We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Traveled with my son. his wife and 4 year old boy. This was our second stop on a trip around Connemara.
From reception to departure we were treated as part of the family. We had a lively 4 year old who was accepted and made welcome.
Rooms, with a sea view, were a pleasure, well furnished and spotless. The bar and lounge areas were spacious and comfortable and with a lovely turf fire which made one feel at home. We had planned to go into Clifden after dinner but the comfort of the fire and bar changed our mind. Our fellow guests were friendly and talkative and added to our enjoyment.
Food was excellent and provided an excellent choice.
However nothing is perfect and we did have one gripe. The bathroom wash basin is extremely high and was difficult for the ladies for the ladies to use. I discussed with Stephane on departure and he provided an interesting explanation for this - you can ask him yourself.
We had a wonderful time at the hotel and my son is planning to recommend it to all his friends should they go to Connemara.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KakaduJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 520 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

The views magnificent Set in rocky seaside location Very comfortable Agreeable decor The owners and staff are charming, the service very good, the restaurant and food are memorable,we hope to go back there is good carparking, to find the hotel follow the road from Clifden sign posted for the golf club.

Room Tip: request one with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Ardagh hotel recently and throughly enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded to a sea view room and what a lovely view it was. The owners son checked us in and was extremely polite and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant which has a great view. The food was excellent, first class, and the background music was ideal. The hotel was clean and the clever little touches made the difference. Overall this is a top class family run hotel with an excellent restaurant and we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We made a return visit to the Ardagh over the Easter weekend and received our usual warm welcome from the owners, Stephane and Monique, and staff. This family-run hotel is a delight; the owners are genuinely interested in how you have spent your day and are ready to give advice on things to do and places to go in the area. The rooms are comfortable and kept immaculately clean, and throughout the hotel the attention to detail and little touches make a big difference.
The great attraction of this hotel is the restaurant which must provide some of the best dining in Connemara. The menu choice is excellent, fish and veg are always fresh and locally sourced, and there are clever variations on classic dishes. The Ardagh's famous seafood chowder is a special treat. Coupled with the breathtaking view over the bay it makes for a wonderful dining experience.
After dinner there is often live musical entertainment in the spacious bar area.
Thanks again Stephane and Monique for another great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view if available so you can watch the sun set over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I returned to this hotel for the Easter weekend confident again that the Ardagh would live up to expectations .It exceeded expectations.The owners are welcoming and professional setting the highest standards in quality of accommodation and food .The breakfasts and dinners are first class in quality and presentation .The atmosphere is relaxed .At times a combination of locals and residents produce a session in the bar but you can choose music or the quietness of the view
And the view ? There is nowhere better to watch the sun set than over the bay watching the water shimmer and swans glide past islands until the stars appear

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delahunty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this small hotel outside Clifden in summer 2012 with my partner. It's a good 15 minute drive outside the town so a car is essential. Luckily for us there is plenty of parking outside.
From the outside the building is a bit dated and inside it reminded me of the hotel from Twin Peaks, but please do not let this put you off! There is a charm to it that can only be experienced.
Monique showed us to our sea view room, which was requested, and it simply is beautiful. Even on a soggy wet Irish summers day.
The room was very large with a double bed, a small sofa and chair and desk. I didn't have cause to use the tv. The bathroom again was a little dated but everything was immaculate and the shower was incredibly powerful.

We didn't dine at the hotel, which from the menu appeared to be mid to high end gourmet fair, opting to eat out in town.

At night Stefan arranged for a taxi to bring us into the town. The nightlife is a bit surreal. If you're of the age, try out the local nightclub!! A note of caution, Clifden has about 4 taxis and at 3am it was very difficult to find one willing to go out as far as the Ardagh, so try book your return journey in advance.
As the hotel is in a rural area there is little scope for noise, other than passing traffic so it was a very peaceful night.

I would definitely return here if staying in the Clifden area.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Heretique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

From the first moment this hotel felt so lovely, warm, welcoming and absolutely charming. The restaurant was really good with great food and very caring staff. Situated on the edge of Connemara with beautiful bay views it was without doubt our favourite place to stay in this special part of Connemara. We will be back !

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lcollette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
3.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
318 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
6.4 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Clifden Station House
5.8 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
370 reviews
9.8 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Ardagh, Ballyconneely Road R341, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: $139 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small comfortable family run hotel with an award winning fresh local seafood restaurant, organic homegrown produce and magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardagh Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing