We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Tool, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great room, great food, and great service. We will definitely stay again if in Clifden. Bathroom was large and excellent. Good parking and convenient. Grounds were beautiful and nicely kept. Overall pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    245
    108
    52
    42
See reviews for
216
593
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 days at the Abbeyglen Castle Hotel in early February. Unlike the weather, the staff at the hotel were warm, and always helpful. The rooms were in keeping with the theme - they were nice, comfortable, and preserved the charm of the period from which the castle originated - if you are looking for modern amenities, this would probably not suit you.

The only issue we had was with the food at the restaurant. While fresh fruit and veggies may be hard to come by in Ireland in the winter, it would have been nice to see something that did not come out of a can. Also, with the wealth of Irish fish, poultry and meat, it would have been nice to see something local on the menu other than farm raised fish.

Notwithstanding the kitchen, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Abbeyglen, and would strongly and unconditionally recommend it to others. If the food is not to your liking, there are other places within walking distance. And, it is quite possible that our gastronomic misadventures were related to the time of year and low occupancy rather than endemic issues.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have stayed at the Abbeyglen before and each time it just gets better. Our party of 7 stayed the weekend of 12/13 April 2013. We went for a special weekend for my wifes birthday and the Abbeyglen didn't let us down. Our 3 children flew in from England, had a ball and will definitely be back. It is the most relaxed, welcoming hotel I have ever stayed in. From the moment you enter the foyer with the beautiful Yeats quote above the door you know you're in for a treat. The rooms, food and service were excellent. But it is the ambience and charm of the place and the warm welcome from Brian and Paul that really set the place apart. All the staff were excellent and in the charming Roger and John they have 2 great barmen. Brian and Gerry on the piano were a delight. And what other hotel can boast the charms of Gilbert the parrot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_MAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

From the moment of registration to your checking out date, you will feel like you are visiting family, Brian Hughes ensures guests have all the information on activities in the locality, walks, places of interest etc and provides maps and leaflets. It is a very friendly place to stay, log fires, singsongs in the bar each evening, wonderful meals and great views over the valley.

Room Tip: The front rooms have good views over the valley, we found we would have liked more storage space as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 20 years and have found its excellent standard never to have faltered during this period.
Really friendly staff, comfortable rooms,top class and plentiful culinary delights.
If you enjoy musical entertainment and mighty craic, the bar after dinner is the place to visit.

Room Tip: A room at the front is nice where you have a lovely view of Clifden and surrounding countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm not quite sure about this Hotel and that's probably because i'm from Dublin and not from the USA. I don't fall for the usual diddely idol 'tosh' that some tourists do. Anyway, the family run 'castle' is a peculiar place. From the moment you arrive you are greeted with a smile which appears to be genuine but then again i'm not sure. However the staff are well trained and nothing seems to be a problem. My daughter said ' hey dad, this place is like an old folks home' and she was probably right as I am getting old and sometimes forget this !!! Most revellers were in their 50's - 90's and the second floors had a smell to match. Can't quite put my finger on it but I suppose it was either sewage problems or rot.
I would rate the food at about 4 out of 5 - don't have the cheese and cauliflower soup - a bit like baby food.- yuck
The bedrooms and old but OK and the price should reflect this if you are staying here.
Sleep quality is good and the walls are breeze block so sound doesn't travel !
The building is not in good nick and needs an overhaul. The personal touch from the owners makes the hotel what it is - a very friendly, warm and nice place.

Enjoy your stay - I still can't put my finger on whether i'll be back or not Strange --- very strange

Room Tip: get down early for Breakfast as it gets busy and the breakfast is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougieDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

"The Connemara Trail" (horseriding) loves to stay in this beautiful family runned hotel. Accommodation, food, stuff ... perfect. Best hotel we've ever used in the last 44 years !!! Brian and Paul are fantastic hosts and of course Gilbert, the parrot. Clifden without the Abbeyglen ? Not possible !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenm_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyglen Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Property: Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Abbeyglen Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Castle Clifden
Hotel Abbeyglen Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing