We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joyce's Waterloo House B&B
Ranked #37 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Virginia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We planned to stay 4 nights and ended up staying 6 nights - we felt like we had arrived at an amazing, friendly and comfortable home of a favorite aunt.. Waterloo house is an older but charming and comfortable guesthouse. PK and Patricia greet you like old friends and you get the sense they truly want your stay to be great.

We left outselves in the capable hands of PK about suggested places to visit and more importantly the best to way to get there. I know we got to see and experience much more with his help than we would have otherwise. Waterloo house was a welcoming place to come back to each day - large comfortable room and lounge filled with eclectic furnishings and lots of books. The place is spotless maintained.

Breakfast was delcious and plentiful - lots to choose from the cold buffet and menu of hot dishes. Loved the pancakes and brown bread. Patricia even gave me the recipe.

Since the property is a few minutes walk from town (10-15 minutes) its in a quiet area - off the main road. They had outdoor tables and chairs overlooking the garden for their guests to use - so relaxing.

Taking the time to chat with PK and Trish and their lovely daughters was wonderful - gives you a real feel for life in Ireland. That's why you stay in a B&B or guesthouse rather than a impersonal hotel.

Loved the Connemara area and plant to return to Waterloo House.

  • Liked — Homey and comfortable and spotless
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank SMLBARB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    11
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dixie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2008

After staying in several so-so B&B's and cookie cutter hotels, Joyce's Waterloo House was a breath of fresh air! Anyone not enjoying their stay here just needs to stay at home. In spite of their busy lives as host, hostess, greeter, receptionist, lawn and house maintenance, housekeeper, cook, and parents, PK and Patricia were delightful! Their daughters a special added treat.
The rooms were big and comfy, bathrooms equipped with everything you need. The common room is wonderful! The Joyce family has it stocked with many books about the area and also abroad. There are board games and a great TV for those lazy or rainy days when you would just rather hang around and lounge. The food...let me tell ya...MMmmmm. Patricia is a fantastic cook and it is always presented beautifully. We even had the honor of being treated to the youngest daughter, Aileen, homemade dessert! She is a chef in the making! The dining room is spacious and no matter which table you get, you are in for a feast. I didn't get a chance to make use of the outdoor hot tub, but I did take a look and plan on spending time in it my next visit. The grounds are well maintained and manicured. The flowers are beautiful. There is nothing to complain about with Joyce's Waterloo House except that your vacation is over and you have to leave. Thank you PK, Patricia, Aoife, Aileen, Mikado, and Tiger for making my stay the best!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank iamworthit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

We didn't find this place nearly as great as most other reviewers, but then we don't go expecting to make friends with the innkeepers.

Negatives were:

Very small room
Tiny bath (stamp-sized shower opens directly onto toilet)
Narrow, creaky hall
Overly hot at night
Very mediocre breakfast

It is odd as another reviewer mentioned that kisses and hugs are mandatory upon arrival. Kind of creepy.

Also, the nickel and dime charges for things like robes for the hot tub (which has gross soaked carpet surrounding it) were troublesome.

Very kitchy decor, lounge stuffed with furniture and featuring a blaring TV.

The only positive I can mention is that it is not very expensive, but you get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Room, food, atmosphere
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Travels_Mucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pkpj, Owner at Joyce's Waterloo House B&B, responded to this review, September 1, 2008
While we are very disappointed that reviewers plans did not work out as they wished, there is no doubt that a lot of the fault most certainly does not lie with Joyces Waterloo House in this case.

We make every effort from our Website to our Booking site requesting guests to tell us of special needs or any other problems they might have that we can clear before arrival and so was the case with this American family, that in not informing us of their needs that a lot of their issues arose.

Firstly, this American family made a request on original booking that their daughter must be directly across from parents bedroom which left us with only one option with the room arrangements. However, the greatest problem here was the family could have and should have informed us as to how big they all were.
Guesthouses are not Hotels, they are generally ordinary family homes with 7 or more bedrooms as is our case. However, when guests do inform us of any size, health issues etc, that they have, then we can allocate certain rooms that will suit their needs perfectly. And so it was in this case. If they had only informed us of how big they were then the issues as pointed out by this family would not have happened, its as simple as that.

Even if the family had happened to come an hour earlier than they did, we still would have had time to re-arrange the rooms and give them a far more spacious bedroom with larger bathroom that would have suited their size perfectly. It would have meant their daughter would not be directly across from them as requested, but we think that this would not have been an issue in our home, as she was about 16 years of age and all our bedrooms have locks as well as telephones.

There is a salutory lesson here for all guests to please, please, please inform any of the smaller lodging accommodation providers of any size or health issues they have when making their bookings, so issues such as this have no need to arise. We are only as good as the information we get from guests prior to arrival.

To points that reviewers have made:

01. It was I (Patricia) that met and greeted family upon arrival and hugged and kissed them.
Once again, all I can say is that if reviewers find such country hospitality so grotesque why didn`t they say before arrival that they did not wish to be greeted in such a European manner and their hugs and kisses problem would not have been an issue. We have to stress that until of late and in 11 years of business, we have never had such a complaint on our meeting and greeting.

As reviewer is an obvious Tripadvisor contributor and reviewer, then reviewer must have read other Tripadvisor reviews on us stating that this is how we greet guests on arrival. Surely then on reading all these reviews as to how we meet and greet guests, why did reviewer not inform us before arrival by e.mail that they did not wish to be greeted in such a manner.

02. There is no doubt to our mind that all the other issues the reviewer finds fault with, were based primarily on a room that admittedly was not designed to suit their size. Their request for their daugher and not informing us of their size is wholly behind that.

We state everywhere on our website that the house is 19th century and yes, because half of the older side of the house is timber there are creaks in the hallway, but this and other issues of complaint really stem from the fact about the size of the bedroom that really did not suit their size.

On the heating side of things, we always inform foreign guests as to how they can regulate the heat and always warn them that we are great believers in having the heat on and if they do not like heat, we show them how to turn the heat off. Room 5 also has a 5 x 3 foot window, (as well as 2 other smaller windows), that is designed to act like a door leading onto the outdoor balcony. Not only do we inform guests of this but it is also clearly written in the Guest Information folder on the bed. So we are baffled about the cheap swipe about being too hot.

As regards the quality of our breakfasts and dinners, we will let other reviewers on Tripadvisor speak honestly as to quality and quantity of our fare.

The decor of our home, a lot of bedrooms, our spacious sitting room, dining room etc, have all been correctly represented by many photographs as contributed by other reviewers as well as our own website. So reviewers reference to "kitch" etc etc, we find very mean spirited, as they would have found our home exactly as represented on all those sites. By looking at the photograph of our Sitting Room, you can see that it is far from stuffed with furniture but perhaps this is a personal opinion of reviewer that we can only answer with, "well look at the honest, clear and consise photographs" as taken by other independent reviewers.

It would have been nice if the reviewer had clarified how much they paid and what they got for their money. But as they havent, it is only fair that we are allowed to tell what this family got.

The reviewer booked in on a 2 B&B + 1 Dinner special offer at rate of Eur119.00 p.p.s. ....... When we remove all Government taxes etc,
they would have paid us Eur85.00 in total.
For this, the parents got one of the upper King bedrooms with balcony, bay window, sofa, bathroom with power shower, 21" tv, dvd/cd player, tea tray etc.
If we remove the price of their Dinner Special (Eur27.00p.p.) and subtract this from the Eur85.00 p.p....... then they paid us Eur53.00 for 2 nights B&B per person. In short, they paid Eur26.00 per person for bed and breakfast PER NIGHT!!. Yes indeed, the reviewer can take a cheap snipe at how much they liked the rates!!

For Eur27.00 per person, the review got for their Dinner: .......an Entree (5 choices) a Main Course (6 choices) , Dessert (6 choices) , Tea or Coffee, AND an Irish Coffee or Brandy to finish off the Dinner and ALSO included in his Eur27.00 bill was a half bottle of wine!!!! And no, they left no tip for staff!!

What annoys us most about this review is, a lot of "below the belt" swipes reviewer has taken at us were due to them absolutely not informing us of their size issues. If they did, they would have been happy and we would have been happy.

The Outdoor hot tub is exactly that, OUTDOOR!! . Once again, pictures/images on Tripadvisor and on our website clearly shows that it is OUTSIDE and has no roof, so clearly when it rains, then of course all around it is going to be wet. We make no apologies for the carpet that surrounds it, we had Timber Decking laid and it was so treacherous in wet weather that after some near misses, we removed it. We make no apology for carpetting which is a hell of a lot safer and to date nobody has slipped. We might also inform other readers that you don`t sit on the carpet to enjoy the Hot Tub, you sit IN the Hot Tub, a point that the reviewer has missed completely.

As pointed out by other reviewers who have used the Hot Tub, it is a fantastic relaxing experience and while the reviewer did indeed use the Hot Tub we can take it that his lack of criticising the actual Tub means they must have got SOME enjoyment out of it. The snipe at the Eur2.00 charge for the robes could have been more honestly reviewed, with the reality being that the Eur2.00 is a one off charge and they had robes for the duration of their stay with us for Eur2.00 only. The Eur2.00 simply covers laundry costs, nothing else and reviewer could have admitted honestly that the Information Folder in bedroom states quite clearly that...... "you do NOT have to take bathrobes and can use Hot Tub without same". Was it too much for reviewer to write this bit at least?

It would have been so nice if the reviewer had pointed out what they got for nothing!!!......... FREE dvd/cd player in bedroom, FREE vhs recorder and FREE access to dvd/vhs library, FREE WiFi that he used continuously and indeed FREE use of our PC which was used by one of his children more than once.

There is always 2 sides to every saga and all we can do with this saga is give our version. The reviewers have to take total blame for the room issues and all we can say is when booking any small premises just tell them of your size and we guarantee you won`t have problems. Either they can fit you in based on the information that you give them or they cant and you look elsewhere. There is no doubt to us that the room problem is behind all the other swipes at us and all we can do is point out how grossly unfair they are to us and our home.
Thankfully, we have lots of other more fairly balanced reviews that do describe our home with more honest opinions along with photographs as to verify lots of issues.

We have been a long time in not writing to address this review because we did not think that it was really worth our while, but so many people have told us we must because it is so unjust and hence all we can do is give our version of events.

P.S. The reviewers stayed in Room 5 with a 6`Kingsize bed and the photographs for this bedroom can be found on the 2nd series of photos on Tripadvisor under "Images". Room 5 is the bedroom with the brown throw on the sofa with TV on the right hand side. It is also on the 3rd series of photographs with the top 3 photos there being of Room 5 and its bathroom. We believe these give a fair reflection of the size of Room 5 and its bathroom.

Once again, all we can say is that a message under "Special Needs" box on the booking form would have saved us all a hell of a lot of grief.

We personally are not here to make friends either in the sense that the reviewer implies. What we do and have always done is go half-way with any guests and if they are prepared to go the other half, then we all have a fantastic time as people can read on other reviews. In this reviewers case, there was no way we could bridge that gap, but as we state above, they must take responsibility for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

A gang of us have travalled and participated in the Connemara Marathon since its inception over 6 years ago and can thoroughly recommend this unique run.

For the first 4 years we never returned to same hotel/b&b twice due to over pricing,low standards among a few moans but with Joyces Waterloo it was unanimous that we had found our 'Connemara home' for the run and so it is that this was our second year with Patricia and family.

Great care and attention from the moment you arrive until you hit back for home .Never mean with the heating ,food or attention to detail.Lashings of hot water,great entertainment and can never do enough for you.Early breakfast for the run -7am- and the best porridge this side of the Pecos! They even had spaghetti on the menu because some cyclists had told them how good it was for endurance athletes!!

After the run ,to sit in the hottub was just the tonic and then back into a warm toasty house a little rest and then downstairs to have the craic in the front room with all the other runners.For us there is no better place to park yourself if coming to Connemara for any reason, so if you do , be comforted in knowing you will get your moneys worth!

All the Gang - Ger ,Miah,Pa and D. and if we don't see you soon we will see you next year.

  • Liked — well above your average B&B
  • Disliked — the twit that messed with hottub controls!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank s7murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Clare
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

I booked this guesthouse based on the top reviews it received on this site. However, I was not at all impressed. The room was unbearably hot. Breakfast was tasty enough but definately would not set you up for the day! I felt that the owners lacked sincerity and were not one bit genuine. Hugs and kisses on arrival but on the day we were leaving I felt they could not get rid of us fast enough. We paid our bill and thanked the guy but he just walked off grunting 'your welcome'. We left wondering had we offended them in some way. We didn't expect (or want) kisses and hugs on departure...a simple Thank you and goodbye is not a lot to expect. Perhaps we caught him on a bad day which is no excuse when you are working in hospitality.

In future, I will stay in a hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — heat in the room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank acon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

My partner and I rented the entire house, for a long weekend, for our commitment ceremony. Patricia and PK helped with planning details, in the months prior to our arrival and immediately made us feel at home when we arrived, we could not have asked for more! We hosted 18 guests, at the guesthouse, and they all commented that they felt at home. PK and Patricia made our special weekend perfect.

The accommodations were wonderful; many of the bedrooms have views of the scenic front yard and woods across the street. The living room and dinning area is very welcoming, you immediately feel at home. It's a perfect location to explore the beauty of Connemara!

It could not have been a better experience! It's by far one of the best experiences I've had at a guesthouse!!

Jen and Liz

  • Liked — the great location and friendly hosts
  • Disliked — nonavailability of hot tub
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank jomalley72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Living in Galway city for the last few years we were a bit slow to take advantage of beautiful Conemara. Clifden town is a gem and the drive from Galway was filled with amazing scenery. The guest house was cosy, clean and spacious. We booked a king room which had a huge bed and good sized bathroom. We had a peek at other unoccupied bedrooms, all seemed to be a very high standard.
PK and Patricia, the guesthouse proprietors, were very friendly and warm. We felt like old friends instead of paying guests. PK offered to drop us in to town that night which was greatly appreciated as the weather was about to turn. We had a number of different breakfasts to choose from the next morning and the food was excellent quality. You could also opt for breakfast in bed.
I would definately recommend Waterloo house, great value for money and a warm welcome.

  • Liked — The friendly welcome
  • Disliked — The early breakfast but option of breakfast in bed!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank AMME3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.4 mi away
Clifden Station House
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
6.9 mi away
Ben Lettery Connemara Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clifden Town Hostel
Clifden Town Hostel
#5 of 14 in Clifden
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
All the Twos
All the Twos
#13 of 45 in Clifden
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dun Ri Guesthouse
Dun Ri Guesthouse
#11 of 45 in Clifden
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joyce's Waterloo House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joyce's Waterloo House B&B

Property: Joyce's Waterloo House B&B
Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic 19th Century Lodge with: King & Queen Beds, most rooms with 21" t.v., vcrs, tea/coffee, power showers. Large dining room with breakfast & dinner menus. Large guest lounge with open fire, small library, card & board games. Bike hire & superb 6 seater outdoor Hot Tub in elevated site. Free use of walking/hiking & touring guides of Connemara. Free private parking. Clifden Town 1km. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joyce`s Waterloo House Hotel Clifden
Joyce`s Waterloo House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing