We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Foyles Hotel(Clifden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barry's Hotel(Clifden)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maol Reidh Hotel(Tullycross)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveler rating
161
101
48
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
101
48
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentre of towntransatlantic flightcentral locationstreet parkingresidents barnext morningcould not have been more helpfulroom was spaciouslovely hotelenjoyable staystayed here for one nightgreat weekenda lovely staysecond to nonedining roombreakfast was excellenttop class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 341 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

this is a very nice hotel. clean and nice rooms in the middle of centrum of this lovely city. a good breakfast. and very helpful and nice people working here, nice with livemusic in the bar, and a nice bar. i will get back to stay here in my next visit to clifden. once again a superstay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Magnus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We have been to the restaurant twice and the food was great. Seafood was really good, as well as the desserts. Staff was also amazing. Everybody was very friendly and available for every needs. I really enjoyed having dinner there. Will come back for sure!!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank vanatallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Myself and two others stayed at the Alcock and Brown this spring as we were participating in the annual Connemarathon. The hotel is easily located on the main thoroughfare in Clifden. We had a little bit of difficulty in parking (mainly due to all the extra visitors the Connemarathon attracts), but managed to get somewhere, not too far from the hotel. I have visited Ireland many times, and stayed at a few hotel, but I can honestly say that the Alcock and Brown staff was by far the friendliest. After a short mix up at reception (which was entirely my fault), we were shown to our rooms. Our triple room, was spotlessly clean, if a touch basic, but you really can't complain for the price. Once we got settled in, we had a drink at the lovely downstairs bar. All the staff we encountered on our trip were excellent, but the owners really went above and beyond, and had even put on special menus and earlier breakfast to accommodate the people running the Marathon.

We had a look around the town, which was about an hours drive from Galway, through some stunning scenery. The hotel is located right in the centre of town, next to all the local pubs and shops. On the first night we had dinner in the restaurant. The food was very nice and reasonable priced. Breakfast in the morning was excellent, with choice of full Irish breakfast, porridge, cereals, fruit and juices.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the local area, or doing the Connemarathon next year (it's only a two minute walk away from where you catch the coaches for the start line). We will definitely be returning if we ever visit that part of the world again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elcy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed weekend just gone and had a great stay. Hotel spotless and so are rooms. Food fab altogether. Declan and sharon are doing a fab job so helpful, kind and courteous and couldnt do enough for us.staff excellant so helpfuk. Great place to stay. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed for 3 days at end of March 2014 for a long weekend break. We are a couple in our sixties. Both Declan and Sharon the owners were so friendly and chatty.... it felt more like being among friends than being in a hotel. They gave us plenty of advice about where to go each day. Loved the breakfast each morning looking out over the town square. It was all so idllyic. But, and pay attention to this..... the evening meal is just so tasty..... done to perfection. It really is a wonderful experience. As for the bedroom, it also overlooked the town square.... we took that advice from other reviews. It is surprising how enjoyable it is to watch life go by. The showers were perfect. Finally I would say that I always judge the Reviews of Hotels by looking at the Bar Chart of the Reviews. This hotel has most reviews at Excellent and Very Good and dwindles down to a tiny minority who Complain. That speaks for itself. So well done Declan and Sharon. Looking forward to staying with you again.

Room Tip: Looking out over the Town square is very easy on the eye.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGreenNovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews