We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park
Nearby Hotels
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alcock & Brown Hotel(Clifden)(Great Value!)
$91
$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barry's Hotel(Clifden)
$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Foyles Hotel(Clifden)
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maol Reidh Hotel(Tullycross)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveler rating
374
39
13
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
39
13
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomey islandfire pitprivate beacheco beachcrystal clear watercamper vanfellow camperslow densitybeautiful campsitehighly recommend this campsitesheltered spotgreat pitchcamp kitchencampsite ownermobile homeclean facilitieswhite sandy beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 438 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Wah, what a spot. The views are stunning, the site, though fairly large has a limited number of pitches so everyone has plenty of space & the facilities clean & tidy. Being so close to the beach means a dip in the sea is only yards away from your tent. Kris & family are just lovely & very helpful. A perfect retreat from reality for those of us not fortunate enough to live there!
Could possibly do with another shower but it's not a major problem! Could do with a pot washing sink

Helen, Cumbria

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Exactly what you want from a wild natural campsite and more. Some reviewers though positive suggest little adjustments and improvements but I think it's perfect exactly as it is. You can't expect a "wild camping" experience to have his and hers showers, or you can't expect the owner to have to amend signs to suit people who can't figure out for themselves what to do with their chemical waste. From the first time I visited, the owner Kris was completely down to earth and helped us out wherever he could. A friendly relaxed owner makes for a friendly relaxed camping experience. Then you walk to the beach which could typify more the beautiful coves and bays of west galway. With the dunes of marram grass (learnt that name while there) surrounding every pitch and the uncompromising refusal of Kris to over book the campsite, a wild camping feel will be assured. Clean and humble toilets and shower with comforting and sometimes convenient noise covering music also add to your relaxation. Great snorkeling or diving, from seaweed cover rocks sheltering various species of fish to clear spots of sand speckled with sea urchins and patrolled by the occasional dogfish. The first time I went in 2010 the fishing was almost too good, after 10mins we had 7 mackerel and had no need to keep going. This will vary depending on the time of year. However on the rear shore lug worm are plentiful so the patient bait-fisher will have his needs satisfied. The surrounding area is beautiful with many places and nature walks to find. Though we found no desire to leave the site as it had all we wanted. Delicious filtered water on tap which I can only describe as liquid air (use your volvic or evian to do the washing up and refill the bottles with this. To sum up, it has all you need if you want that wild experience with a little extra comfort and friendly face to greet you. For kids it's as safe and secure as your own backyard (assuming your backyard is very safe and secure. I wish i had this place all to myself but then Kris would make only about 100 quid a year and I wouldn't want that.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timmeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This is the 4th year in a row we’ve been to Acton’s Eco Beach Campsite Clifden– need I say more – well I’m going to.
This site spoils you for many others; never mind the scenery, you are camping on sandy soil which grows marram grass and wildflowers but not rainwater puddles. It’s never Wellie time here, the water drains through and comes back as some of the sweetest drinking water I’ve ever tasted.
Look out to sea and you can see Omey and the other islands, turn around and the
backdrop is the Twelve Bens – think Snowdonia.

The site encompasses a white sandy beach which has clear water ideal for mask and snorkel. If you want surfing there is a beach on the other side of Clifden.

My wife would like it known she snores, and so you should stay away. However, given the distances between plots it will only be me who will hear & snore along too
Roll on our 5th!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The beaches here are brill plus a really nice pub which is walkable. Kris just needs to put up a few more signs about where to put grey water and empty chemical toilets etc. We found people washing up direct out of the fresh water tap!
If you want a 'green' site you really need to sell a green toilet product!
Be really nice when there are separate showers etc

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiona20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We visited this campsite 16 Aug - booked for 1 week. However, due to an almighty storm we had to cut our journey short as our tent was flattened - Not the site's fault, however, it is something to take into consideration when booking - The Connemara coast is know for its inclement weather and strong winds - Don't go if your Tent can't stand up to wind.

The 3 days we did spend there were fantastic though. Our spot was fantastic, not crowded at all. What everyone writes on here is true. We were just gutted our trip was cut short. the first 2 days the weather was glorious and we just sat around, fishing, reading and chilling out and therefore didn't get to see any of the surrounding area. A trip into Clifden for some shopping a visit to the Pub was all we managed to do - Which was great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gilly12499520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews