We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Joyce's”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joyce's Waterloo House B&B
Ranked #38 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Living in Galway city for the last few years we were a bit slow to take advantage of beautiful Conemara. Clifden town is a gem and the drive from Galway was filled with amazing scenery. The guest house was cosy, clean and spacious. We booked a king room which had a huge bed and good sized bathroom. We had a peek at other unoccupied bedrooms, all seemed to be a very high standard.
PK and Patricia, the guesthouse proprietors, were very friendly and warm. We felt like old friends instead of paying guests. PK offered to drop us in to town that night which was greatly appreciated as the weather was about to turn. We had a number of different breakfasts to choose from the next morning and the food was excellent quality. You could also opt for breakfast in bed.
I would definately recommend Waterloo house, great value for money and a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank AMME3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 103 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2007

Exquisite - Simply Exquisite

It is the best way for us to describe a stay at our favourite B&B, Joyce’s Waterloo Guesthouse B&B.

We often read the reviews of fellow travellers on Trip Advisor, especially about Joyce’s Waterloo Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast. We are delighted to see that others also applaud the many virtues of staying at our favourite B&B.

We, like many other guests, are repeat visitors. Our first visit to Waterloo House was purely by chance. When we first travelled to Ireland, we often travelled without reservation for our lodging preferring to take our chances. We had planned originally to stay at one of the expensive hotels in Clifden. Upon arriving in Clifden from Galway, we saw Waterloo Guesthouse, a beautiful yellow house sitting on a hill away from the road with attractive gardens and immaculate lawns. My wife said that she liked the look of the house, that it had the look of a family home. We both immediately agreed that we should change our plans and check for availability. Much to our delight, they were able to accommodate us. We were delighted with our stay. Although our first visit to Joyce’s Waterloo Guesthouse was only for one night, it left us with a cherished memory that was to be the beginning of many more visits. Each time we go to Ireland, we make a visit to Connemara and, of course, stay at Waterloo House with Patricia and PK.

This year we travelled to Ireland for our seventh trip. We spent most of our trip in Connemara enjoying the Arts Week in September. Of course we had the additional benefit of being able to spend 10 days at Waterloo House We looked forward to staying with Patricia and PK as much as the trip to Ireland. They have created something exceptional in Clifden for travellers.

When you read the other reviews, you can see the many things that other visitors to this lovely B&B enjoy. We enjoy the whole experience.

We find the rooms to be fantastic. During our many visits we have stayed in different rooms. Each of them is elegantly decorated giving them a cozy homey feeling. They are nicer than any hotels rooms in which we have stayed. The rooms in the front have a bay window with a small couch which is still my wife’s favourite feature. She likes to read in the morning before breakfast. There are lots of little extras to make you comfy.

Dining at Waterloo House is a special experience. The dining room is beautifully decorated and has an atmosphere of its own. We especially love the tables by the windows. Whether having breakfast or dinner, it is great place to relax and enjoy your meal. The breakfast menu is the best that we have seen in our travels around Ireland. It has choices to satisfy almost any appetites. The Connemara Fry is my preferred breakfast. Dinner is also something to experience. The food is better than any that you will find in the restaurants of Clifden. Patricia’s cooking is genuine Irish home cooking at its best.

The living room is newly redecorated. It is a great place to relax in front of a fire and talk to your fellow travellers or simply sit and read a magazine.

For us, location is perfect for us. It is only a few minutes walk into the heart of Clifden. Yet, because it is on the edge of town, it is like being out in the country.

When you stay at Waterloo House, you get all the amenities of a hotel without having to pay hotel prices. You also get something that you will not get from staying at a hotel. When you stay at Waterloo Guesthouse, you get at feeling of belonging. That feeling comes from the hosts, Patricia and PK Joyce. Whether you are a first timer or a repeat visitor, you are welcomed like old friends coming home to visit. They genuinely care about you and your needs. They are always there to help whether they are just giving directions or making suggestions for local activities. I enjoy hill walking. During a previous trip, it asked PK for a challenging hill walk to suit my abilities. He immediately retrieved a guidebook and picked a walk for me. He gave me directions to the location and loaned me the guidebook. It turned out to be most exhilarating walk I have ever done in Connemara. It is a day that I will always remember. Thanks PK. For us, staying at Waterloo Guesthouse is like having a home in Connemara with family there waiting for us.

I could probably ramble on for paragraphs about Joyce’s Waterloo Guesthouse and B&B but the best thing you can do is to treat yourself and experience Waterloo House. You will experience the best of Irish hospitality.

As they say, you have tried the rest, now try the BEST.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank MISENOMISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

Since several years we try to go once a year a long weekend to Ireland. After a stay of a few days in Tralee in October 2007 we decided to visit Connemara. For the first time we booked a Guesthouse B&B in stead of a hotel. Without looking into the reviews we booked the Joyce's Waterloo Guesthouse because the pictures looked well and the price was reasonable. Both evenings we used the dinner facilities. We had good, very good, meals before in Ireland but what Patricia and P.K. managed to put on the table was amazing and that as well in the evening as in the morning. Joyce's Waterloo Guesthouse is not a simple guesthouse or a B&B, with Patricia, P.K. en their lovely doughters and cats you feel at home.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank EmmChrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

My husband and I liked Joyce's Waterloo for the great breakfast, decent location, and helpful owners. Our room was also really nice--large bathroom, sitting area, nice views. I have to say that it didn't meet my expectations based on the reviews on this page, but that didn't mean it wasn't a pleasant stay. PK had a lot of recommendations and really made an effort to help us plan our activities during our stay. We found his advice to be mostly right on, but we were also glad that we did some of the things we had picked out on our own. We never saw the hot tub and the walk into town was pretty long--20+ minutes and we're in good shape--but overall this was a good value and we'd probably return.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SendMeSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

I LOVE THIS PLACE!! This is my third trip to Ireland and I would not even think of staying anywhere else! Patricia, PK, Aoife, Aileen (and Mikado) make the time spent here more than memorable. Beautiful grounds, wonderful rooms, delicious meals, terrific company....everything is perfect. Our 3 day stay turned into the best eleven days of our trip. Next time, we are just going to stay at Joyce's forget all the others.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank bforshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

Not much need to clutter the site with more of the same. Just let me agree with all of the positive reviews and comments. Cannot imagine anyone who stays at B&Bs not being satisfied here.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank UncleBenny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We returned to Clifden and Joyce's for a second time this summer, following our previous visit last year which was highly enjoyable. Sometimes returning after a previous wonderful experience can be disappointing, but at Joyce's things were just as great as the first time around. Location-wise the Joyce's is very well placed for someone who wants to enjoy the beauty of Connemara, and it is indeed beautiful and serene. As for the Joyce's, we cannot think of a better place to call a "home away from home": friendly, comfortable, cozy, well-maintained. Patricia and P.K., though busy with daily chores, are very hospitable and really try to treat each guest with that personal touch of attention. Breakfast is tasty and pleasant (love that dining area, spacious and not crowded, with a nice garden view), tips on travel/fishing/good times are offered, as is a cold Guinness just when you need it. The room overlooking the garden is comfortable, with a big double bed, DVD and good movies. Go raibh maith agat, and keep up the good work, guys, we shall be back !

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mikrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
4.9 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
314 reviews
1.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clifden Station House
1.2 mi away
Clifden Town Hostel
Clifden Town Hostel
#5 of 16 in Clifden
74 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joyce's Waterloo House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joyce's Waterloo House B&B

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: $37 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic 19th Century Lodge with: King & Queen Beds, most rooms with 21" t.v., vcrs, tea/coffee, power showers. Large dining room with breakfast & dinner menus. Large guest lounge with open fire, small library, card & board games. Bike hire & superb 6 seater outdoor Hot Tub in elevated site. Free use of walking/hiking & touring guides of Connemara. Free private parking. Clifden Town 1km. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joyce`s Waterloo House Bed And Breakfast
Joyce`s Waterloo House Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing