We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST CAMPSITE EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Me and my mum, dad, 6 year old bro & 4 year old sis went to Cliffden Eco. We had horrible weather but we still had brill time, friendly people great location, and the scenery gorgeous

We loved it so much that we're going again this weekend

Stayed: May 2013
7  Thank Juliette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 436 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

Spent 3 nights over the Easter weekend, in this beautiful campsite.. the owners are always on hand and very helpful and friendly.The showers are hot and spotless...but the highlight is the stunning beach...amazing. The children loved it and the campsite is very dog friendly. A blissfully relaxing few days..thanks Chris and Tatjana.. we hope to be back..

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IrisMur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Arrived on Good Friday afternoon at this lovely eco campsite about 9 klms from Clifden village. The long dusty road that leads into the camp site is narrow and snaky but well worth the effort. We were very impressed to be welcomed so warmly by Kris and Tatyana Acton, a lovely touch that is very rarely seen. We travel all over the country camping but this is the only time we felt truly welcomed. Everywhere in the site was spotless and though there were loads of dogs it was completely quiet at night, nothing but the lapping of the waves, what more could you ask for. If you are looking for luxury then this is not the place for you; it's basic but absolutely faultless. Everything is recycled. If you like cycling there are fantastic cycling routes to follow and the campsite has bikes for hire. The village of Claddaghduff is only a short distance by car and bike where you will find a shop/post office and pub. You have to experience this wonderful place so my advise is to come along and experience it for yourself. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M-P7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

A beautiful setting. We were blessed with good weather on our trip through Connemara and we were delighted we arrived at the campsite. The campsite is on the beach in a stunning location, it is sheltered and the facilities are excellent. Tatjana was very welcoming when we arrived. It is close to Clifden and definitely worth a visit if you are in that part of the country.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colum C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Clifden Eco Beach was by far the highlight of my adventure in Ireland. The campsite was so clean & beautiful. When we arrived in Clifden we were picked up with no problems at all and brought to the site where we got to pick out the spot that we wanted to camp (all beautiful choices)! We camped for 3 nights and definitely could've stayed longer. The amenities were always clean and the fact that we got free tea and coffee was so sweet. Perfect for a chilly night! The beach was beautiful & the views were outstanding. We hiked over to Omey island right beside the campsite and had a wonderful time exploring that as well. If I am ever in Ireland again, Clifden Eco Beach campsite is where I will stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayleywlsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

This was by far the coolest campsite I have ever been to! It was the perfect balance of being close to nature and still having access to electricity and bathrooms. The views were astonishing and the couple that owns the campsite was extremely kind and helpful. Everything was clean and I couldn't have asked for anything better!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emcgib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Why go abroad when you can go to Clifden Eco Beach Campsite in Connemara? I must admit that we were very lucky to be there for the hottest 2 weeks in July last year, but no matter what the weather, we always have the BEST holiday here. Kris and Tatyana Acton, the campsite owners are always at hand for any help you might need, and they've also added 2 new toilets, a shower, and a kitchen to their facilities, which are always kept spotlessly clean. Last summer we were able to go swimming and diving off the rocks nearly every day, or go out on the inflatable boat. It's also a great place for fishing, or long walks. In the evenings you can have a barbecue using the Eco friendly fire pits and wood you can buy from Kris, while you watch a fabulous sunset..This is truly an idyllic spot, and we have already booked to go back again this year, and hopefully for years to come. I would highly recommend this campsite...book now!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Nuala U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
6.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
5.3 mi away
Clifden Town Hostel
Clifden Town Hostel
#5 of 16 in Clifden
74 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
6.2 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park

Address: Claddaghduff Road, Wild Atlantic Way | Clifden Connemara Co, Galway, Clifden WAW, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Clifden
Price Range: $41 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Clifden's unique ecological natura campsite is Ireland's first Climate Neutral ecoCampsite, nestled amongst the sand dunes on the western fringe of Connemara, Co. Galway. It boasts beautiful panoramic Atlantic seascape views from its own secluded private beach. Here a true natura camping experience awaits. Ecological & spacious on eight hectares of coastal Machair habitat bio-diversity that interconnects the wonderful West Connacht Coast SAC, a Special Area of Conservation for Bottle-nosed Dolphins. Ideally situated on the shores of the 'Wild Atlantic Way'. Just ten minutes from Clifden town & two minutes from the small scenic village of Claddaghduff between the beautiful Atlantic ocean & the majestic Twelve Bens mountain range that forms part of the 'Connemara National Park'. Only a short distance away, it features fantastic designated trekking routes. Here one can gain a unique understanding of Irish bogs & the ecosystems they support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing