We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite spot!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Coastguard Station
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have stayed with Tommy a few times now, including once with two grandchildren, and each time has been better than the last. From initial booking to departing, Tommy is so welcoming, gracious and helpful. Other reviewers have detailed the incredible renovation Tommy has done but, in addition, he is always updating, repairing and attending to changing things that people want. Each unit has its own cooking facilities, comfortable beds, living rooms and nice baths. There is a laundry side building with free washers and Tommy always leaves coins for the dryers. The location is so convenient to so many attractions and the wonderful town of Clifden. This is an excellent spot for large families to get together as multiple units can accommodate and still have privacy. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 27 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband & I rented the Officer’s House in the Coastguard Station during the months of May & June this year. Although we’ve been home for several weeks now we still miss the Coastguard Station, our host Tommy Whelan, his lovely & friendly dog Link, the stunning views from our rental & the friendliness & hospitality of the people of Clifden.

We loved our stay in the spacious Officer’s House (3 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms), the beautiful location on the Lower Sky Road & the friendly & always helpful owner Tommy Whelan. Tommy renovated this historic building in a beautiful & cozy manner while retaining the charm of the original 1875 building. Almost all of the renovation was done personally by Tommy & the quality & beauty of his work is evident.

The views from the windows were breathtaking & we never tired of looking out onto the water or out back onto the field to watch the calves frolicking. Although the unit is provided with a TV there is so much natural beauty in the immediate area that it was weeks before we even opened the TV cabinet.

The kitchen was fully equipped and we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Washing machines & clothes dryers are in the laundry room behind the building which was convenient. There were clothes drying racks outside the laundry room & in our rental unit. Our beds were comfortable & the views from the front & side bedrooms were so pretty that we & our guests often slept with the drapes open to enjoy the views at sunrise.

The Coastguard Station is about a 5 minute drive from the pretty town of Clifden. It is also well situated for easy day trips around Connemara.

Tommy does a wonderful job of helping his guests to feel at home and is readily available to assist with any questions or issues. He lives nearby & was at the Coastguard Station daily to ensure that all was well with the rental units & his guests. The Coastguard Station was a perfect “home away from home” and we look forward to renting again on a future trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed a week here and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Tommy has done an incredible job, almost all by himself but with some help from friends, of transforming the shell of an 1875 Coast Guard Station into wonderful, fully equipped self catering townhouses. On Lower Sky Rd only a 5 minute drive from Clifden, it is in an excellent location with a stunning view. The facilities are outstanding and Tommy is super. His family has been in the area since at least the mid 1800s and he can tell many great stories and give you much local lore. This is absolutely a "come again" place.

Room Tip: All have great views of the bay and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 and would highly recommend it to anyone.
Smashing views and peace and quiet. The apartments are all kitted out so they really are like a home away from home. Once we got unpacked we were settled in in about 5 minutes it felt like home. Its a nice distance from the town and the views of the bay are spectacular. It really is a little paradise. Open fire with the Turf provided by Tommy the owner was great to have at night to provide you with a nice cosy peaceful evening after a day of touring the stunning Connemara and surrounds.
The only slight negative is there is no bath, just a power shower, which made it a bit difficult to wash the baby
I would stay here again for sure, its great value and Tommy is a perfect gentleman, he even posted me my phone back after I had left it behind. Brilliant.

Room Tip: Book Early if you want the 3 bedroom Apartment and be prepared for a long hike if you plan to visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bohsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Coastguard Station for a few days before and after the Connemarathon. It was perfect. The location is ideal: close enough to the town and yet on a beautiful and quiet road. I highly recommend taking a drive up and down the Sky Road just for the sights!

The cottage itself was excellent. Tommy provided us with the necessities for the fire place, the kitchen was well equipped and the bedrooms were comfortable. The view at the back of the cottage over the bay was amazing.

Tommy was an excellent host and very helpful. Will definitely go back and can highly recommend a stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are searching for a wonderful place to stay in the west of Ireland, this is the place. Whether taking in the views (after all the coastguards needed to have a good view) or enjoying a snug evening in front of an open fire, you will not be disappointed.
The restorer/owner tommy wheel an is a gentlemen and is on hand to chat and give advice on the things to do and see!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roland c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

The Coastguard Station was tastefully renovated into 8 apartments about 10 years ago by the current owner, Tommy Whalen. Our apt. had a sitting room, full kitchen , sunroom, 2 bedrooms and bath upstairs. The view is fabulous at the junction of upper and lower Sky Rd. The town of Clifden is about a ten minute drive and the Connemara area has alot to offer in the way of sightseeing, hiking, cycling, sailing. After traveling around Ireland for seven weeks, it was one of our favorite places. Tommy is a great host and is always available and helpful to answer any questions.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tripcontessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
4.6 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
2.1 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
3.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
2.5 mi away
Clifden Town Hostel
Clifden Town Hostel
#5 of 16 in Clifden
74 reviews
2.4 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coastguard Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coastguard Station

Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Clifden
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing