We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best Hotel in Clifden???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Galway City, Ireland.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Possibly the best Hotel in Clifden???”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at the Ardagh Hotel recently (as part of a group of golfers) whilst en route to a round of golf at the Connemara Golf Links. From the moment we set foot in the Hotel, we were charmed by the friendly service, we loved the cozy, atmospheric bar with turf-burning fire and the fantastic sea views. We loved the living accommodation with big comfortable bed, sofa, tea/coffee making facilities, bathroom with powerful shower and big fluffy bath towels. We had lunch in the cozy bar, enjoying open crab sandwiches and a hearty chowder. As a group, we ate dinner upstairs in the main dining room which again enjoys the surrounding sea views. Everyone agreed the food was excellent. We finished up in the atmospheric, downstairs bar for a few drinks and more entertainment. Overall a great visit and a promise we will return...

Room Tip: Not all rooms have sea view so if possible, request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dejavu000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    74
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
76
240
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My partner and I had the most wonderful 3 night break in this most lovely setting. The proprietors are warm and friendly and the staff are really helpful. The breakfasts and dinners were a pure culinery delight, with the dinners very reasonably priced. The proprietor is very knowledable and helpful regarding picking the right wines to match the beautiful cuisine. The view from the restaurant is stunning and it is lovely to relax in the most comfortable of bars after dinner. It is a perfect setting just minutes away from stunning walks with amazing views. All in all it was a pure treat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed at the Ardagh Hotel for two nights at the end of August/beginning of Sept --- it was the perfect ending to an 8-day tour of the west coast of Ireland. Definitely ask for a 2nd floor room w/bay view --- ours was spectacular, especially at sunset, and otherwise very comfortable & welcoming. The staff is very relaxed, friendly & very helpful, and the food is superb. The dining room has the same spectacular water views. Overall a wonderful experience & a great advertisement for the Connemara. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crsNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The Ardagh is like staying at your Mum and Dad's - It's unbelievably comfortable, Stephane and Monique are very hospitable and best of all, the food is to die for. We have stayed in this hotel many times over the years and keep returning for more. The superior rooms on the top floor are worth the extra for the sitting room overlooking the bay. If you are lucky enough to see a sunset from the restaurant, the memory will stay with you forever!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a small sitting room looking out over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerrymulvaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have just returned from the Ardagh Hotel and would certainly recommend it to anyone who wants to feel welcome and relax. I suppose it is a little old fashioned but the sizeable bedrooms are spotlessly clean and well eqipped. The bathroom certainly is dated and the shower had a tendency to run a little cool from time to time, but the huge fluffy towels more than made up for it! The view from the bedrooms at the front was fantastic ! The food in the restaurant was to die for..... really fresh ingredients and really well cooked, complemented by a good wine list which was not overly expensive. Service was speedy and efficient and every need/request/whim was catered for. Breakfast was well prepared with a good selection. The dining room looks out over the bay and whether the sun was setting or the rain was streaming down, the view was stunning. All in all, a very enjoyable, relaxing experience and we certainly will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay view on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistylace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant truly offers a warmly inviting refuge for a single traveller!
I was stunned by the nature and the quality of the food, and I enjoyed lazy hours in the cosy bar with its soft sofas and fireplace.
This is a place to feel at home and to connect with co travellers from all continents.

Thanks Monique & Stéphane & all staff!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy.walkerNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We enjoyed every relaxing minute, at this most welcoming hotel. It was spotlessly clean and we are already talking about going back next year, thanks to all the staff for making us feel welcome and relaxed. Our nine year old cried a little in the car as we left I think that says it all. If you want a nice comfortable hotel a little outside Cliftden (3km) with lovely views out to the bay were you can relax then this what this hotel for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biggane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
3.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
9.8 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
13.3 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Ardagh, Ballyconneely Road R341, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small comfortable family run hotel with an award winning fresh local seafood restaurant, organic homegrown produce and magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardagh Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing