We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Guys Bar & Snug

Guys Bar & Snug
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Guys Bar and snog is one of the oldest establishments in Clifden, serving a wide range of local dishes daily until 9pm. Evening traditional music sessions throughout the season. Late night music on Thurs/Fri and Sat. A selection of wines by the glass.
Cork
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Nice and busy atmosphere, without being too loud or crowded. We sat at the bar as there were no tables available, it was slightly awkward to eat here because of the stool height / distance from the bar top, but we managed. We had burgers which were perfectly cooked and came with a nice variety of toppings. The bar staff was friendly and attentive. There was live music a bit later which was nice but a bit loud from where we were sitting and the location of the speakers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NextWkndAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    280
    48
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookville, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent roast lamb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Guys had a special the afternoon my family and I stopped in for a bite. The roast lamb with mash was delicious! Tender slices of lamb on top of mashed potatoes hit the spot. The sauce was seasoned especially well also. If you are looking for typical Irish food this is a great spot to try.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
128 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Ok food more pub food than bistro”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Ok food more pub food than bistro food, but bistro prices. The chips were pub style freezer to fryer chips, a bit disappointing for a place that looks very nice from the outside & higher end than the average in Clifden.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kelizabeth78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Terrific food, ambiance, and music, and reasonably priced. Friendly staff and crowd. We stopped in every night during our 3 day stay in Clifden, and loved each visit. Be sure to Sit at the bar for he evening sesiun and chat with the charming musicians.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifden, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

And very snug! Food was very tasty and staff were super friendly will be back later for the music!!!

Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guys Bar & Snug also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Guys Bar & Snug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing