We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My second stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alcock & Brown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My second stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Alcock and Brown on Saturday the 13th July. Even after being married for +35 years the proprietor said that we were in the "Honeymoon Suite" (room 201). Declan has a sense of humour. Anyway the Hotel has recently been refurnished since our last visit and I must say to a very high standard, The only comment I might make is, air conditioning might come in useful as the temperatures during the night were about 20 degrees, although on reflection those temperatures are not the norm in Ireland.The staff as before were most friendly and helpful even though the restrauant had to cope with 60+ mouths to feed, we didn't have to wait too long. Unfortunately they did not have crispy duck this time around. My thanks to every one involved in making our fleeting stay a pleasure. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try the Honeymoon Suite (room 210)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinH796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Colin, thank you for your review. I'm off now to shoot the Duck, so it will be good and crispy by the time to get back !!!!! See you soon again. Regards, Declan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    90
    42
    13
    13
See reviews for
56
99
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here for a night and I would recommend it.liked it 2 years ago, some good re furnish net evident. Good value and good service.
Excellent evening menu and very good breakfast.
Central location and less than a minutes walk from conneelys bar where music is great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaSavageGrainge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Anita, hope you got home safely. Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your time here. See you again sometime. Regards, Declan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just returned after two night stay in Clifden. The hotel staff and location would be VERY hard to beat! Price was quite reasonable and the weather was (mostly) co-operative. We had a very pleasant stay and would return.
There is NO lift, if that is an issue -- It wasn't, for us. Hotel is only three (3) floors.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank remprimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Remprimo, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments. We hope to see you again. Regards, Declan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We were met by a friendly and charming host. The service was exellent and the room was clean and cosy. The location is perfect -right in the center of town, a short walk to the best pubs. Good afternoon- and eveningsessions nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Braathen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi Braathen, thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your short stay with us. Hope to see you again. Regards, Declan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just back from a 1 night stay at this hotel.Great location for exploring Clifden and its surrounds check out the sky road great views!!
Rooms were comfortable.Its an old hotel but its clean and the staff are good.
Breakfast was cooked fresh to order in the morning,i was a bit shocked to be served by a 12 year old,who was very pleasant and good at his job,but i thought it was a lot to expect of a child just finished national school.
The hotel is a good location for local bars and restaurants

Room Tip: Look for front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magnumsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi Magnumsue. Thank you for your review and happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you found our 12 year old son to be so competent. He enjoys his few hours during the summer months and is anxious to learn under the supervision of our senior staff. It is great for him to participate in our family business. Regards, Declan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent one night in this very friendly small town hotel. A little old fashion, made me think of holidays in the 70's, but I liked the quaint setting. Clifden is a nice small town in the Connemara region and a perfect place to stop and spend a couple of nights to visit the region. The room was spacious clean and comfortable and the hotel well placed in the centre of the town near pubs, shops and attractions. We had the set menu dinner in the hotel which was good and served by a very friendly and helpful Italian waitress. The staff was all extremely helpful, welcoming and friendly, and made us feel immediately at home. There is a car park just opposite the hotel in the shopping centre, but if you arrive after 6 pm there is plenty of safe parking in the street near the hotel. Lovely walk from the hotel down to the beach. The area around Clifden is enchanting, and the Sky road is not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiara59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Chiara, I am happy you enjoyed your time in Clifden. Thank you for your feedback. Hopefully we will see you again. Regards, Declan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here for about 2 weeks when I was working in the area... food here is great from breakfast to dinner rooms are lovely and fresh. .The staff here are very friendly and helpful overall a great place to stay . I hope to be back in clifden soon and ill definitely be staying here

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Patrick, thank you from all staff here for this review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon again. Regards, Declan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.3 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.3 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barry's Hotel
Barry's Hotel
#7 of 7 in Clifden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcock & Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcock & Brown Hotel

Property: Alcock & Brown Hotel
Address: The Town Square | Connemara, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcock & Brown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alcock & Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcock Brown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing