We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It may not be a castle, but it has a ghost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It may not be a castle, but it has a ghost”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were welcomed after a day of driving with a champagne reception. Not just one glass, but several refills by a very cheerful server. By the time we got to dinner, everything on the menu looked delicious. Dinner was excellent (I had the lamb) with plentiful veggies on the side. If you are watching your calories, don't even look at the dessert table! The room was moderate sized but very comfortable, the bathroom well equipped with plenty of hot water. The owners are quirky and friendly. Think a Fawlty Towers sense of fun but in a beautiful setting, an elegant old building, plumbing that always works, excellent service, and a chef that knows his/her way around a kitchen! Ask the staff to tell you about the ghost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    272
    115
    54
    43
See reviews for
232
647
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killybegs Co. Donegal
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Clifden In the beautiful area of Connemara has many hidden gems but Abbeyglen is simply magical In a stunning setting this glorious Hotel ticks all the boxes .. Charm ... 5 star service .. Gilt edged welcome and Irish Hospitality at its best ! The Donner and Breakfast is superb with the best of local produce deliciously prepared , presented and served.. The chowder lamb and lobster to die for .. . If you do one thing in life that will simply blow you away then you must experience this magnificent Hotel, The entire Team is amazing ... I will be back. Thank you all . Take a bow Brian and Paul .. Few do it better .. !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel was quaint and beautiful. The grounds were lovely. The staff was very friendly and made us feel VERY welcome. We had dinner and breakfast at the castle and both were terrific. Brian (owner/manager) was very friendly and helped us with directions before we left the castle. We had fun talking with Gilbert (mascot) also.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue62813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I can only describe our stay as interesting. The bed was probably the worst we slept on during our 10 day trek around Ireland. The rooms were large, but definitely dated in terms of decor. The bathroom was good in our room but our traveling companions had a shower head that was way too low - even for a short person. The staff was very inviting and the dinner was good but maybe a little pricey - great dessert bar. The breakfast was buffet style and quite good as well. So, a castle it is not in any way, the decor and furnishings should be updated, but it was still a pleasant experience - although overpriced for what you received in terms of value. I would look elsewhere for a castle experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

everyone becomes like family very quickly here ... cosy, quaint, class ... superb seafood .. the live gentle music in dining room is a treat , esp on tue nights ( trad night) .. go .. if not now , when !! my fav so far

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malachyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The staff in the hotel are absolutely lovely, full of wit and very welcoming. The food was more than generous and the bar small and quirky. The bed in the room is comfy, with a bathroom containing all necessities and a really good view of the grounds and beyond.
But aesthetically the place needs a bit of a facelift, a bit of freshening up. The whole building needs new carpets as they are all worn and tired. Replace the small bits in the room like the tea stand, decorations, mirror, bedding and update the bathroom as they are cheap and that make the bedroom look like a 2 star hotel room not a four. Replace the tablecloths in the restaurant.
Overall I liked this place, but I wanted to love it. I presume we got the two of smallest rooms in the hotel but when it is a 4* you'd still expect decent rooms which I found to be below average for that rating. When I'm paying 4* prices I expect to see a 4* setting which I think it lacked. It had more of a guest house feel rather than castle hotel. Just make a few modifications and this place could be first class.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The reason we return to this hotel time and time again is the warmth of the staff, the beautiful food, the craic and the Abbeyglen experience...From start to finish the reception you get is second to none. People are not just guests but become friends. The food in the restaurant is superb, the complimentary afternoon tea and scones, not to mention the pre dinner bubbly and the entertainment....so much more than you get in other hotels. We can't wait to return!!! Without a doubt Abbeyglen is a special place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weekendaway17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
1.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
727 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyglen Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Property: Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbeyglen Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Castle Clifden
Hotel Abbeyglen Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing