We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, comfortable friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ardagh Hotel for 6 nights at the end of August 2012. We were welcomed by Sydney who immediately made us feel at home, and helped carry our cases upstairs. We booked a suite on the 2nd floor with sea view. For the small difference in price, go for a sea view room. The king size bed was huge ... and comfortable.

The sea view from the room and from the restaurant is simply amazing - almost hypnotizing.

We dined twice in the restaurant, which is very comfortable with good sized tables and excellent service (thanks Cynthia ! ;-) ) and the food is well cooked and nicely presented. We went for the 39.50 € set menu, a price which is fair in view of the quality, setting and service.

There is a very comfortable large bar/lounge on the ground floor with grand piano and real fire. Very cosy.

Wifi speed is about 11 Mb/s but the signal is weak in the rooms. In the longe areas it is strong. The wifi is free.

There is ample car parking space in front of the hotel. The drive back into town takes about 10 minutes, though (as has been previously mentioned on Tripadvisor) the road is rather narrow and not well suited for pedestrians.

Stéphane and Monique, the owners, go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Stéphane also has a great sense of humour and is a very interesting person to talk to. He recommended local drives and walks which we very much enjoyed.

Looking for an excuse to go back as soon as the opportunity arises!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christ0pher_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 520 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Read the reviews on this hotel and decided to pull up and see if the had a room. We had a suite over looking the water, pure joy and wonderful to look out at as the sun came through first thing in the morning.

We were greeted by very friendly staff who were very attentive. The evening meal lived up to what I had heard, first class, ok over 100 euros for two but it was quality and the wine was good, something for all budgets.

The lounge areas were very good and comfortable, minor slip was the previous guest in our room had left her underware in the drawer and housekeeping had missed it no big deal but need to keep up the attention to detail.

Would return if in the area and would recommend this hotel

Jose and Wolfie August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Unfortunately we could only stay one night in this wonderful hotel but we will certainly be back. It has everything - magnificent views over the bay, beautifully furnished peaceful lounges, very friendly staff. The owners are charming and most helpful. Beds are so comfortable I had best sleep here in years! This hotel is a rare gem.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This turned out to be a really pleasant experience. We stayed only 1 night and ate in the restaurant. The room was at the rear of the hotel - not as nice a view as from the front but nothing to be critical about. The restaurant was full when we sat down for the 7pm dinner sitting. Unfortunately there was a very rowdy young child beside us at dinner and our infant daughter got quite upset at the noise. The hotel staff were so helpful and discreet. Without causing embarrassment to either us or the other family, they set up a table in an adjoining small lounge and served us our dinner there. Superb service! The meal itself was tasty, but the service made it an excellent experience.

Oher than that, the hotel is 3-star so we can't get too critical about some of the outdated decor or furnishings - but I do think the bathrooms could do with a bit of modernizing. Floor and ceiling covings could diminish the dated feeling, new sink stoppers could hide the view down the plug-hole. New lighting could enhance the impressions. These are trivial things.

The hotel is located in a gorgeous area - watch the sunset over a splendid lake wilderness through panoramic windows in the restaurant. Explore the areas and Clifden before or after your stay here - you won't be disappointed. Close by you'll find coral beaches worth a visit. A little further along toward Roundstone, you'll find Dogs Bay - Wow! Go for a swim and feel GREAT!

I recommend this hotel - don't expect 5-star, but enjoy what it does have to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view if available (front of hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dublinfiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Positives: Very good adjoining restaurant. Quiet location. Cosy common rooms. Helpful staff. Good breakfast. Spacious room.

The flip side: The room smelt stuffy and needs a facelift. Some of the towels had disgusting stains in them. Not enough rack space for towels in bathroom. We had to use earplugs due to noisy airconditioning (or some other gadget) in the restaurant kitchen which was located near the room. Worn out mattress. Little to non hot water from the shower at times. Grossly overpriced for the standard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jj77loves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We travelled from Dublin on a busy bank holiday Friday night so with bank holiday traffic and cattle crossings, we were very late getting to this hotel, also tired and hungry. We were greeted by the welcoming smell of a turf fire and very friendly staff who quickly organised food for us despite the late hour of our arrival. We dined in the restaurant on the second night and can recommend the lamb shank. Also discovered that all the vegetables are grown in the garden. Enjoyed our trip so much we decided to stay a third night. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look out onto a lake, rooms at the back look out onto a rock garden so great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deirdre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Ardagh Hotel and Restaurant was excellent for our overnight stay in Clifden. The hotel is about 5km outside of Clifden on the Ballyconneely Road, and has spectacular views. The hospitality was exceptional; really welcoming. We ate in the restaurant, which appeared very popular and bookings are essential. The menu was interesting, innovative and stylish. The food was delicious, as you would expect from a fine dining establishment. The comfort in our rooms was great. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Expect to pay around 80-100 Euros for a meal for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonh1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
3.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
318 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
6.4 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Clifden Station House
9.8 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
755 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Ardagh, Ballyconneely Road R341, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: $139 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small comfortable family run hotel with an award winning fresh local seafood restaurant, organic homegrown produce and magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardagh Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing