We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It trully earns five stars.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“It trully earns five stars.....”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stumbled onto this little piece of heaven when we didn’t like our accommodations in Galway and drove to Clifden. Since this was rated #1 we chose this hotel. Large rooms, we opted for a suite, nicely decorated, large comfy beds that you don’t want to leave…..

We are stingy with 5 star ratings, but this boutique hotel deserves it. If you have ever had the fantasy of running your own hotel --- this would be it. Small, friendly, beautiful rooms, nice bar, and a fantastic restaurant.

When you first pull into the parking lot you think to yourself – “This is it – this is what everyone on TA is raving about?” Well my fellow travelers don’t judge a book by its cover…and don’t judge a hotel by its exterior. Come on in and see for yourself.

The bar is downstairs and is a cross between a local pub and a living room – warm and inviting.

The restaurant – wonderful food with a fantastic view, and we did not dine any place else.

Really discover it for yourselves…..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpazCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    74
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
76
240
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West of Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at this wonderful gem in the west of Ireland
It has everything for a luxurious relaxing time
All facilities are very near including many walks eg try the sky road walk
Golf for enthusiasts links course at ballyconneely is famous
On a fine day there is no more beautiful place to visit

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offaly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

For a room with a view, try and request a stay in room 10. It boasts beautiful views of the water and in the evening you also get to enjoy the wonderful sunset over the connemara coastline.The hotel has a personal touch all over, from the welcome on arrival from Max & Benjamin to the fresh flowers throughout the hotel. It really is the simple things that make a beak away memorable, great hosts, delicious food and a beautiful hotel. We hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OffalyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

What a hotel ! Loved it and wished we stayed longer than 1 night. It's the little touches that count, like the Max & Benjamin candles throughout the hotel and the big fluffy towels. Views from our room were fantastic, helped by the wonderful weather we had last week. Owners are lovely and friendly and genuinely enjoy what they do. They have time for everyone. I want to go back in winter now, where I can stay in the bar and Lounge for the night with winds and rain outside - you'll know what I mean when you see it. Location is easy for either taxi to town or driving. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is tops and it would be hard to find anything better on the West coast. Stefan and Monique are great hosts and they run a very professional establishment. The bedrooms are big, the beds are great, there is no noise and the atmosphere is most relaxing. Food in the restaurant is excellent and the sunset views over the ocean from the restaurant are stunning. Everything is well maintained and spotlessly clean. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomh226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our visit to Ardagh Hotel was most relaxing and enjoyable. We were in room 11 which has a panoramic view of the inlet and landscape! The weather was amazing as was the view of surrounding countryside. As a welcome we were served canapés ,smoked salmon on amazing nutty brown bread also , mozzarella ,tomato and basil bites. Dinner from ala carte menu had great variety nd our choice of turbot was perfect with starters of crab and steamers mussels equally enjoyable. Staff very helpful and attentive. Most enjoyable experience and a return visit is imminent !

Room Tip: Room with sea view great. Hotel doesn't have swimming pool or fitness centre so clicked in error...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deirdre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ardagh Hotel last weekend for 3 nights, we both loved it. The hotel is small and homely. The welcome we got on arrival was super and our room was really lovely, we didn't have a sea view but it didn't matter, the room was large and very nicely decorated and spotlessly clean, there was a flat screen tv and tea and coffee and even hot chocolate facilities in the room. The bed was so comfortable and each day after the room was cleaned our night wear was arranged nicely on the bed. The bathroom was big and the towels were lovely and fluffy. The breakfast was excellent, a lovely choice on the menu. We had an evening meal in the restaurant and it was really good, everything was so tasty and well presented. The view from the restaurant is beautiful. I believe its family owned and there is great attention to detail, all the staff are very friendly and helpful and always loads of information on where to go and what to see in the area. A lovely plus to the place was the fresh flowers everywhere. We loved this hotel and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernadette48Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
3.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
9.8 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
13.3 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Ardagh, Ballyconneely Road R341, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small comfortable family run hotel with an award winning fresh local seafood restaurant, organic homegrown produce and magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardagh Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing