We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portadown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here last year and just loved it. The location can't be surpassed. The facilities were basic; two loos and one shower for whole site, but they were always clean. Our only moan would have been the shower running hot and cold. Chris said that 2012 would see the addition of male and female toilets plus a campers kitchen.

We couldn't wait to return again this year. But we were so disappointed. The facilities are still the same, but no where near as clean and the shower still runs hot and cold. Towards the weekend the site about 25 tents/campers/caravans and started to feel over crowded especially the two toilets.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dor i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    38
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
128
163
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Spent a weekend here recently & thoroughly enjoyed it. Proper camping in a stunning location. Chris was very welcoming & helpful. The site is well kept, private, loads of space to chill out & a beach that could give the Adriatic a run for its money. An extra shower or two would be great but it won't stop me going back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccoma66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

For our second trip to Actons we decided on a week long stay. Simplicity and wilderness. You just can't beat it. Will be returning again in August. Can't wait.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallaght, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

'Wild camping' on the beautiful coast of Connemara with a blazing fire-pit and the campsites own private beach... We had a fantastic time, Kris was so helpful and welcoming and my little boy had a great time exploring with Kris's kids. Toilet and shower facilities were absolutely spotless, we had a choice of pitches, choosing the most sheltered as the winds were fairly strong during our stay! Campsite was great for kids, crab catching and fishing down by the beach, very quiet family-friendly atmosphere. Despite the long drive from Dublin it was worth it, and I have no doubt we will be returning in future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sullivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I was expecting to wake up each of the four mornings that I stayed at Acton's Ecological Caravan and Camping Park, to meet with Bilbo Baggins from Lord of the Rings fame.
The idyllically laid out carved camping areas lends more to a scene from the blockbusting film/book with its snug naturally formed embankments offering protection from the best that the Atlantic weather has to offer. One particular day there was a torrential rain fall. Such is the soil type on this site that it remained dry with absolutely no muck or bogging anywhere.
On a very unique point. While performing your ablutions or taking a shower you will be treated to the best of classical music drifting through the wash/restroom area. Interesting.
I set up here as a base for fishing in the Connermara area. The site is about 6 miles from the Clifden town where you can purchase most of your provisions. There is also Sweeney’s shop/garage and pub about 3 miles in the other direction.
Site owner Chris is a gent and goes out of his way to welcome you, get to know you on first name terms and does all he can with his help and advice.
The only thing lacking is a camper’s kitchen, which Chris says he has in hand.
Hopefully when I return in August for a few days that’ll be in place.
What an amazing place to stay.

Room Tip: If camping bring a windbreaker
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joeb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I didn't think places like this still existed, proper camping and a feeling of wilderness.
This is not your usual "sardine" camping experience as our host Chris put it :)
Chris is a star and nothing is too much trouble. Chris walked around all day making sure the tents were staying put and constantly adjusting guy lines etc. while people were away.
I forgot to bring a basin with me (schoolboy error) and Chris supplied us with a bucket FOC. He also gave us a concrete tube for using our BBQ so we didn't burn the grass.
There is only one shower, two sinks and two toilets but these are kept extremely clean and there is always a plentiful supply of hot water to the shower. The private beach is amazing, nice white sandy beach with crystal clear water. Unfortunately it was raining for 24 hours on our arrival so we didn't get to use the beach but when we were leaving it was sunny and the beach was stunning, there are also other small coves further up the coast that you can walk round to with care. The highlight of the trip was when Chris came over to the tent to say that there were dolphins jumping in the bay if we were interested! Everyone at the camp went down to the rocks to watch and although short lived it was a fantastic experience. You can get a 10% discount for Kylemore Abbey and Victorian walled garden about 25 mins away which is definitely worth seeing, Clifden is the nearest large town about 10 - 15 mins away. We had a great Sunday lunch in a restaurant called Off The Square, it has a nice homely feel and good basic home cooked style food, delicious. If there were any problems it would have to be the midges, wow! These little guys do not give up and there were millions of them thankfully we brought a lot of insect repellent but they were still annoying. I think they were worse because it rained so much the day before. This is not a fault of Acton's though as we found Kylemore Abbey's midge population 10 X worse to the point were we only spent 10 minutes in the walled garden before leaving.
If you enjoy wild(ish) camping you will love Acton's I cannot recommend it highly enough (apart for the midges which I am sure are not always there)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wizziwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My partner and I made the long journey from Dublin to stay at this site, largely because of it's Eco-camping credentials. After driving through the breathtaking Connemara landscape, we arrived at this little corner of paradise, and couldn't believe it when we were able to camp right on the coast, in what the owners described as the 'honeymoon suite'! We received a very warm welcome, and appreciated the fact that the owners deliberately avoid overcrowding the site, so we and the other guests had plenty of room to ourselves. The unique sand dune environment is perfect for camping as there is plenty of natural shelter, and the ground did not become waterlogged or muddy even in the fairly heavy rain we experienced! Add to this free hot showers, free wifi, and the free use of a freezer for you ice blocks, and not to mention the excellent pubs and restaurants in nearby Clifden a 10 minute (€10) taxi ride away, and you have the best of both worlds to enjoy! We cannot wait for our next trip very soon! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
6.2 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
6.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
257 reviews
5.4 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
8.0 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
708 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park

Property: Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park
Address: Claddaghduff Road, Wild Atlantic Way | Clifden Connemara Co, Galway, Clifden WAW, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Clifden's unique ecological natura campsite is Ireland's first Climate Neutral ecoCampsite, nestled amongst the sand dunes on the western fringe of Connemara, Co. Galway. It boasts beautiful panoramic Atlantic seascape views from its own secluded private beach. Here a true natura camping experience awaits. Ecological & spacious on eight hectares of coastal Machair habitat bio-diversity that interconnects the wonderful West Connacht Coast SAC, a Special Area of Conservation for Bottle-nosed Dolphins. Ideally situated on the shores of the 'Wild Atlantic Way'. Just ten minutes from Clifden town & two minutes from the small scenic village of Claddaghduff between the beautiful Atlantic ocean & the majestic Twelve Bens mountain range that forms part of the 'Connemara National Park'. Only a short distance away, it features fantastic designated trekking routes. Here one can gain a unique understanding of Irish bogs & the ecosystems they support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing