We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View is well-worth the drive there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“View is well-worth the drive there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Though the hotel is a little off the main road, it's located right next to the lake. We had a room facing it and enjoyed a gorgeous sunset! The room was comfortable and service excellent. We heard that the restaurant is an award-winning one. Unfortunately, we arrived too late the night before and it does not serve lunches. Hope to be able to come back here again!

Room Tip: Request for one that is facing the lake definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xuying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    71
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
73
236
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The West
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed at the Ardagh Hotel for one night in May this year. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was fantastic as were the relaxing beers by the open fire, if you like seafood you will enjoy the food at the Ardagh Hotel.

Saw a magnificent sunset from our bedroom window so I would recommend that you ask for a room at the front of the hotel. The bedroom itself was comfy and spacious, with everything you could need, there is also wif-fi available to guests. Also liked the location, a few minutes drive from Clifden so we could escape the town.

Overall found our short break in the Ardagh Hotel to be excellent and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank west_clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Despite the bad weather we thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay here in May this year. We chose the hotel as we have two Jack Russell terriers and needed somewhere pet friendly. Contrary to other reports we had no serious dog interactions. Room was good with a stunning view down the loch. The food was superb with wonderful views from the restaurant windows.. The lounge area downstairs is very comfortable and spacious with a nice big open fire. The area near the hotel is interesting with some potential good walks from the front door. Definitely a place to visit again if I was in area.

Room Tip: Try and get one overlooking the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway City, Ireland.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at the Ardagh Hotel recently (as part of a group of golfers) whilst en route to a round of golf at the Connemara Golf Links. From the moment we set foot in the Hotel, we were charmed by the friendly service, we loved the cozy, atmospheric bar with turf-burning fire and the fantastic sea views. We loved the living accommodation with big comfortable bed, sofa, tea/coffee making facilities, bathroom with powerful shower and big fluffy bath towels. We had lunch in the cozy bar, enjoying open crab sandwiches and a hearty chowder. As a group, we ate dinner upstairs in the main dining room which again enjoys the surrounding sea views. Everyone agreed the food was excellent. We finished up in the atmospheric, downstairs bar for a few drinks and more entertainment. Overall a great visit and a promise we will return...

Room Tip: Not all rooms have sea view so if possible, request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dejavu000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

My partner and I had the most wonderful 3 night break in this most lovely setting. The proprietors are warm and friendly and the staff are really helpful. The breakfasts and dinners were a pure culinery delight, with the dinners very reasonably priced. The proprietor is very knowledable and helpful regarding picking the right wines to match the beautiful cuisine. The view from the restaurant is stunning and it is lovely to relax in the most comfortable of bars after dinner. It is a perfect setting just minutes away from stunning walks with amazing views. All in all it was a pure treat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed at the Ardagh Hotel for two nights at the end of August/beginning of Sept --- it was the perfect ending to an 8-day tour of the west coast of Ireland. Definitely ask for a 2nd floor room w/bay view --- ours was spectacular, especially at sunset, and otherwise very comfortable & welcoming. The staff is very relaxed, friendly & very helpful, and the food is superb. The dining room has the same spectacular water views. Overall a wonderful experience & a great advertisement for the Connemara. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crsNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

The Ardagh is like staying at your Mum and Dad's - It's unbelievably comfortable, Stephane and Monique are very hospitable and best of all, the food is to die for. We have stayed in this hotel many times over the years and keep returning for more. The superior rooms on the top floor are worth the extra for the sitting room overlooking the bay. If you are lucky enough to see a sunset from the restaurant, the memory will stay with you forever!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a small sitting room looking out over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerrymulvaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
3.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
9.7 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
13.3 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Ardagh, Ballyconneely Road R341, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small comfortable family run hotel with an award winning fresh local seafood restaurant, organic homegrown produce and magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardagh Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing