We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home from home John and Joan Walsh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have visited The Abbey Glen over the last 12 years. We go at least once sometimes twice a year.
The rooms are beautifully appointed with four poster bed, sitting area, gas fire (which is seldom required as the hotel is always warm) and lovely bathroom.
The food is outstanding; the evening meals (which are included in the price) is most impressive. The menu is changed every night and there is a choice of starters and main course.
The dessert table is unbelievable and the patron could avail of every single option, if you have any room after the enjoyable dinner.

I describe the Abbey Glen as warm grandeur. The whole ambience and experience is one of comfort, homeliness and personal. The staff under the auspice of Brian and Paul is attentive, gracious and attend to every demand of the visitors.

You are encouraged to partake of afternoon tea, nibbles in the bar prior to the evening meal and enjoy the fun and socialisation in the bar after the evening meal.

There are theme nights which are great fun and encourage patrons to become involved both with the entertainment and each other.

The Abbey Glen provides a wonderful holiday and a centre from which you can explore the beautiful surrounding area.

If you want a home from home experience which attention to detail second to none, book in and relax and rest.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the bay are incredible
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanemaghera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,280)
There are newer reviews for Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Other than Gilbert, the noisy parrot in the lobby, the Abbeyglen provided a relaxing and stunning place to stay. Located above Clifden, views are beautiful. The rooms are large. Ours had a gas fireplace, a sitting area and a large bathroom with claw footed tub. Internet is available in the lobby, but not the rooms. Canopied beds were adequate, but not as comfortable as they could be. They provided a good night's sleep, though. Service was impeccable and the staff is highly and effectively trained to treat all guest as special. Breakfasts were buffet style with a good selection of both hot and cold foods. Dinners were wonderful, with a selection of seafood, vegetarian, and meat. Service is friendly and attentive. This was our "splurge" stay of our Ireland vacation and it delivered all we expected.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darbymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Abbeyglen Castle was recommended to us by a friend and although we only stayed one night it was very hard to fault anything about the place. It is in a lovely setting, the staff were all excellent (and some of them very entertaining!) and it had a really relaxed atmosphere. We were upgraded to a superior room which was very spacious and had a four poster bed which was very comfortable. The pre-dinner complimentry champagne was a lovely surprise and the food in the restuarant was very good. All round a delight to stay and we hope to go back again very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A really charming site with what appears to be a 15th century castle! OK it's 19th century but still just as pretty. We were upgraded to a huge room with gaz fireplace and canopy bed. Great bathroom espcially the shower . The staff were helpful and pleasant. The only negative was the restaurant. We did not like having a French flag planted on our table and found the food to be only mediocre - although the price was right.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Lovely place combining the best aspects of a castle stay with the homeyness and fun of a great B and B. Cozy turf fire in the bar where every guest in the castle shows of for oceans of complimentary Champagne in the hour or so before dinner. Outstanding salmon caught practically in the back yard. And the highlight may have been the hot stone massage from Michelle in the wellness center--best i have had anywhere, and affordable to boot. Don't miss out, book one of the spa services she offers. Perfection all around.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I recently casually called to the Abbeyglen Castle Hotel on a break as we were taking a walk at 12 noon. We met a very hospitable staff member who looked after us very well. We ordered some food and the seafood chowder that we received was as nice as I have ever tasted - and I am a big chowder fan! If that is any indication of the quality of food in the hotel, then I would love to experience the full range of their kitchen. Thank you for a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and myself stayed in the Abbeyglen Castle earlier this month(April 2013) It was our first time to stay in that area ,having stayed in other parts of Connemara on many occasions.We simply had a most enjoyable stay.From the time we arrived until we left we were looked after in a most professional manner.Breakfast,afternoon scones/tea/coffee, and dinner were simply excellent.In addition we were fortunate to have been allocated a lovely spacious room.Without doubt we will return and can highly recommend this hotel to others.You will not be disappointed.
Wicklow Mobile.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
1.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
8.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyglen Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: $137 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbeyglen Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Castle Clifden
Hotel Abbeyglen Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing