We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome manor hotel in Clifden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome manor hotel in Clifden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

From the cozy fireside chats in the lobby, to the splendid dinning facilities, this hotel is nicely appointed and comfortable. The service staff is friendly and attentive - we felt spoiled. The hotel grounds are very nice as well. The room was clean and comfortable with ample space for luggage and personal items. Location is 7 minutes walk from town center though you wouldn't know it. There is also a very lively after dinner music and song down at the bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    248
    109
    53
    43
See reviews for
218
604
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our two night stay was wonderful in a lovely room with four poster bed. The bathroom was great with a lovely deep bath. The food was fantastic and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrenmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We recently stayed at the Abbeyglen "Castle". I was so excited to stay at a castle and was so disappointed. The desk staff gave us our key and said "that guy will take you to your room". The pictures on the website make it look beautiful. Our room looked like a old 1960's room. The maintenance department needs some serious help. I have added a few pictures of our room. The outside was very pretty but our room was a total disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank candlewick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and greatly enjoyed out stay. Standard room first night and superior room (really nice - two rooms, gas fire, four poster bed etc) the second night. Seemed to be large coach loads of Americans both days we were there and the hotel definitely cater to this market strongly with Danny Boy, The Wearing of The Green etc played on the piano at dinner. We were also there for "Irish night" which included a guest appearance by one of their Polish staff dressed up as a leprechaun to pose in photos with the guests. All a tad twee but actually enjoyed the night and the foreign tourists certainly seemed well up for it.

Food was really good both nights. Excellent pork belly, mushroom soup and calamari in particular and an astonishing array of help-yourself desserts. Excellent, affordable wine menu.

There were two negatives for me. Firstly, the online pricing seems all over the place. They quoted €130 for a double room B&B but €298 for DBB for one night - €140 for dinner??? Price on the menu for €45 a head but offer seemed to be €15 for one course or €20 for two... All that said, we paid €79pps for DBB per night. Was told by staff that they didn't do just B&B and that it had to be DBB while they obviously advertised B&B on their site - all just a bit chaotic.

My second criticism would be the attitude of one particular staff member. By and large, everyone we met from the owners to the cleaning staff were incredibly friendly and helpful with Paul in particularl having perfected the art of entertaining guests (seems to have a photographic memory for names, birthdays and even what wine we had ordered the previous night!). I would very rarely name one staff member but I must say that I found John that works at reception to be unfriendly, aloof, unhelpful and in stark contrast to the rest of the staff there. It's a pity that our interactions with one person could taint our otherwise positive experience but the warmth and hospitality that exuded from the other staff was all too obviously lacking from our dealings with him. Maybe a quiet word would help as I'd hate an otherwise great hotel that puts so much effort into customer satisfaction to suffer as a result.

All in all, a good place to stay (especially if you're an American I'd imagine) with great food and easy access to Clifden.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Brian and Paul Hughes run a wonderful establishment. Both they and their staff were warm and welcoming during our weekend stay. Our two room suite was beautiful and clean. The old world charm adds to the ambiance. Roger is gracious and funny, Freda makes a great Irish Coffee and is the most interesting historian and Kevin is helpful and kind to everyone. The food was delicious at dinner and breakfast .... and with very large portions. We were made to feel very welcomed the entire time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We arrived at Abbeyglen after a full day of traveling. Very easy check in and the room was very nice, good size room with a fireplace, and a very nice bathroom. We were informed of a champagne reception at 6:30 where the owner, Brian Hughes, gave a bit of history of Abbeyglen and a chance to mingle with the other guests while enjoying champagne. The dinner was wonderful and the pub after dinner was alive. Most of the folks staying at Abbeyglen were Irish and it was a wonderful night of talking and meeting the others at the castle. Totally enjoyable experience and just a wonderful visit. I would recommend Abbeyglen if you are in the Clifden area. Great place to stay and great night of fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwoc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

First I was in contact with the hotel regarding bicycle rentals. They were very fast to reply with all the information needed to rent bikes. Next upon arrival there was a staffer in the parking lot greeting us to take our luggage to our room. Very great after a long day of travel. Our room was gorgeous, the bathroom was amazing. Room and bed was very clean and the hotel felt very safe as they lock the door entry at night. We have no complaints. Great parking. Located a short walk to the center of town which was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Room 74 is definitely a must stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
4.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyglen Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Property: Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Abbeyglen Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Castle Clifden
Hotel Abbeyglen Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing