We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centre of the Connamara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Centre of the Connamara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Ardagh was one of two Clifden hotels we had chosen from reviews in Tripadvisor. We hadn't booked anything and when we arrived at the hotel we were shown a lovely, large room at a very reasonable rate. It had beautiful inlet views so we checked in for the night.
We received very friendly, helpful advice on local sights, restaurants and pubs. Clifden is only minutes away by car and there is some interesting, quality shopping in the town. The pubs and eateries in town are indeed great value for food and entertainment.
Breakfast was delicious and served in the dining room with the same picturesque views.
Things were so good that we stayed for another night and we would liked to have been able to stay for longer. The Ardagh is ideally located to tour this magical part of Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJW52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    71
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
73
236
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed on a 2 nights B&B plus Dinner on 1 night basis in a second-floor room facing the bay The room was spacious and quiet with a sitting area and was well worth the extra. Food was excellent and the owners went out of their way to ensure that my wife ( a vegetarian who does not eat egg, fish or pasta) was well catered for. Staff were friendly and attentive. The Hotel is only a few minutes drive outside Clifden, but taxis are readily available if you are going to have a drink or two. Lovely scenic drives to Ballyconneely and beyond.

Room Tip: Go for a second-floor room facing the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank Invigilator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you read a negative review of this establishment -ignore it. Stephane and his wonderful team just provide what every traveller really wants -first rate hospitality ! Slightly out of town in a wonderful setting, the craic of Clifden's musical nightlife is still available only minutes away. However we found it difficult to stir from the peat fires in the bar and dining room of an evening - that's how cosy it is.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timthumb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Myself and my friends dined in the restaurant on Saturday nite....we had trouble contacting the Hotel to make a reservation but finally we got to make the reservation...We arrived at the Hotel unfortunatly the sun had gone down because the view from the hotel is really good....The Hotel has a nice feel to it....we were brought over to friends who were actually staying in the hotel and we ordered a drink my friend asked for a glass of either cabernet savingnon or chablis and we were rudly informed that that wine could not be sold per glass but sure you could buy and bottle and drink the rest at home which I thought was fairly rude and not very smart as the chances are my friend would have a few glasses anyway....so the female owner came over and took our order...and then a short time later we were shown to our table we had a gentleman looking after us I belive it is the other owner....I had the melon with ham to start and the chicken dish that was very tastie it was the last portion and my pal had to choose the duck instead thought being that the restaurant was fairly quiet it was unusual that it was the last portion left...the starter was lovelly main course very tastie and the wine was good until the waiter poured the chardonnay instead of savignon blanc..desert I had the sticky toffee pudding which was very heavy but nice...we were just finnishing our meal when we got word that the taxi had arrived and he was in a rush so we kinda had to hurry...all in all a good experience...but the location is amazing I never got to see the rooms but from the reviews they don't seem that appealing.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Strawberybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youghal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

WE stayed here about 6 years ago the rooms have been upgraded to a very high standard and the views from the front rooms are beautiful.The reason we came back was for the restaurant and the food here must be among the finest and best in the country.You get a very warm welcome from Stefan and the rest of his staff,so if you are thinking of going to the Clifden area this is the place to stay and eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hnnmrphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Ardagh Hotel was a wonderful place to stay. We stayed for two nights on our honeymoon and it was fantastic. The food was amazing, the best we had in all of Ireland. We enjoyed board games by an open real fireplace while feeling like we were at home. The owners were fantastic whether it was bringing up an ironing board or directing us to the hot spots in the town. We recomend anyone of any age to stay there as we are certainly going to make a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris area
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ardagh Hotel for 6 nights at the end of August 2012. We were welcomed by Sydney who immediately made us feel at home, and helped carry our cases upstairs. We booked a suite on the 2nd floor with sea view. For the small difference in price, go for a sea view room. The king size bed was huge ... and comfortable.

The sea view from the room and from the restaurant is simply amazing - almost hypnotizing.

We dined twice in the restaurant, which is very comfortable with good sized tables and excellent service (thanks Cynthia ! ;-) ) and the food is well cooked and nicely presented. We went for the 39.50 € set menu, a price which is fair in view of the quality, setting and service.

There is a very comfortable large bar/lounge on the ground floor with grand piano and real fire. Very cosy.

Wifi speed is about 11 Mb/s but the signal is weak in the rooms. In the longe areas it is strong. The wifi is free.

There is ample car parking space in front of the hotel. The drive back into town takes about 10 minutes, though (as has been previously mentioned on Tripadvisor) the road is rather narrow and not well suited for pedestrians.

Stéphane and Monique, the owners, go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Stéphane also has a great sense of humour and is a very interesting person to talk to. He recommended local drives and walks which we very much enjoyed.

Looking for an excuse to go back as soon as the opportunity arises!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christ0pher_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
3.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
9.7 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
13.3 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Ardagh, Ballyconneely Road R341, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small comfortable family run hotel with an award winning fresh local seafood restaurant, organic homegrown produce and magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardagh Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing