We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisure Break at the Ardagh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Ireland
14
Reviewed July 8, 2005

My husband and I have just returned from 3 nights B&B and evening meal at this lovely small family run hotel. Settled in amongst the lakes of the Conneamara in Co. Galway, this is excellent for the quiet break where attention is to quality and comfort with a friendly smile. The Ardagh Hotel had been recommended for its food and we were certainly not dissappointed. Food was excellent, with fresh own produce and with flavours which exploded the taste buds back into action. Servic was very professional and friendly - no pomp and ceremony to spoil the stay.
Friday night was a little livlier, with live piano in the bar. Definately one for recommendation. Go raibh míle maith agaibh!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 520 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed July 6, 2004

Stayed at The Ardagh in June 2004, having visited on two previous occasions in 2000 and 2002. Food and hospitality were excellent. The views and sunset across the bay are unbelievable. Monique was the perfect hostess with the personal problems of 2003 gone and her staff were very helpful and friendly. Will definitely go back again.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2003

The Ardagh Hotel could be an excellent venue. The food in the restaurant and the bar were excellent. The rooms were average. However, the service was lacking in professionalism and genuine hospitality. The owners were barely civil to one another and created much tension in the hotel. It would appear that it is not a happy place to work, and, consequently does not make for a happy place to visit. I'd recommend dinner and a drink, but to stay elsewhere.

7  Thank AMTGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, TX
11
Reviewed July 24, 2003

How amazing! The hospitality was wonderful! The setting was beautiful- so cozy, and yet very professional and classy ambiance. The staff really made us feel welcome- we can NOT wait to come back!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
313
Reviewed July 1, 2003

Had a drink in the bar, extreemly quiet, nice view, geared towards the senior age traveller.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2003

I am in two minds writing this. One half of me wants to keep the place a tight secret, so that we can always be sure of a booking. The other half wants to tell everyone how great it is. We first stumbled across the Ardagh by accident well over a decade ago, desperately looking for a place to stay at the end of a week touring Clare and Connemara. We fell in love with the Clifden area, and have returned to the Ardagh year after year. The location is perfect - beautiful Ardbear bay to the front, and to the rear, miles and miles of desolate moorland and the wonderful 12 Bens mountains.The hotel looks very ordinary from the outside, and indeed inside is not over-luxurious - but once you have stayed in a bedroms overlooking the bay (insist on a front bedroom!) and have experienced Monica's quite incredible cooking, you will be hooked. Without exageration, it is some of the very best food we have ever eaten - anywhere! Beuatifully cooked, bursting in flavour, imaginative without being pretentious, and perfectly presented.Perfection is a window seat on the first floor (second floor for our American friends) dining room, looking acrosshe bay through huge picture windows, atching a deep red sun sink into ocean in early summer (midsummer sunsets come very late in the West :). But take sunglasses - it can be dazzling - and perhaps a discreet pair of binoculars to watch the bird life and seals in the bay.The whole area is full of delights - such as dazzling white coral (yes, coral in Ireland!) beach only a couple of miles away.We have stayed in much grander and MUCH more expensive hotels around the world - but we keep coming back to the Ardagh. It just draws us back.Monica and Stefan - long may you prosper!!

6  Thank UK-EastAngle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Auch Zimmer zur Bucht und wenig befahrenen Strasse sind ruhig und der Ausblick ist traumhaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stevie_V11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
3.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
314 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
9.8 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
751 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Ardagh, Ballyconneely Road R341, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: $110 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small comfortable family run hotel with an award winning fresh local seafood restaurant, organic homegrown produce and magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardagh Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing