We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2008

This was quite a trek on a windy road while dodging sheep to get to the town of Clifden; and was worth it. We arrived about 8 in the evening for check in. One of the owners was at the desk when we checked in and took our luggage to our room. Our room key was a skeleton key which makes it more authentic. We did attend dinner in which we meant the other owner who gave us a free drink for being on our honeymoon. They shared the same last name with us and we were known as the lost bride & groom cousins. Dinner was very busy with large groups of people. We felt a bit out of place being just the two of us but it was not that uncomfortable. The owners were waiting on the tables and speaking with the guests. That was very personal service. Instead of going to the bar we hung out in the room and walked to the bar to get drinks. The bar was packed and Brain (the owner) was at the Piano. He did see me walk in and made an announcement that the honeymooners were in the bar. He also dedicated a song to us. The wait was a bit long but expected for as busy as the place was. The parrot in the lobby added a neat touch with its “ringing” and other fun phrases it had learned. The atmosphere was perfect with the old touch. Exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,140 - 1,146 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2008

We have just returned from another sublime stay in Abbeyglen Castle - warm welcome, great service, LOVELY food and so much more.

A very welcome addition is the beauty spa lodged in the old stable block. It is a charming and relaxing place to be. The staff are excellent - caring, competent, friendly and sensitive to your every need. They use lovely natural products, and I came away shining and refreshed!

We'll be going back to Abbeyglen again and again and again. It has really captured our hearts!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank countrybumkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

I think the effusive praise lavished on the Abbeyglen is a bit over the top. Yes, it's a very good hotel, but that's what you should expect from a 4 star establishment. We stayed on the weekend of June 6th and the hotel certainly wasn't prepared for what would be standard Irish summer weather. When we arrived at about 2.30pm the main door was propped open - allowing a cold wind to blow through the entire reception and foyer area. Because our room wasn't ready, we were served coffee and biscuits in the foyer. It was literally freezing and the coal-effect fire made no impression on it. We had the same problem in the bedroom. It was quite cold and there was no heating on. When we asked about heating at about 5.30pm we were told that the heating would be on in "about 10 minutes". Upon our return to the hotel at 8pm, there was still no heat on the bedroom. We enquired again and were told that they don't put the heat on while people are in the restaurant. However they assured us that they were going to switch it on right away. No heat was ever switched on. We weren't impressed with the general condition of the place which, as said by some other reviewer, badly needs an upgrade. Our ancient bedroom door could be closed with an almighty bang but then it couldn't be locked. To lock it, the door had to be opened and pushed to the point of closing but no further!! That said, the location, the food and the service (heating apart) were excellent and the staff were welcoming, courteous and helpful. On that alone, the hotel deserves its rating but unless they do some serious upgrading, I'm afraid it won't hold on to it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debhruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Driving into the parking area of this hotel we were overcome by the beauty of this Castle Hotel, which overlooks the town of Clifden. Opening the large old door to the lobby sounded like a heavy castle door. There was a roaring fire in the outer lobby and also in the inner lobby. Our room was so beautiful with a double canopy bed and a sitting area with a fireplace. The bathroom was very large with an antique soaking tub and seperate shower, and double sinks. Outside our window there was a babbling brook with waterfall. It was lovely to be served tea and pastries upon arrival. The elegant dining room offered a fabulous menu and in the morning served up a great breakfast. I think this must be Ireland's best kept secret because the other guest's, although living just a few counties away, were frequent patron's staying for several days at a time explaining that it was" just a lovely place to be". We will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Abbeyglen weekending Saturday 15 March and as usual enjoyed our stay very much.

I first stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions back in the early eighties when attending the salmon farming conferences and I always said I would return with my wife when our family grew up. We have now been back there on at least three occasions and the welcome and hospitality is outstanding. Staff are friendly, professional and courteous at all times. The musical evenings are always entertaining and Brian gets everyone to join in. Food is very good and afternoon tea very welcome which can be had beside the open turf fire. As it was my birthday we were upgraded to a superior room which was a nice touch. We will be back.

We always find the people of Clifden very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2008

Just spent a wonderful three days in the Abbeyglen Castle Hotel.
At a VERY reasonable rate. Just €99 B,B & one evening meal.Our room was wonderful , four poster bed and a large bathroom with jacuzzi. The staff were wonderful - so friendly . We enjoyed the complimentary afternoon tea and the chats with the parrot.
The food to die for and the ambience everywhere in the hotel was excellent.
There were lots of couples who were also very friendly - so it was like coming home when we came back from a drive.
Sing song in the bar at night were great !

Will definitely return there in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AnneandJohn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2008

Staying at the Abbeyglen is like staying in someone's comfortable old home. It's in a wonderful location, overlooking the town of Clifden.

I stayed two nights in one of the deluxe rooms [#41] and it was spacious, beautifully appointed and really felt castle-like. The four-poster, canopy bed was luxurious, as was the huge bathroom.

The food was outstanding--especially the delicious dessert table, and the cooked to order hot breakfasts. Owner/manager Brian Hughes is a wonderful hotelier, and a definite character.

This was my first visit to Ireland, and what a wonderful introduction to a place I've wanted to visit all my life. A unique and delightful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OrlaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
7.2 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
1.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
8.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyglen Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: $109 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbeyglen Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Castle Clifden
Hotel Abbeyglen Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing