing which "NEVER" happens and the atmosphere was just amazing. Breakfast in the morning was another treat with all the wonderfull staff and of course Paul was there giving us all maps on places to go and visit around Clifden. Thanks to all and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laineymayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

A friend and I stayed for 2 nights. It was exceptionally good value. What made the visit so special was the warmth of the staff and the overall feeling that everyone cared that their guests had an enjoyable time. It is a real gem - not a slick franchise. The service is reminiscent of the traditional Irish welcome that used to be widely available. Charming and well worth the visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcc752_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

There is a charming ambiance in this castle. Quiet but amazing evenings accompanied by a piano and a funny show man.

You have to see and discover it yourself.

The lanscape is fabulous and you have tha Nationa Connemara Park very near.

Room Tip: For a little more euros, Get a suite and have a glamorous bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisbeth691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed here on March 1st with my wife for one night. I have very little to add to the comments already on Tripadvisor except that the stay was most enjoyable . It is a real pleasure to stay somewhere that has not been taken over by formula management. The Hughes team do a wonderful job and impart a real sense of a family run business that puts the customer first. The cost of the stay was very reasonable and included complimentary tea and scones as well as a champagne reception. The restaurant was very good and offered a wide and varied dessert menu. Breakfast the following morning was again overseen by Paul Hughes who went out of his way to present a small gift to a couple who had become engaged the night before. This is how a Hotel should be run. Most impressive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisville, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Really beautiful castle, very well appointed. Lovely room, really enjoyed the location. The afternoon tea was terrific, sitting by the peat fire with tea and scones, we really felt like we were soaking up the Irish. The Guinness in the pub helped with that too. Breakfast was very elegant. The hotel manager was very gracious, came around to each table, asking what our plans for the day were, offering maps and suggestions for walks, really showing Irish hospitality at its best. I wish they would install a better wifi router in the hotel, because the only place to access the internet was in the front lobby. Ah well, that didn't fit the atmosphere anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkjdwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Loved my visit to the Abbeyglen Castle for my birthday. We had a gorgeous room. Food great+ staff very helpful. Would highly recommend a stay for any age group.Thanks to Brian + his Dad for keeping a great hotel going in such difficult economic times. We will definetely be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
4.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyglen Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Property: Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Abbeyglen Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Castle Clifden
Hotel Abbeyglen Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing