We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Foyles Hotel(Clifden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barry's Hotel(Clifden)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maol Reidh Hotel(Tullycross)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveler rating
407
92
19
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
92
19
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewturbotdining roomclifden areathis family run hotelseafood chowderbeautiful hotelopen firehope to returnfirst floorbreakfast and dinnerpersonal touchenjoyed every minutecomfy bedfriendly hotelwonderful staystayed nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 529 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Owners and staff were very friendly and welcoming. Bar was cosy. Too remote for us. Bedroom clean and large. However, it was quiet cold and felt damp. The room felt as if the heating had not been on all year. Water dripping all night in the attic was annoying and the toilet didnt work. I felt the food was over priced. I was disappointed overall.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubbled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife picked this hotel on the internet and after looking at the reviews including the highly rated restaurant, we decided to give it a go. Beforehand we had read some sparse negative reviews related to charging for guests rather than rooms, and some negative comments on the owners, so we were a bit intrigued. Needless to say, any negative comments were completely unfounded, the car-parking was excellent, we were met at reception by Monique the owner very pleasant and immediately carried our luggage and got us settled, offering movie CDs for the kids. The room was spacious and bright with a great view. The restaurant meal was unfaultable, fresh seafood all looked after by Stefan the owner, excellent wines, deserts, absolutely superb, as was the breakfast next morning. The bar has a grand piano and as I played a few songs Stefan took to the drums and we all had a good time of it. There was no problem whatsoever with checkout or the bill. The only minor criticism on our part was that the bathroom needs a bit of modernisation, a fan is definitely required as some traces of mould were gathering around the seams and the shower head was locked in one position. Other than that, really really good!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My partner and I spent a night at The Ardagh Hotel and we enjoyed the experience very much.
The view from the restaurant window is fantastic and dinner was very good; I didn't particularly like the pepper sauce but I guess that is a matter of personal taste. The bar is nice and cosy, comfy armchairs and sofas where you can enjoy a glass of wine in front of the fireplace with good music as soundtrack. It has an "old time" look that somehow work, it reminded me a bit of the Mad Man TV series!!!
Very good place to relax and enjoy the atmosphere.
Only fault I found was the hairdryer a bit awkward to use but, beside that, really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fergal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Out of the town, but who cares if you are half board (highly recommended). Lobster tank :-(( with oysters :-)). Excellent food with fantastic views across sea inlet. Good wine selection too. Multilingual staff. Rooms are nice if dated in decor.

Room Tip: Front of hotel has sea views
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkiingHeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed just for a night! this is great place where to stay and enjoy beautiful Connemara scenery! Lovely service and staff. Fresh and organic food! Will come back definately! Even in cold weather ocean is beautiful

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raivisjakans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews