We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but good”

Cullen's Bistro & Coffee House
Ranked #4 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Clifden
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Small but good”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We ate at Cullen's several times during our 3 day stay in Clifden. It is a small restaurant on one of the two main streets in the town, it is family-run, the servers (family) are pleasant and attentive and the food is superior quality at bargain prices. The lamb stew was particularly memorable: the lamb was cut into smaller pieces than I have seen elsewhere and was very tender and flavorful. The broth had very little, if any, flour thickener. The broth was just out of this world. The side salad had abundant fresh vegetable. The vegetable soup had more flavor than most others we've tried. The homemade deserts were a notch above what we have had at other good restaurants: we had carrot cake and whiskey cake - both were scrumptious. The restaurant space is small but pleasant; there are half dozen or so tables. The tables near the windows are good for people watching. Prices are quite reasonable relative to the quality of the food and service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BABASMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    36
    16
    11
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandybie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Glad to find Cullens!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our meal was delicious, beautifully presented by our happy friendly hostess; our overnight stay on Saturday 4 August 2012 in the Cullens B&B upstairs was very enjoyable; beautiful well-appointed room & a dream of a bed.
We'd go out of our way to stay here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will leave no room in your belly”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Rather than wait at Mitchell's and be treated as though they are doing you a favor, I recommend this cozy place, where the food is wonderful (especially the Irish stew), the other diners friendly, and the sound level low enough to read or think. Just cash though, no credit cards.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank roger712603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Cakes from another time”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We just had cakes and coffee here. The lady was lovely and she served us straightaway our choc fudge cake and the wiskwy cake. Both very traditional, no frills cakes, both quite good, although the wiskey cake was maybe a little too spongy. In the bad weather it was really a soulwarmer to find this place and I was simply fascinated by the (probably unintentional) retro atmosphere

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank silviaaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely staff ,great soup”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The soup of the day didn't sound great just another Leek and Potato soup which Irish cafes love to Make,but it was FANTASTIC with lovely fresh brown great and a healthy (?) portion of butter 10/10.Lovely lady serving ,nothing too much trouble.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LambrettaLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cullen's Bistro & Coffee House also viewed

 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Cullen's Bistro & Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing