We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub in Clifden”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of E.J. Kings

E.J. Kings
Ranked #6 of 33 Restaurants in Clifden
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great pub in Clifden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

The food was superb; taste, presentation, and value. The staff was helpful, accomodating, and fun. Located right on the square and close to everything.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kzpeiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    237
    71
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Had bar food one evening last week here. I order the beer batter cod and my husband had the home made burger. Both came with french fries, salad and a variety of dips & sauces. Both were freshly cooked and very tasty. There was one person behind the bar who took orders for food, drink and everything in between. He as extremely friendly and efficient and added to the wonderful atmosphere of the place. By the way the guinness is not too bad either!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna F, Public Relations Manager at E.J. Kings, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Fredbetty,

Thanks you sincerely for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to EJ Kings. I will pass on your comments to the team here in Ej's. They will be delighted.

Hopefully we will see you again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Joanna Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyable Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We visited Kings for lunch after walking around the town trying to decided where to go to eat. It was a very good choice. My husband had the combo open sandwich which was both crab and smoked salmon on brown bread and a salad. I had the hot smoked salmon and cream cheese wrap and salad which was to die for. My husband also really enjoyed his sandwich too. The service was very good too. We hope to return Clifden.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nanacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Lydon_SweeneyGroup, Public Relations Manager at E.J. Kings, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear nanacos,

Wow thank you so much for your great review. The team here will be delighted to read your comments. We most definitely look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kind Regards,
Joanna Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
113 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a few Guinness and then ordered a few appetizers to share. Everything was great. There was a guy (kid?) singing and playing a guitar for most of the afternoon and we could listen to him all night. Service was a bit rare, but they were busy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NDMorrison06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A friendly bar with free wifi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This pub lacks a little of the character of some other bars in Clifden, but it's friendly and a good place to get a bite of lunch. There is live music on a Saturday night, plenty of screens to catch up on news or sport, and free wifi. Always helpful! The staff are friendly, and the food is reasonable. It's a little short on vegetarian options, although my veggie friend rated the goats cheese pasta highly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BelfastAussie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed E.J. Kings also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to E.J. Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing