We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere and food”
Review of E.J. Kings

E.J. Kings
Ranked #6 of 36 Restaurants in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Tacoma, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere and food”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We ended up climbing the stairs to the top of the building - wondering if it was worth it ... it was! Great food, great service, good atmosphere ... will go back when I'm in Clifden again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 185kateb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna F, Public Relations Manager at E.J. Kings, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Kate B,

Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed you visit to EJ Kings.

The team here will be delighted to read such a great review.

Hopefully we will see you again very soon.

Many Thanks
Joanna Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    262
    76
    31
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Traditional Irish Pub”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A busy little pub in the center of Clifden. They have a 3-piece band playing Irish music in a corner, a fireplace with a nice fire going, standard pub grub and a constant flow of people coming to eat. We've eaten there twice over the past two years and find it to be more than acceptable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna F, Public Relations Manager at E.J. Kings, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Steve E,

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are delighted you had an enjoyable experience in EJ Kings.

I will be sure to pass you comments on to all the team here.

Hopefully we will see you again very soon.

Many Thanks
Joanna Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Upstairs-Downstairs”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Most people stop in the busy pub downstairs and, on a recent 10 day visit to Clifden, we had a lovely lunch of lamb stew, brown bread and Guinness while we listened to True North from Portland, Oregon (yes!) playing as part of the annual Arts' Festival.
However, it is the restaurant on the third floor upstairs that really shines. If you are lucky enough to get a window table, you can see all the comings and goings of Clifden. The food and the service were both excellent and the hostess/ server could not have been more friendly and accommodating. We had two equally wonderful dinners here. The first starters, my husband had prawn egg rolls and I had brie fritters. Both were delicious with wonderful sauce and small salads. Hubby had the sea bass main course and I had exquisite salmon. Both were cooked to perfection with many side vegetables and, of course, potatoes. Apple pie and fruit crumble were the icing on the cake. For our second dinner, my husband opted for those prawn rolls again and I had a hearty seafood chowder. Our entrees were lamb shank and steak and chips. The steak was melt- in -your mouth tender. (The Irish know how to grow beef!) We were both too full for dessert. Again, impeccable service AND good wines. Be sure to venture upstairs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Drink expensive”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

It was very quiet the night we were in this pub and there was live music which was passable. Drinks were expensive though and we paid at least one euro per drink more than we would normally pay..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mayo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna F, Public Relations Manager at E.J. Kings, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Mayo 55,

Thank you for your recent review. We are very disappointed you did not have an enjoyable experience on the evening you visited EJ Kings. The music in EJ’s is something we get a lot of great comments about so it is surprising you did not enjoy it on the night.

Hopefully this does not deter you from returning in the future.

Many Thanks.
Joanna Fitzgerld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Food and atmosphere were great!!! We found this place late one day and wished we would have found it sooner. We ordered a few appetizers and drinks - mussels, fried brie, and seafood chowder. So very good!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna F, Public Relations Manager at E.J. Kings, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Elizabeh552,

Sincerest thanks for your recent review. Happy Customers are what we strive for and we are delighted that you enjoyed you visit to EJ Kings.

Hopefully we will see you again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Joanna Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed E.J. Kings also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to E.J. Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing